Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon PIXMA MP640

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 8 reviews
Specifications
Feeding paper
300 sheet. (standard), 300 sheet. (max.)
The capacity of the manual tray
150 sheet.
Zoom
25-400 %
The scaling step
1 %
Time first copy out
22
The maximum number of copies per cycle
99
Print photos
Yes
Specifications
Feeding paper:
300 sheet. (standard), 300 sheet. (max.)
The capacity of the manual tray:
150 sheet.
Zoom:
25-400 %
The scaling step:
1 %
Time first copy out:
22
The maximum number of copies per cycle:
99
Print photos:
Yes

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
8 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
November 8, 2009

Comment:

It’s a nice design, but it’s a shame that it requires microchipped cartridges, and the hassles that entails.

Overall rating stars
November 9, 2009

Comment:

Nice review. I would like to read one for the MP990 too which seems more interesting to me.

Overall rating stars
November 9, 2009

Comment:

I bought one a few weeks ago, after returning an Epson and then a HP wireless printer. The Canon is much better than the other two. A testament to this is that I haven’t and am not planning or returning it.

And the self-opening paper tray is just sooooooo cool!

Overall rating stars
November 12, 2009

Comment:

Just bought one of these – fantastic print quality, and works pretty much flawlessly with both Windows 7 and Snow Leopard (though the latter required some lateral thinking to get it to install!)

Overall rating stars
February 10, 2010

Comment:

“Duplex print speeds are better than before, as the paper rests for only a second or so between sides, where some of the machine’s competitors wait as long as 15 seconds before printing the second sides.”
Unfortunately there is a price you have to pay for this. Namely when automatic duplex printing is enabled (even when you only need to print one page) the pixma mp640 will print the text much lighter. So black will look more like very dark grey.

Overall rating stars
March 20, 2010

Comment:

Excellent review. Good printer for the money. Setup was easy, especially the network part which can be a nightmare for some printers – just let the printer search for your network under the ‘easy’ setup choice, then instal the software and you are ready to go. I searched the web and came up with the professional quality ILFORD Galerie Smooth Gloss 290g/m2 photo paper, 100 per box, for the best results and economy for this printer – no Canon paper can match Ilford in price and quality. However, stick with the Canon brand inks. Pictures really look stunning, the primary reason I bought this printer for. I don’t care about other features that much. I have laser printers at home for the regular text printing. Make sure you print out something every week to avoid clogging, which is less of a problem with dye based printers like Canon MP640 as compared to the pigment ones. Save your pictures in an album for longevity. Have fun.

Overall rating stars
April 5, 2010

Comment:

I was considering buying this printer, however, I just read a review on another website that stated that to scan a document to the PC you have to have the USB connection made. It will not work via wireless! Can anyone verify this as true or false? I require a fully wireless printer, having to have a USB cable connected to achieve one part of the functionality is a ‘no go’ for me. Thanks, DH

Overall rating stars
April 12, 2010

Comment:

@ David Hamer – i have this printer and i have no problems scanning a document to PC over wifi. In fact i have never connected it using a USB cable at all. There is a little bit of software that runs on your PC and listens out for scanning jobs from the printer so maybe the reviewer had ‘forgotten’ to install the software.

As an aside i also have a Playstation 3 and that can also print to this model over wifi (not that you’d want to very often but if you didn’t have a pc it might come in more handy). All in all the best printer i’ve ever owned by far.

Description
The Canon company offers users to check out PIXMA MP640. The features of PIXMA MP640, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left PIXMA MP640 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon PIXMA MP640. Buy Canon PIXMA MP640 with benefits.
Details
Details
Trays
Feeding paper 300 sheet. (standard), 300 sheet. (max.)
The capacity of the manual tray 150 sheet.
Copier
Zoom 25-400 %
The scaling step 1 %
Time first copy out 22
The maximum number of copies per cycle 99
Printer
Print photos Yes
Maximum format A4
Borderless printing Yes
The number of colors 5
Printing 10x15 cm (color.) 20
The minimum amount of drops 1 PL
Automatic two-sided printing Yes
The maximum resolution for color printing 9600x2400 dpi
Scanner
Color depth 48 bit
Sensor type pin (CIS)
Scanner type tablet
Shades of gray 256
Standards support TWAIN, WIA
The scan resolution 4800x9600 dpi
The scan resolution (enhanced) 19200x19200 dpi
The maximum size of the original A4
Supplies
Ink type pigment
Print on: cards, transparencies, labels, photo paper, CD/DVD, glossy paper, envelopes, matte paper
Paper weight 64-300 g/m2
Type of cartridge/toner PGI-520BK , CLI-521BK, CLI-521C, CLI-521M, CLI-521Y
The number of cartridges 5
Resource h/b cartridge/toner 350 pages
The resource color cartridge/toner 471 pages
Interfaces
Interfaces Ethernet (RJ-45), Wi-Fi, USB
Direct printing Yes
Memory card support Compact Flash, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick Pro, Memory Stick Pro Duo, MMC, SD, xD-Picture
A device for reading memory cards Yes
Additional information
Weight 8.8 kg
Features speed b/W printing ESAT: approx. 9.2 Fig. per minute; print speed colour ESAT: approx. 8.1 Fig. per minute; color depth [bits]: internal - 48, foreign - 24; optional Bluetooth interface
OS support Windows, Mac OS
The display 2.95 inch.
Dimensions (WxHxD) 450x176x368 mm
Display information color LCD display
Power consumption (at work) 14 W
The noise level in the work 47 dB
Power consumption (in standby mode) 1.3 W
General characteristics
Device printer/scanner/copier
Type print color
Accommodation table
Print technology thermal inkjet
Fonts and control languages
PostScript Support No
My review Canon PIXMA MP640

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới