en

Canon EOS 550D Kit

- Support for interchangeable lenses: lens mount Canon EF/EF-S

- Type autofocus: phase

- Camera type: mirror

- Size: 129x98x62 mm, without lens

- Maximum resolution: 5184 x 3456

- The type of matrix: CMOS

- The total number of pixels: 18.7 million

- Flash: built-in, to 13 m, suppression of effect of red eye, Shoe, bracketing, E-TTL II

Reviews

Jul 8, 2010 by

i've taken the plunge and bought this....despite the mixed feelings here. the general feeling in most places is that this is a definite winner.

May 22, 2010 by

Seriously Pentax has around 2% of market share :O The K-X and K-7 are really good cameras for there categories and price etc... Given that they have only 2% market share should I be scared to buy a camera from them? Could they just say one day right we will no longer make cameras and that's it? To add to that question what other lens do mount on Pentax?

May 20, 2010 by

@Philepo I guess you can format your card using a file system that supports larger files, but the camera probably won't understand it. Don't know if you can use different firmware, but the camera lets you choose whether to use PAL or NTSC. BTW, not happy with Canon's quality control. I got a lemon the first time (greasy sensor, a known problem as page 13 of the manual indicates), now waiting for another 550D to arrive.

Apr 11, 2010 by

I'm confused (not for the first time!) I want to upgrade from my 30D. I can stretch to a 7D but the 550D seems to give almost identical performance for almost half the price. Outputs from both cameras using the same glass seem to support this view. I don't need the higher burst ability of the 7D and whilst the larger, more robust build is nice, paying an extra £500+ for it seems crazy. And yet in the review above the 550D is slated for its high price, but the 7D is, it seems, outstanding value. I do want the video functionality - the output for these DSLRs are amazing and I'm keen to shoot video with some high quality glass. The ageing 50D is therefore of no use to me. I know the 7D review was written first, but with other review websites comparing the 7D to the 550D why does this review refuse to do the same? Its seems an obvious question buyers would have. Amazon currently offer the 550D at under £700 with the (poor) lens kit and adding a £50 Canon cashback offer the 550D body can be bought pretty cheaply. Assuming I sell the lens it'll cost about £600 net - comparing with over £1200 for the 7D. I'm disappointed I can't find a way of justifying a 7D (despite TR's views).

Mar 27, 2010 by

@Philepo You can specify which video standard you want to use, NTFS (HD30, HD24, SD60) or PAL (HD24, HD25, SD50) in the camera video menu for the 5Dmk2 so I expect the 550D has the same PAL/NTFS choice available too. (It would've been nice to have had an option for 720p video recording for the 5D2, shame they left that out). One other problem associated with video recording on an SLR is sensor heat and increasing noise/picture grain, which is another reason why the 5D2 only allows up to 12 minutes of HD recording (24 mins if recording in SD).

Mar 27, 2010 by

I wish i had that camers

Mar 25, 2010 by

@vitalyx but surely the 4Gb limit is a very simple thing to get around and just format in FAT32 or even NTFS. Can you flash the firmware with US versions to get around the stupid EU laws? That would also have the benefit of offer better fps too as NTSC is 30fps and 60fps where are we get crappy PAL at 25fps and 50fps. Sometimes you will like the fact that the bitrate is spread over fewer frames but do they really need to force the choice onto their customers can they not have all frame rates and let the customer choose which they would like to use?

Mar 24, 2010 by

@Philepo 4Gb files are a limitation of the file system (FAT) used in memory cards. 29:59 limitation is because of EU laws that say than anything that records longer than that is a camcorder, and there is a higher tax on camcorders. Panasonic cameras sold in Europe too have this limitation, but units for US market don't. Canon does not diversify like this, but you'll hit the 4Gb limit sooner anyway with HD movie clips.

Mar 24, 2010 by

@ all D90 lovers. I am not looking to knock the D90, I am sure is and has been a very good camera but surely its time Nikon brought out its replacement. There is no denying that the current crop of Canon's and hell even Sony's with their 'Exmor R' back-illuminated CMOS technology have much better ISO handling. Plus, i know the purists amongst us will say they have no use for the movie modes but it always nice to have a decent mode should you ever call upon it. 720p at 24fps and no focusing just isn't good enough for a mid to high end SLR in 2010. I would say the same applies to live view, when done correctly (like the A550) live view can be a useful string to a camera's bow. There are other things that are more in camera software than anything else but really add value to a camera. Things like Time Lapse, HDR mode, decent AEB. Not sure why DSLRs all seem to have the same problem but it would be nice to be able to take a video longer than 29.59 seconds or 4Gb.

Mar 24, 2010 by

Im not convinced after handling both the canon// and the nikon d90,,//canon who have not long since released the 500d/ // iv got a friend who as i write this is saving for a canon 500d,// it would seem canon are too desperate to out sell the nikon d90,,which feels ad looks like a sturdy professional tool,, well iv made my mind up,goodbye canon !!

© 2016 ScanRewiev. | Contact us | Privacy policy and cookie