Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon Digital IXUS 300HS

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 7 reviews
Specifications
Aperture
F2 - F5.3
Features
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom
3.80 x
Focal length (35mm equivalent)
28 - 106.40 mm
The number of optical elements
7
The number of groups optical elements
6
Face detection
Yes
Specifications
Aperture:
F2 - F5.3
Features:
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom:
3.80 x
Focal length (35mm equivalent):
28 - 106.40 mm
The number of optical elements:
7
The number of groups optical elements:
6
Face detection:
Yes

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
7 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
June 7, 2010

Comment:

Isn’t this camera basically the S90 without the ability to shoot RAW?

Overall rating stars
June 8, 2010

Comment:

The very excellent (I bought one!) Panasonic TZ7 can now be had for under £200 which has to be a stonking bargain for a camera which would probably equal or better this one for image quality.

Overall rating stars
June 8, 2010

Comment:

How does the reader interpret the image quality score of 9 for 300 HS vs for thirds vs dslr aps sensor equipped products? Would be useful, in my opinion, to get a relative image score (against other compacts in its class) & also an absolute image quality score.

For example, does the Canon EOS 550D and Canon IXUS 300 HS (both score 9) have identical image quality if you review the output without regard for the device?

The image quality score interpretation will become even more confusing as future cameras do not fit comfortably into the existing categories, e.g. Sony NEX-5.

Overall rating stars
June 8, 2010

Comment:

GerryD: IMO it would be impossible to have an “absolute” score for image quality; it can only be relative. For example if you were to use digital medium format cameras costing many thousands of pounds as the standard, then even the highest-end full-frame dSLRs would end up with a relatively average IQ score – which would hardly be fair.

Overall rating stars
June 8, 2010

Comment:

Your review makes for interesting reading. I was looking forward to this review with anticipation, especially as it’s the 1st compact Canon have used a CMOS sensor in so was expecting good things. I was disappointed to read the auto focus feature on this model as being ‘sluggish’ in low light conditions, as this is partly what this model was hailed as by Canon.AlsoI feel ( probably as will most member of the public who are interested in purchasing a compact), that the price this has debued at is just too high to be competative at present.I also feel Canon could have made the zoom more versatile, i.e. zooming in more than 3.8x, the wide angle bit is probably about right to avoid barrel distortion. Maybe they’ll introduce a DIGIC 5 processor?!to speed opeartion up. I think these are my main bones of contention and until Canon improve on the overall perfromance of this camera, my money stays where it is! Come on Canon, i want to buy an IXUS with CMOS sensor as they’re good, but just no way at this price for that tech spec!

Overall rating stars
June 11, 2010

Comment:

“Isn’t this camera basically the S90 without the ability to shoot RAW?”

While I can see why you might think that, it’s not. The manual controls aren’t as extensive or as accessible as on the S90 and this has HD video as well as a host of other modes made for the ixus user over more technical users. The sensors are also different, this is CMOS (like in SLRs), the S90 is a special CCD made for low light scenarios. Basically – this is for everyone (all be it a rich everyone), the S90 is more prosumer in my opinion.

Having used this out and about, it’s stonking at low-light shots.
I’ve got an S90 and was very interested to see how the CMOS would work out in comparison and it does a great job. Easily one of the best low-light performers I’ve seen. Yes, it’s expensive, but Canon always put a crazy entry price then slash it after not long at all.

I didn’t get any lag with focus to be honest though did most of my shooting in a restaurant, so my tests weren’t rigorous. It was just great having a pocketable, reasonable megapixeled camera that handles low-light and has stereo HD video. I really liked the size as well – MUCH more pocketable than my S90.

Oh, and having had a TZ7 before – yes, £200 is a good price for it, but this delivers MONUMENTALLY better low-light performance and I found it quite a bit zippier too.

Overall rating stars
August 11, 2010

Comment:

I have had this a month now and found it a excellent point and shoot with just enough to temp you into photography. I think it is awesome for the size. Lacks in the optical Zoom but has everything else, good low light performance and HS means exactly that it is fast. I have never been so excited after buying a product as i have this. I am now looking at photography totally in a differnet way. and have started playing with all the settings. Never been bothered before. This has made me want to get a Super-Zoom camera or even a beginners DSLR. 🙂

Description
The Canon company offers users to check out Digital IXUS 300HS. The features of Digital IXUS 300HS, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left Digital IXUS 300HS reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon Digital IXUS 300HS. Buy Canon Digital IXUS 300HS with benefits.
Details
Details
Lens
Aperture F2 - F5.3
Features aspherical lens
Optical Zoom 3.80 x
Focal length (35mm equivalent) 28 - 106.40 mm
The number of optical elements 7
The number of groups optical elements 6
Focus
Face detection Yes
The AF illuminator Yes
The minimum shooting distance 0.03 m
Power
Power connector Yes
Number of batteries 1
The format of batteries your own
Camera
Camera type digital
Matrix
Size 1/2.3"
Crop factor 5.62
Sensitivity 125 - 3200 ISO, Auto ISO
Maximum resolution 3648 x 2736
The type of matrix BSI CMOS
The total number of pixels 10.6 million
The number of effective pixels 10 million
Exposure
Excerpt 15 - 1/2500 with
Metering center-weighted, common (Evaluative), spot
Compensation +/- 2 EV in 1/3-step increments
Automatic processing of the exposition with shutter priority, aperture-priority
Manual setting of shutter speed and aperture Yes
Functionality
Flash built-in, up to 6 m, the suppression of red eye, synchrocheck
White balance auto, manual, from the list
Image stabilizer (photography) optical, movable element in the lens
Shooting modes
Macro Yes
Timer Yes
The timer 2, 10 c
Speed shooting 8.4 frame./sec
The frame format (photography) 4:3, 16:9
Size and weight
Size 100x54x24 mm
Weight 175 g with batteries
Memory and interfaces
Interfaces USB 2.0, video, HDMI, audio
Image formats 2 JPEG
Type of memory cards SD, SDHC, SDXC, MMCPlus, HC MMCPlus
Record video and audio
Video codecs MPEG4
Sound recording Yes
Video recording Yes
Format video recording MOV
The video recording time 60 minutes
Maximum resolution videos 1280x720
Optical Zoom when recording video Yes
The maximum frame rate of the video 240 fps
Electronic stabilization when shooting movies Yes
The maximum frame rate when shooting HD video 25/30 fps at a resolution of 1280x720
Viewfinder and LCD screen
LCD screen 230000 pixels, 3 inches
Viewfinder missing
Using the screen as a viewfinder Yes
Other functions and features
Announced 2010-05-11
Digital Zoom 4x
Additional features tripod mount, the sensor orientation
My review Canon Digital IXUS 300HS

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới