Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

ASUS N550JV

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 9 reviews
Specifications
Type
laptop
Operating system
DOS / Win 7 Home Premium 64 / Win 8 64
The number of cells battery
4
A microphone
there
The presence of speakers
there
The presence of a subwoofer
no
Two video
no
Specifications
Type:
laptop
Operating system:
DOS / Win 7 Home Premium 64 / Win 8 64
The number of cells battery:
4
A microphone:
there
The presence of speakers:
there
The presence of a subwoofer:
no
Two video:
no

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
9 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
November 22, 2013

Comment:

Yes, a great laptop. And yes, virtually silent, regardless of what’s running. My last laptop, an Envy 14, sounded like a jumbo jet compared to this one, as does my work Macbook Pro.

Windows 8 also makes some sense at last with a touchscreen!

One thing to note, there are at least a couple of variants of the machine doing the rounds, in the main the same, but with slightly different processors – mine, with the 4700HQ, some with a 4700MQ, and others still with a 4702HQ. I don’t quite know why, tbh, but the 4700hq has the highest clockspeed, so I dunno, it’s better? 😀

Overall rating stars
November 28, 2013

Comment:

The touchpad on this laptop is atrocious and there’s no way to adjust sensitivity. It is both at times too sensitive and not sensitive enough. The ‘button’ areas are too short, so my slight thumb pressure is constantly registering as a swipe and it jerks the cursor around when I click. Excruciatingly annoying. Otherwise seemed nice. Too bad.

Overall rating stars
January 9, 2014

Comment:

I have yet to enjoy a touchpad… This is why usb mice are key. But I understand 🙂

Overall rating stars
March 31, 2014

Comment:

No, your 4700HQ is not better, merely permanently soldered onto the motherboard and can’t ever be upgraded as any MQ cpu can be upgraded! 🙂

Overall rating stars
June 3, 2014

Comment:

Can this laptop run 3 displays simultaneously, in extended desktop mode? 2 external displays, with the 3rd being the laptops own display?

Overall rating stars
July 1, 2014

Comment:

i bought this laptop. Will not buy an asus product ever again. Substandard parts, bad service, false warranty promises, over heating, broken keyboard..had enough..complete piece of s##t..

Overall rating stars
August 8, 2014

Comment:

Same story for me! After only 6 months after purchasing my notebook I’ve sent it 3 times to Asus for maintenance (I’ve subrscribed also the 4 years warranty extension): the first time the BT+LAN+Wi-fi card was replaced and the keyboard was replaced and the last time the replaced 7 not well known pieces inside!! Moreover in the last maintenance, they have seriously damaged my notebook aluminium chassis so I sent my notebook to Asus one time again and they proposed me (after about 40 days) a 80% price refunding (999 Euro) or a new notebook of the same type. Still waiting for an aswer from Asus… Very very suprised (since we are talking of Asus) and disappointed! 🙁

Overall rating stars
September 17, 2014

Comment:

I have yet to experience any big problems besides the annoying touchpad and an issue with the Asus live update program, Asides from that i really like it. It has clear picture good sound, and i can’t complain about its speed and touch screen. I have also played online games and pc games on medium to high settings with no issue.

Overall rating stars
November 15, 2015

Comment:

Seems I bought this model even though the package, the quote, the order and the invoice call it an R552JV (but ASUS don’t have these apparently – since not on their support info.)

I purchased an ASUS R552JV from UMart in Brisbane some time
back with a 2 year extended warranty (1yr original +2 year additional, so it
should be 3 years in total). It has been a very disappointing purchase, and
especially frustrating dealing with UMart and also very trying attempting to
get help from ASUS. Both the UMart service contact and the sales manager flatly
refused to help at all to try and sort the dilemma re: the extended warranty
purchased from them.

The current sales manager suggested I should have been aware
of aspects of software license and warranty at the time of purchase – DESPITE
the fact that the Umart staff I dealt with (in requesting a full quotation and
at purchase) had no knowledge of the same aspects when I asked for a price on fully
detailed specifications and purchased against this quote, including the
extended warranty. On picking up my order, I ended up with a product which had
to be returned due to software issues/licensing, etc. In fact I should not have
been sold an extended warranty at all given that I have now been told (by the
current sales manager who has no idea at all what customer means and is very
rude in expressing criticism of me as the customer} that because I had an SSD
installed at the time of purchase, I have no warranty anyway.

