Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon LEGRIA HF S21

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 7 reviews
Specifications
Excerpt
1/2000 - 1/2 sec
Aperture
F1.8 - F3
Manual focus
Yes
Zoom optical / digital
10x / 200x
The diameter of the filter
58 mm
The focal length of the lens
6.4 - 64 mm
Photo
Yes
Specifications
Excerpt:
1/2000 - 1/2 sec
Aperture:
F1.8 - F3
Manual focus:
Yes
Zoom optical / digital:
10x / 200x
The diameter of the filter:
58 mm
The focal length of the lens:
6.4 - 64 mm
Photo:
Yes

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
7 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
July 26, 2010

Comment:

@James Morris – Excellent review and you had me biting my nails down to the wire as to how the Canon stacks up against the Panasonic HDC-TM700!

Overall rating stars
July 26, 2010

Comment:

A few questions:
1. Is it true that the LEGRIA HF S200 and HF S21 are completely identical apart from the HF S21 having inbuilt memory and a viewfinder? If thats the case I would probably buy the HF S200 as its slightly smaller, lighter and £300 cheaper!

2. Does the HF S21 (and/or HF S200) do 1080p on the highest quality “MXP mode” by default or does it do 1080i and we have to switch on “CINE mode” or something to get progressive video?

3. Are you 100% certain that HF S21 (and i guess HF S200 since they’re meant to be identical) support SDXC cards? It doesn’t mention it at all on canons website. It would be a definite deal breaker for me if they don’t support SDXC.

Thanks.

Overall rating stars
July 27, 2010

Comment:

@Ripsnorter Thanks!

@Mike337

1: as far as I know, the S200 is as you say the S21 minus the viewfinder and on-board memory.

2: No Canon camcorders record “native” 1080p. Instead, they record 25PF to a 1080i signal. So you have a signal which can be read by 1080i equipment, but internally the lines are scanned progressively. The 25PF mode can be selected independently of CINE mode, unlike most Panasonic HD camcorders.

3. Good question. There have been a lot of reports that the S21 and its siblings do in fact have SDXC-compatible SD card slots, but Canon lists them as SD/SDHC. I will have to ask Canon to clarify and get back to you, as although I still have the camcorder until Friday I don’t have any SDXC cards to try in it!

Overall rating stars
July 29, 2010

Comment:

@James Morris
Thanks for answering those questions. Were you able to get any word from Canon clarifying the situation regarding SDXC card support in the S21 and S200?

Overall rating stars
September 22, 2010

Comment:

Hi all,

I checked a lot on the intenet in order to solve the SDXC compatibility dilemma and I found this page of the Canon USA site:

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/camcorders/high_definition_camcorders/vixia_hf_s21#DriversAndSoftware

Here you can download a firmware update for the VIXIA HS S21 in order to make it compatible with SDXC cards.

Now, the question is still open, because I suspect that all of us here in Europe cannot install such firmware, since VIXIA and LEGRIA differ for all the PAL 50i/NTSC 60i issues, and such firmware may be SPECIFIC for the VIXIA model…

I tried to ask to Canon Italia but they are not able to even understand my questions. I would appreciate if TrustedReviews can solve the firmware update enigma with Canon UK or USA and getting some declaration about if/when such firmware will be available for Legrias in Europe…

Best regards!

Overall rating stars
September 22, 2010

Comment:

I want to add to my comment that, to my knowledge, SDHC and SDXC are perfectly compatible slots (they are the SAME slot). The difference just lies in the operating system software: drivers for SDXC cards read file names and directories in a different way with respect to drivers for SDHC cards (SDXC drivers can addres a whopping 1 Terabyte of data so they allow for larger directory structures than SDHC drivers), so the entire problem is related to the possibility to have a firmware update, because the whole physical/electronics is the same.

You will notice that the software update for VIXIAS has been released on 8/31/2010, so it is really a fresh novelty… just 22 days ago! If you click on the filename you get this description: “Allows commercially available SDXC memory cards to be used”. Let’s wait for the European version!

Overall rating stars
September 23, 2010

Comment:

Hi,

I want to share with you that I have contacted Canon USA in order to ask them if their firmdate supprots just the VIXIA version of the HF S21 camcorder or both the VIXIA and LEGRIA variants.

I am so happy to report you that the answer is YES: we old-world Europeans can get our SDXC memories on the LEGRIA, too!!!

Here is their answer, verbatim (I just erased email headers and Canon representative’s name):

“Thank you for contacting Canon product support. We value you as a Canon
customer and appreciate the opportunity to assist you with the firmware
update for your Legria HF S21 (Vixia HF S21).

Actually, this firmware supports both the Legria and the Vixia
camcorders. The link you had would be the one to use to update your
camcorder.

I hope this information is helpful to you. Please let us know if we can
be of any further assistance with your Canon HF S21.

Thank you for choosing Canon.”

Description
The Canon company offers users to check out LEGRIA HF S21. The features of LEGRIA HF S21, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left LEGRIA HF S21 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon LEGRIA HF S21. Buy Canon LEGRIA HF S21 with benefits.
Details
Details
Lens
Excerpt 1/2000 - 1/2 sec
Aperture F1.8 - F3
Manual focus Yes
Zoom optical / digital 10x / 200x
The diameter of the filter 58 mm
The focal length of the lens 6.4 - 64 mm
Photo
Photo Yes
Widescreen photo mode Yes
Shooting in movie mode Yes
Maximum photo resolution 3264x2456 pixels
The number of megapixels when taking pictures 8.59 megapixels
Matrix
Matrix 6.01 megapixels
The type of matrix CMOS
The number of matrices 1
The physical size of the matrix 1/2.6"
Effects
Faders automatic mounting transition, the displacement
Special effects black and white, Sepia
Indication of overexposure Yes
Functionality
AE Yes
LCD screen Yes (3.5", 922000 pixels)
Viewfinder there are, 123000 Pix.
White balance auto, preset, manual installation
Shooting modes portrait, sports, sunrise and sunset, beach, spotlight, snow, fireworks
Image stabilizer optical
Additional features PictBridge support
Touchscreen display Yes
Interfaces and media
Interfaces AV output, component video output, HDMI output, USB-interface, headphone output, microphone input, mounting connector (LANC)
Memory card support SD, SDHC
Recording to the memory card Yes
Additional information
Design remote control, built-illuminator, the availability flash
Weight 470 g
Announced 2010-01-05
Dimensions (WxHxD) 148x74x75 mm
Minimum illumination 0.3 Lux
General characteristics
Media type rewritable memory (Flash)
Night mode Yes
Widescreen video mode Yes
The amount of internal flash memory 64 GB
My review Canon LEGRIA HF S21

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới