en

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Kit

- Support for interchangeable lenses: lens mount Micro 4/3

- Type autofocus: contrast

- Camera type: mirrorless interchangeable-lens

- Size: 123x71x55 mm, without lens

- Maximum resolution: 4592 x 3448

- The type of matrix: Live MOS

- The total number of pixels: 16.84 million

- Flash: built-in, suppression of effect of red-eye Shoe

Reviews

Sep 12, 2013 by

LUMIX G, IR Converted, 14-40 kit lens - I'm pretty pleased with the overall quality although I think for non-IR I would prefer a better lens.

Sep 1, 2013 by

If you do the math (sensor area divided by the number of pixels), NEX pixels are just 7% larger, IMO not enough to provide any significant quality increase, just take a look at http://www.dpreview.com/articles/8599640731/panasonic-gx7-first-impressions-review/2 ...there's a bit of an advantage in number of pixels though since it helps to "average out" the noise if you down-sample. But this is assuming all other things being equal, which is not the case, especially when it comes to lenses. I would personally choose a full-frame camera in a professional setting where low-light performance is critical. Otherwise I would favor overall usability where lighting conditions are acceptable.

Aug 25, 2013 by

TOTALLY agree on the Sony UI. It was so bad I sold my NEX-6 on eBay not long after I got it. Took a bath on it and waited for the Panny G6. I like the G6 a lot, but I'm selling it for the GX7 for the tilting LCD and the newer sensor - though, really, I kind of doubt I'd be able to tell any real difference between the two. My ONLY gripe on the GX7 is the LCD doesn't flip out like the G6. But its not a deal breaker.

Aug 20, 2013 by

I don't think I'd go lower than APS-C for the moment. A key feature really of the APSC sony's was the fact you can buy any number of adapters and use what ever lenses from which ever manufacturer rather easily. The sensor size being the same as most mainstream DSLR's means you just have to make the stand-off distance and it should work. In other words I wanted to downsize because I hate carrying all that weight associated with a big SLR, but I am not ready to give up the access to some great, high quality DSLR glass. I can hire a good lens and the required adapter when I need the performance, and I get to keep a relatively compact and light set up for the rest of the time. lets face it most of SONY's e-mount lenses are not particularly amazing in the IQ stakes...a partial side effect of trying to make them smaller... so being able to get hold of proper glass is big tick in the box for me.

Aug 20, 2013 by

Lenses are probably the biggest factor IMO. I have never been too enamoured with my NEX results. However, having used it with a CZ 24-70mm I was rather taken aback at the results. Probably the sharpest things I have ever seen come from a camera under my control. Similarly, stick a cheap lens on a full frame and you'll just waste the advantages. I did compare the NEX 6 to the OMD and I felt the NEX had the edge on noise at the higher ISOs and slightly better when it came to depth of field. Some people don't notice these things, I do. So the sensor does make a difference in my opinion (given similar grade glass and by passing processing) with regards to photo site size. Physically larger photo sites are an advantage, so long as you can feed them correctly. Still we are talking about the NEX-6 and the OMD here. These cameras are not the cutting edge anymore. Things improve, tech converges. Perhaps you are right. I tell you what, one good reason to go for a m4/3 camera would be to get away from SONY's awful user interfaces. Christ, I'd like to meet the man who did the UI on the NEX-6 and I'd like to smack him. Its ruddy awful; clunky, slow and seemingly all jumbled together. It seems to be a common trait amongst a lot of SONY products.

Aug 25, 2013 by

TOTALLY agree on the Sony UI. It was so bad I sold my NEX-6 on eBay not long after I got it. Took a bath on it and waited for the Panny G6. I like the G6 a lot, but I'm selling it for the GX7 for the tilting LCD and the newer sensor - though, really, I kind of doubt I'd be able to tell any real difference between the two. My ONLY gripe on the GX7 is the LCD doesn't flip out like the G6. But its not a deal breaker.

Aug 20, 2013 by

I'm interested on this one also ;-)

Aug 20, 2013 by

I was thinking it looks not much different from my Panasonic GF1, in terms of button layout and body shape.

Aug 20, 2013 by

the APS-C sensor of the nex will not give you better IQ, since the IQ is not driven only by the sensor, but it does include the processing chip and the lens you mount on it. on the other hand it will give you for sure bigger lens. so if the size is not a problem for you, you should go for a full frame sensor, and enjoy the real advantages of a bigger sensor, if you are stayin in the smaller sensor area, the difference between APS-C and 4/3 is really not an issue anymore.

Aug 20, 2013 by

Lenses are probably the biggest factor IMO. I have never been too enamoured with my NEX results. However, having used it with a CZ 24-70mm I was rather taken aback at the results. Probably the sharpest things I have ever seen come from a camera under my control. Similarly, stick a cheap lens on a full frame and you'll just waste the advantages. I did compare the NEX 6 to the OMD and I felt the NEX had the edge on noise at the higher ISOs and slightly better when it came to depth of field. Some people don't notice these things, I do. So the sensor does make a difference in my opinion (given similar grade glass and by passing processing) with regards to photo site size. Physically larger photo sites are an advantage, so long as you can feed them correctly. Still we are talking about the NEX-6 and the OMD here. These cameras are not the cutting edge anymore. Things improve, tech converges. Perhaps you are right. I tell you what, one good reason to go for a m4/3 camera would be to get away from SONY's awful user interfaces. Christ, I'd like to meet the man who did the UI on the NEX-6 and I'd like to smack him. Its ruddy awful; clunky, slow and seemingly all jumbled together. It seems to be a common trait amongst a lot of SONY products.

Aug 25, 2013 by

TOTALLY agree on the Sony UI. It was so bad I sold my NEX-6 on eBay not long after I got it. Took a bath on it and waited for the Panny G6. I like the G6 a lot, but I'm selling it for the GX7 for the tilting LCD and the newer sensor - though, really, I kind of doubt I'd be able to tell any real difference between the two. My ONLY gripe on the GX7 is the LCD doesn't flip out like the G6. But its not a deal breaker.

Aug 20, 2013 by

I thought the same of the M43 sensor vs. APS-C but then I bought an Olympus E-PM1 as a small backup camera a little over a year ago. Fast forward to today & I've sold both my APS-C & the little E-PM1 in favour of an all M43 kit that includes an Olympus E-PL5 & a Panasonic GX1. While understanding how personal these decisions are, I find that I've now always got a "good" camera with me & I struggle to tell the difference between the results from either format. I really like the GX7 package, especially now that it uses the Olympus wireless flash system & it has a very useful silent shutter mode. It's a definite contender to replace my GX1.

Aug 20, 2013 by

I don't think I'd go lower than APS-C for the moment. A key feature really of the APSC sony's was the fact you can buy any number of adapters and use what ever lenses from which ever manufacturer rather easily. The sensor size being the same as most mainstream DSLR's means you just have to make the stand-off distance and it should work. In other words I wanted to downsize because I hate carrying all that weight associated with a big SLR, but I am not ready to give up the access to some great, high quality DSLR glass. I can hire a good lens and the required adapter when I need the performance, and I get to keep a relatively compact and light set up for the rest of the time. lets face it most of SONY's e-mount lenses are not particularly amazing in the IQ stakes...a partial side effect of trying to make them smaller... so being able to get hold of proper glass is big tick in the box for me.

Aug 20, 2013 by

I wonder... Did you bother to read the review?

© 2016 ScanRewiev. | Contact us | Privacy policy and cookie