One main problem with the product is that it does not have a
replaceable battery, and the internal battery failed prematurely and of course
no warranty. The battery replacement requires a major dismantling of the whole
notebook – so a very poor design indeed, and one to watch on newer ASUS
products as reported by others with ASUS battery problems.

While I bought the laptop from UMart including a Windows 8
licence in the quote, I was forced to buy a new Windows 8 licence (at
additional cost) when Microsoft advised the original 8 licence was not
compatible with the Office licence purchased separately. Apparently I was
supposed to know this as well.

ASUS support on the 1300… number (which seems to end up at
an overseas call centre) and the Brisbane service centre have each been equally
dismissive and no help at all. $199 paid for extended warranty a farce as ASUS
claim the warranty on the serial number lists 2 years, UMART claim this is
impossible since it either has to be 1 year or 3 year with the extended
warranty purchased – and around and around in circles it goes with no current
warranty at all and a waste of my $199.

Searching ASUS support does not even list the model
purchased (as on the UMart invoice and ASUS original packaging), so no help at
all that way either. Searching the model on other sites also does not provide
useful results, other than it was listed for sale in Australia. I didn’t even
know that this is supposedly an N Series until I dug up the delivery carton,
but again, the model not listed by ASUS under N Series.

Members of my family have purchased numerous ASUS laptops
over the years – But this one (apparently unknown to ASUS support themselves)
will definitely be the last. Similarly, I have purchased many IT products from
Umart over many years – both for home and work (as have family members), but I
will be using alternate suppliers in future.

Description
The ASUS company offers users to check out N550JV. The features of N550JV, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left N550JV reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase ASUS N550JV. Buy ASUS N550JV with benefits.
Details
Details
Type
Type laptop
Operating system DOS / Win 7 Home Premium 64 / Win 8 64
Power
The number of cells battery 4
Sound
A microphone there
The presence of speakers there
The presence of a subwoofer no
Video
Two video no
Adapter type discrete and integrated
Video processor NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
Type of graphics memory GDDR3
The amount of video memory 4096 MB
Memory
Memory type DDR3
Memory frequency 1600 MHz
The amount of RAM 4...12 GB
The maximum memory size 16 GB
Screen
Support 3D no
Screen size 15.6 "
Screen resolution 1366x768 / 1920x1080
Led backlit screen there
Widescreen display there
Type cover the screen Matt
Type of matrix screen TFT IPS
Wireless
3G no
Wi-Fi there
WiMAX no
4G LTE no
Bluetooth there
EDGE support no
Support GPRS no
HSDPA support no
Bluetooth Version 4.0
The Wi-Fi Standard 802.11 n
Processor
Chipset Intel hm86 chipsets
Code processor 4700HQ
Core processor Haswell
Processor type Core i7
Processor frequency 2400 MHz
The amount of L2 cache 1 MB
The volume of L3 cache 6 MB
The number of processor cores 4
Connection
COM port no
DVI output no
HDMI output there
Interface LPT no
Output TV-out no
Entrance a MIC no
DisplayPort Out no
Output mini VGA no
The audio input no
Micro HDMI output no
Built-in Fax modem no
The PS/2 interface no
VGA output (D-Sub) no
The eSATA interface no
Infrared port (IRDA) no
Built-in network card there
Audio output/headphone no
Max. speed LAN adapter 1000 Mbps
The FireWire Interface no
The input on the TV-in no
Mini DisplayPort Output there
The FireWire 800 Interface no
Output audio digital (S/PDIF) no
Number of interfaces USB 3.0 Type A 3
The connection to the docking station no
Microphone input/headphone output Combo there
Memory card
Support SD there
Support SDHC there
Support SDXC there
The device for reading flash cards there
Additionally
GPS no
Width 255 mm
Length 383 mm
Webcam there
Weight 2.6 kg
GLONASS no
TV tuner no
Thickness 27.7 mm
Metal case there
Remote control no
Shockproof case no
Waterproof case no
Additional information external subwoofer included, touchscreen and support WiDi (opt.)
The fingerprint scanner no
Slot for Kensington lock there
The number of pixels web camera 1.3 million pixels.
Input devices
The positioning Touchpad
Backlight keyboard there
Storage device
Optical drive Blu-Ray / DVD-RW
Hard drive type HDD
The amount of drive 750...1000 GB
The speed of rotation 5400 rpm
The volume of the first disk 0...1000 GB
The placement of the optical drive internal
Expansion slots
ExpressCard Slot no
My review ASUS N550JV

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới