Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3 Kit

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 9 reviews
Specifications
A lens kit
there, the model specify vendor
Support for interchangeable lenses
lens mount Micro 4/3
Manual focus
Yes
Face detection
Yes
Type autofocus
contrast
The AF illuminator
Yes
Power connector
Yes
Specifications
A lens kit:
there, the model specify vendor
Support for interchangeable lenses:
lens mount Micro 4/3
Manual focus:
Yes
Face detection:
Yes
Type autofocus:
contrast
The AF illuminator:
Yes
Power connector:
Yes

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
9 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
May 24, 2011

Comment:

“14.6MP Samsung NX11 that uses a larger APS-C sized sensor and can be picked up for around £500, and the 14.2MP Sony NEX-5 that also uses an APS-C sensor and can be bought for about £550.”

Think you might what to add that the sony nex-5 comes with the twin lens kit at that price its £480 with the 18-55mm kit zoom (from jessops) and typing samsung nx11 into google show it can be picked up for a little less (Park cameras a good company has it at £460 with the 18-55). Thats without mentioning the fact that you can still pick up the nex 3 from comet with the twin lens kit for £400 (thats where i got mine).

Thats not to take away from the G3 which im sure is an excellent camera but if you use alot of legacy glass (i use minolta md lenses on my nex 3) then the crop on micro 4/3s makes it hard to get fast glass cheaply at usable focus lengths. Having said that if you have the money to really invest in one of these systems then 4/3rds is the most mature and has the best lenses (the panny 20mm is superb by all accounts) which is an important thing to bear in mind. However for a student like me just wanting something smaller than the slr they never seem to be able to carry about who doesn’t have £300 to pick up another lens then you want an aps-c sensor not because of depth of field but because it gives you more options when it comes to legacy glass.

Just to give people an idea though of what these cameras can do in the hands of a complete amateur these are a few picks ive taken over the last few days with my nex 3.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/62700750@N07/5740042540/in/photostream/

Overall rating stars
May 24, 2011

Comment:

Thanks for the review, Audley. It looks that Panasonic has got things right when it comes to high ISO jpg performance.

It would also be nice to read about the RAW image quality. Any plans of including it to reviews?

Overall rating stars
May 25, 2011

Comment:

Helpful review, thanks. But can you comment on the video quality? Rolling shutter effect, AF performance, etc. And post some sample movies? Cheers,

Overall rating stars
May 25, 2011

Comment:

I am very impressed with everything I have read about the G3 and the sample photos I have seen. I am looking to buy it. I have a concern that I am reluctant to bring up but I feel it has to be addressed. Given the tragedy in Fukushima, the release of radioactive materials in the air and water, the location of the Panasonic plant, the use of water in manufacturing processes, and the exposure to air – how can one know that products coming from that area are not contaminated. I hate asking this, I am a fan of this camera, but I feel that an answer is required. I have no idea where this question might be directed.

Overall rating stars
May 25, 2011

Comment:

The line:

“Overall, we remain mightily impressed by the specifications, handling, performance and overall image quality of the G3. ”

is repeated in your summary “Trusted reviews says….”

Overall rating stars
May 26, 2011

Comment:

@gbrocks errr your joking right? You do realise that you would have to start eating your cameras for this to be a serious danger even if there was a serious contamination problem? As it is the area which has been evacuated is only really 30km where there is a risk (and a small one at that) to human health over a prolonged period (maybe a couple of months mainly from ingestion of materials with a relatively short halflife such as iodine most of which will have cleared up by now. In short the risks are minuscule a radiologist (and we have lots of those) will take a higher dosage than from his work than you would if you went and lived in the voluntary evacuation zone in fukashima for a year. Just because is the panasonic factory is in fukashima prefecture (an area bigger than yorkshire) does not mean it is affected by a disaster that has a danger to health in an area which constitutes less than 5% of its area (fukashima prefecture is 13700km2 the evacuation zone is 592km2) If it was it would be closed.

Overall rating stars
May 27, 2011

Comment:

In general, the smaller the sensor, the more compatible the resulting camera is with different lenses as the sensor is more likely to fit inside of the image circle. So you will have much better chance using older as well as non third party lenses to a m43 camera. Of course Some of the image formed by larger format lenses will essentially be wasted where the sensor is too small, but at least the sensor will be fully utilized.

This is why you have m43 adapters for practically any other lens on the market. You can’t say that for APS-C sensors.

Regarding getting fast glass cheaply at useable focus lengths, again, a smaller sensor makes it easier, not more difficult to design and make fast glass, and it is much easier to convert and existing fast glass design for m43 purposes. Although, the small sensor advantage is indeed diminished (NOT reversed) as you move towards smaller focus (aka macro) distances.

The only real issue with a smaller sensor is less depth of field cpampred with bigger sensors (and of course the ISO noise/DR issue).

Overall rating stars
June 30, 2011

Comment:

Panasonic knew you would say it. So they moved the production to China. You will get a Made in China G3 & Lens if you buy it.

Have Fun!

Overall rating stars
April 24, 2012

Comment:

The Sony NEX can’t be directly compared as they lack any sort of view finder (well at lead in the price) and have less easy to access controls. Although the low light performance is better on the NEX overall the G3 is more useful due to the compact lenses available. The X 14-42 and 20mm f1.8 pancake are good examples.

Description
The Panasonic company offers users to check out Lumix DMC-G3 Kit. The features of Lumix DMC-G3 Kit, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left Lumix DMC-G3 Kit reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3 Kit. Buy Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3 Kit with benefits.
Details
Details
Lens
A lens kit there, the model specify vendor
Support for interchangeable lenses lens mount Micro 4/3
Focus
Manual focus Yes
Face detection Yes
Type autofocus contrast
The AF illuminator Yes
Power
Power connector Yes
Battery capacity 1010 mA*h, or 270 photos
Number of batteries 1
The format of batteries your own
Camera
Camera type mirrorless interchangeable-lens
Matrix
Size 4/3 (Four Thirds) (17.3 x 13.0 mm)
Crop factor 2
Sensitivity 160 - 6400 ISO, Auto ISO
Maximum resolution 4592 x 3448
The type of matrix Live MOS
Image sensor cleaning Yes
The total number of pixels 16.7 million
The number of effective pixels 16 million
Exposure
Excerpt 60 - 1/4000 with
Metering multizone, center-weighted, spot
Compensation +/- 5 EV in 1/3-step increments
Excerpt X-Sync 1/160 c
Exposure bracketing Yes
Automatic processing of the exposition with shutter priority, aperture-priority
Manual setting of shutter speed and aperture Yes
Functionality
Flash built-in, up to 8 m, the suppression of red eye, Shoe, bracketing
Shooting 3D Yes
White balance auto, manual, from the list
Image stabilizer (photography) missing
Shooting modes
Timer Yes
The timer 2, 10, 10 c
Speed shooting 2 frame./sec
Maximum series of images 7 for RAW
The frame format (photography) 4:3, 3:2, 1:1, 16:9
Size and weight
Size 115x84x47 mm, without lens
Weight 336 g without batteries
Memory and interfaces
Interfaces USB 2.0, video, HD videos, HDMI, audio, connector for remote control
Image formats JPEG, RAW
Type of memory cards SD, SDHC, SDXC
Record video and audio
Video codecs AVC/H. 264, MJPEG
Sound recording Yes
Video recording Yes
Format video recording AVCHD, MOV
Maximum resolution videos 1920x1080
The maximum frame rate of the video 60 fps
The maximum frame rate when shooting HD video 50/60 fps at a resolution of 1280x720, 50/60 fps at a resolution of 1920x1080
Viewfinder and LCD screen
LCD screen 460000 pixels, 3 inches
Viewfinder electronic
Type LCD screen rotary, touch
The viewfinder field of view 100%
The number of pixels viewfinder 1440000
Using the screen as a viewfinder Yes
Other functions and features
Announced 2011-05-12
Equipment protective cover, charger, battery, AV cable, USB cable, shoulder strap, stylus, CD with software
Case material metal
Additional features tripod mount, remote control
Date of commencement of sales 2011-06-15
My review Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3 Kit

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới