Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon Digital IXUS 870 IS

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 18 reviews
Specifications
Power connector
Yes
Battery capacity
310 photos
Number of batteries
1
The format of batteries
your own
Aperture
F2.8 - F5.8
Features
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom
4x
Specifications
Power connector:
Yes
Battery capacity:
310 photos
Number of batteries:
1
The format of batteries:
your own
Aperture:
F2.8 - F5.8
Features:
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom:
4x

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
18 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
November 28, 2008

Comment:

Wow guys, hang on a minute. The 960 IS is a completely different kettle of fish to the 870 IS. Well, perhaps not completely different but it has one very significant difference – the 870 IS has a much wider wide angle. That’s its major selling point. Though it’s also slightly smaller and onboard processing seems to have improved on this latest model – reduction of purple fringing etc.

That said, the price difference is hard to argue with, assuming you can cope with the lack of wide angle.

Overall rating stars
December 1, 2008

Comment:

Ed is right about the wide angle but I’ve taken the plunge – with the new 15% VAT the 960 IS is down to &#163117.99 🙂

Of course, then comes the extras: &#16313 for a nice leather case (why not?) and &#16312 for a 4GB Sandisk SD card (value++). Then delivery because I’m off on holiday this Saturday and can’t wait for the super saver free delivery.

&#163150 all-in. Still a bargain. Merry Christmas me! 🙂

Overall rating stars
December 4, 2008

Comment:

Hi Geoff,

Is the 960IS better than the Canon Digital IXUS 80 IS ?

Overall rating stars
December 5, 2008

Comment:

I had used older Canon models and wanted an upgrade for my Sony P9, so I decided on a Canon 870 as it had a wide angle lens. The first one I received had a number of dead pixels on the LCD screen. I wasn’t impressed with the quality of the pictures taken so I asked for a replacement. When the second Canon arrived, it was exactly the same as far as picture quality was concerned. Out of focus or blurry images seemed to be the norm. I was expecting some increase in quality from my old Sony as its been knocked about and dropped a few times over the last few years.
I sent the second Canon 870 back and decided to keep the Sony going for a while longer.
I had tried experimenting with the Canon whilst on a weeks holiday but I just wasn’t happy with the results. Paying nearly &#163200 I really expected some increase in picture quality over the 4MP Sony P9 but there just wasn’t.
I have read many reviews of the Canon 870, before and after buying, but my opinion is somewhat different to that of other users. Maybe I was unlucky? Maybe I am expecting too much?, but looking back at pictures taken with the Sony they are certainly better overall.

Overall rating stars
January 1, 2009

Comment:

So can someone tell me which one is better the Cannon powershot SD880IS…or the Canon IXUS 870IS…and what is the IXUS all about?…it seems like I saw a IXUS SD880IS somewhere along my surfing for a new camera… but I cant seem to find it now…if so…then i am really lost…I just wanna get a really good camera…can someone help me out with an oppinion or advise on what to get?

Overall rating stars
January 14, 2009

Comment:

im thinking about buying canon digital ixus 90 is has anyone got one or used one

Overall rating stars
January 15, 2009

Comment:

I am undecided between the IXUS 870 IS and the 980.
Any help please?

Overall rating stars
June 10, 2009

Comment:

I’m trying to decide on either this Ixus 870IS or the Lumix FS15. Is the Panasonic IA that important? Is it any better than the Canon auto features? I can get the Canon as a refurb for the same price as a new FS15

Description
The Canon company offers users to check out Digital IXUS 870 IS. The features of Digital IXUS 870 IS, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left Digital IXUS 870 IS reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon Digital IXUS 870 IS. Buy Canon Digital IXUS 870 IS with benefits.
Details
Details
Food
Power connector Yes
Battery capacity 310 photos
Number of batteries 1
The format of batteries your own
Lens
Aperture F2.8 - F5.8
Features aspherical lens
Optical Zoom 4x
The name of the lens Canon
Focal length (35mm equivalent) 28 - 112 mm
The number of optical elements 7
The number of groups optical elements 5
Focus
Face detection Yes
The AF illuminator Yes
The minimum shooting distance 0.02 m
Camera
Camera type digital
Matrix
Size 1/2.3"
Crop factor 5.62
Sensitivity 80 - 1600 ISO, Auto ISO
Maximum resolution 3648 x 2736
The type of matrix СCD
The total number of pixels 10.3 million
The number of effective pixels 10 million
Exposure
Excerpt 15 - 1/1600
Metering center-weighted, common (Evaluative), spot
Compensation +/- 2 EV in 1/3-step increments
Manual setting of shutter speed and aperture No
Functionality
Flash built-in, up to 4.20 m, suppression of effect of red eyes
White balance auto, manual, from the list
Image stabilizer (photography) optical, movable element in the lens
Shooting modes
Macro Yes
Timer Yes
The timer 2, 10, custom installation c
Speed shooting 1.4 frame./sec
The frame format (photography) 4:3, 16:9
Size and weight
Size 94x57x24 mm
Weight 155 g without batteries
Memory and interfaces
Interfaces USB 2.0, video, audio
Image formats 3 JPEG
Type of memory cards SD, SDHC, MMCPlus, HC MMCPlus
The amount of memory in the delivery 32 MB
Record video and audio
Video codecs MPEG4
Sound recording Yes
Video recording Yes
Record audio comments Yes
Format video recording MOV
Maximum resolution videos 640x480
The maximum frame rate of the video 30 fps
Viewfinder and LCD screen
LCD screen 230000 pixels, 3 inches
Viewfinder missing
Using the screen as a viewfinder Yes
Other functions and features
Announced 2008-09-17
Equipment battery, charger, strap, USB cable, AV cable, memory card 32Mb, CD-ROM with software, manual
Digital Zoom 4x
Additional features tripod mount, the sensor orientation
Additional information the video recording time - up to 4Gb or 1H
My review Canon Digital IXUS 870 IS

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới