Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Garmin Dakota 20

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 8 reviews
Specifications
Type
portable
Scope
universal
Software
Garmin
Sound alarm
Yes
The number of routes
50
The number of waypoints
1000
Function calculate route
Yes
Specifications
Type:
portable
Scope:
universal
Software:
Garmin
Sound alarm:
Yes
The number of routes:
50
The number of waypoints:
1000
Function calculate route:
Yes

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
8 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
February 15, 2010

Comment:

I think 9/10 for value is a bit generous when the OS maps needed to make the device useful in the UK come it at around £120 (each). Granted that’s not Garmin’s fault, but in the end it makes the TCO of this device and the higher specified Oregon not that much different.

Overall rating stars
February 15, 2010

Comment:

For more casual usage (and for people with an iphone) Roadtours offer regional OS 1:50,000 mapping for £15 http://www.roadtour.co.uk/iphone/iphone_outdoors.php – I’ve got all of the South East and it is a bargain – obviously not as rugged, and rubbish battery live, but at a fraction of the price of a dedicated handset.

I’m just waiting for 1:25,000 mapping …

Overall rating stars
February 15, 2010

Comment:

JonWill – have you seen RouteBuddy? £100 for the whole UK at 1:50k and 1:25k mapping at £19.99 a shot. Yet to try it, but seems to be decent judging by the comments I’ve read on it so far.

Overall rating stars
February 17, 2010

Comment:

Isn’t the OS expected to make the map data available in open formats for free from April? The consultation paper is here: http://www.communities.gov.uk/publications/corporate/ordnancesurveyconsultation. It will be very hard to continue to justify a price of £120 a map at this point.

Overall rating stars
February 18, 2010

Comment:

The Routebuddy approach looks great, but the mapping is still expensive. Just thought I’d clarify that the Roadtours maps are £15 for the ENTIRE of the South East at 1:50,000. England and Wales are split into 8 regions, and so you’r getting 20 or so traditional maps for the price. Not sure how they manage it …

I would be very surprised if the OS started giving their data away – perhaps to other Governmental organiastions (schools and LAs need to pay for it).

Overall rating stars
February 18, 2010

Comment:

@JonWill – Check section 7 of the consultation paper, particularly 7.1, “The Prime Minister announced proposals on 17 November 2009 to release a selection of Ordnance Survey products free of charge and without restrictions on use and re-use.” and 7.17, “The download centre would provide the facility to select pre-defined areas and tiles of mapping to download and save locally. The data will be provided in industry standard compressed file formats. No charge would be made to download the data.”

7.17 does not represent a commitment, merely an option in the consultation, but if you want free downloadable maps then write in to the consultation.

Personally I wouldn’t mind paying a modest fee to download maps in an open file format, but did resent paying inflated fees multiple times to get the same map in different vendor-proprietary file formats. And in the case of one vendor, the file format was obsoleted shortly after I bought maps for the entire UK, although they kindly offered me a discounted price for buying all the maps again!

Overall rating stars
March 4, 2010

Comment:

Hi guys,

Saw these comments come up and though I’d respond personally; forgive me if this an intrusion but I can offer you information straight form the horses mouth… 🙂

JohnWill:
RoadTour only sell maps that go on the iPhone.

The maps RouteBuddy sell can be loaded onto an iPhone (from Mac or PC), used in RouteBuddy for Mac OS X and will also load onto an iPad when it appears (not that I’d lug one around these muddy trails in these Surrey Hills near our office in Guildford). This is an advantage when planning on the same OS map on a desktop and transferring a highly-detailed route to your iPhone that’s using the very same map.

I might add that RouteBuddy are not here just to sell topographic OSGB or USGS maps for the iPhone; we are a dedicated UK digital map company and our engineers all have over twenty years of experience in software development for Apple devices. What this means is we are committed to long term development, and support, for digital mobile and RouteBuddy on the desktop.

simonm:
THe OSFree consultation is on 17th March, but no date has been set for release if it is decided the data will be free. (Remember that this is a costly hand-grenade-in-the-lap for the next incoming government to pay for, whatever party, or leader.)

However there’s ‘Free’ and ‘Free’ – viz. To make use of OS data you would need experience with software, ability to build and deploy software, and time/money to build an infrastructure to offer long-term support. Yes there could easily be hundreds of one-off apps-with-a-map you could only pay a few quid for but if the person who wrote them moves on for any reason then you’ll just have to buy the same map all over again and from another vendor. Worthy of note is that just one iPhone OS change can mess with an app, so it doesn’t work as you wish…

(For OS maps on the internet then all sorts of issues come in to play with the restrictions that coding for the internet causes, as internet apps are nowhere near as flexible as desktop apps.)

JohnWill
Actually we are the lowest priced OS map solution on the iPhone. RoadTours do sell maps of 13 regions (not 8 – that’s RouteBuddy, we offer 8 regions but each one is much bigger than a RoadTours region) and you can’t use RoadTours regions on both the iPhone and a Mac. So 13X£14.99 for limited-use maps compared to RouteBuddy’s £99.99 for the whole country…
(BTW – the lowest non-sale PC Explorer map prices are from Tracklogs at £29.00 each, ours are £19.99 each.)

Hope this has been of interest and feel free to write to me via support@RouteBuddy.com or even post on our own RouteBuddy Forum.

Best,

Neil
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Overall rating stars
December 6, 2013

Comment:

Is this good for inland fishing?

Description
The Garmin company offers users to check out Dakota 20. The features of Dakota 20, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left Dakota 20 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Garmin Dakota 20. Buy Garmin Dakota 20 with benefits.
Details
Details
Main
Type portable
Scope universal
Software Garmin
Sound alarm Yes
The number of routes 50
The number of waypoints 1000
Function calculate route Yes
The ability to download maps Yes
Power
Batteries AA
While working 20 h
The number of batteries 2
Screen
Screen size 2.6x5.5 cm
Screen type LCD-color
Touch screen Yes
Screen resolution 160x240 pixels.
The screen backlight Yes
Function
Additionally barometer, magnetic compass
Interfaces
Slot Micro SD
Connection USB
Additional information
Weight 190 g
Features the ability of wireless devices to exchange waypoints, tracks, routes and geocaches between compatible devices Dakota, Oregon, Colorado and Foretrex
Equipment Navigator Garmin Dakota 20 with a set of cards, manual in Russian, in the wrist strap, USB cable
Waterproof case Yes
Dimensions (WxHxD) 55x100x33 mm
Characteristics of the device
Antenna type internal
The size of the internal memory 850 MB
My review Garmin Dakota 20

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới