Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 40 reviews
Specifications
Aperture
F2 - F2.8
Features
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom
2.50 x
The name of the lens
LEICA DC VARIO-SUMMICRON
Focal length (35mm equivalent)
24 - 60 mm
The number of optical elements
8
The number of groups optical elements
6
Specifications
Aperture:
F2 - F2.8
Features:
aspherical lens
Optical Zoom:
2.50 x
The name of the lens:
LEICA DC VARIO-SUMMICRON
Focal length (35mm equivalent):
24 - 60 mm
The number of optical elements:
8
The number of groups optical elements:
6

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
40 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
April 14, 2010

Comment:

G Hell. The only camera I can think of that fits your requirements is the ixus980/SD990. Anything else has a larger body than the LX3. The ixus is small, has good image quality and has a viewfinder. Although no wide angle. If you can stand something bigger than the LX3, then the G10/G11 are probably your best bet.

Overall rating stars
April 16, 2010

Comment:

digibug. Thanks for the advice. I’ll check out the models you mention.

Overall rating stars
May 12, 2010

Comment:

hi can anyone help!! I’ve been looking endlessly at the various types of cameras ranging from the compact – Sony CyperShot HX6, cannon PowerShot SX210, Lumix TZ10 & Lumix LX3. Bridge cameras- Nikon coolpix P100, Cannon G11 SLR Lumix G1 & GH1, Cannon EOS 550D Nikon D90 …saying i’m confused is an understatement…

I’m basically after a camera that i can take on holiday and family events… I tend to zoom quite a bit whilst on holiday, a wide angled lens would be preferable for when i take landscape shots without it loosing depth and clarity. Any recommendations would be really appreciated!! Thanks 🙂

Overall rating stars
May 14, 2010

Comment:

I’m in the same position as you Sparkle! I really like the LX3 for it’s photo quality, build quality, wide angle & low light performance, but the only thing that puts me off is the short zoom (but then you can always ‘get closer’ I suppose!).

I like the look of the Sony HX5, it’s got an almost as wide angle lens & a useful zoom, but then there are small comprises in terms of image quality, which I probably couldn’t tell the difference between anyway, so it’s a psychological issues more than anything! So for me it’s between the LX3 and the HX5.

Overall rating stars
May 20, 2010

Comment:

@ sparkle and ChrisC. Check out the Panasonic DMC-TZ7, there’s a review of it on this site.

Overall rating stars
June 2, 2010

Comment:

I agonised for ages before buying the LX3. Previously I had a Panasonic TZ5 and was so impressed I wanted to remain brand loyal. I was tempted to go for the TZ10 but wanted the wider angle, better lens etc.
Quite annoying and a problem for other people seems to have is all the shots seem too dark, far too dark. The only solution seems to be increase the general exposure by 1/3. Another design floor is the flimsy lens caps held on with string! Hardly the finishing touch to such an expensive camera. The lack of zoom did concern me but having used it for a month or so I have to say I don’t miss it.
Still getting used to the camera and have to say not certain I shouldn’t have gone for TZ10.

Overall rating stars
October 26, 2010

Comment:

Hi
Just ordered an LX3, Present cameras Ixus 60, love it, Panasonic DMC FS6, love that one too and Olympus 5050 zoom; disapointing. I will look forward to owning and using the LX3 £282.00 from ‘Simply Electronics’ Some of you reviewees just want it all and something for nothing; lighten up and take your anorak down the charity shop, or better still burn the b**y thing. I have gone by such reviews, as above to aid my choice, I realise you can’t have it all in one piece of equipment; e.g. I rarely zoom up so ‘big’ zooms don’t influence my choice; leica lens!! all that specification for a great price and I can put it in my pocket. I do adventure/cultural tours so pocketability is another factor. Perhaps I will write a performance blog about the LX3 in a while. ATB and enjoy your hobby.
Mr Bongo

Overall rating stars
October 26, 2010

Comment:

@Mr Bongo – I wish you the very best of luck with your order from Simply Electronics. The web is literally groaning under the weight of negative reviews of this reseller, and personally, I would not order from them.

Overall rating stars
January 4, 2011

Comment:

Hi, like a few others I’d like the chance to sweet talk some advice from people who know what they&#8217re talking about 🙂
I&#8217m finding my current Canon SD780 IS rather limiting, thus want to upgrade. I&#8217m not looking for a new camera; as I&#8217d rather get more bang more my buck with a used model. I&#8217m keen to learn more about photography and want to pick a camera that I can grow into/with. Finally I&#8217m a seafarer by trade so need a light&#8217ish and durable camera that can travel the world and last.
ATM I got it down to two options: this LX3 ~£220, or the cheaper DMC-TZ7 ~£120 (the extra zoom isn&#8217t so important). I guess I&#8217m asking if you think the LX3 is suitable and worth the £100 extra?
Thanks Ben

Overall rating stars
February 21, 2011

Comment:

Ben83, Sparkle and the rest of you who still can’t decide for the camera you wanted, for God sake, if extra zoom is not important, just grab the LX3 for that £100 extra – trust me, the manual control options and image quality of LX3 is far more superior than the TZ7. TZ7 is also a good camera is you want a compact digicam with long zoom. LX3 can’t offer you long zoom but the image quality and its ability in Low Light situation is much better than TZ7.

Majority of Panasonic LX3 buyers are happy with the camera, that I knew for sure. Plus this model receive positive review from many websites, and yes no camera is perfect, there is always room for improvement, but I guest not many of us willing to pay more, right?

For the others who tend to make comparison of Panasonic LX3 (or even Canon G10/G11/G12) with entry level DSLR, I think you are on the wrong end. Panasonic LX3, Canon G series (and also their high end S series – ie. S95), Nikon P600 & P700, Olympus XZ-1 or Samsung EX1 (to name a few that I knew) does not compete with those entry level DSLR. They are in the class of their own – “High End Compact” – targeted for advanced photographer or enthusiast though even the novice can use them with the “All Auto” function.

I also own Panasonic LX3 and I am happy with it. I can use external flash and that is really something important for me. You don’t have to buy the expensive Panasonic flash, I just use the cheap YongNuo YN-460 external flash (made in China) which I also use on my other camera as the trigger voltage is very low and safe – only 3.3v

http://www.shewsbury.com/2010/10/panasonic-lx3.html

With the 52mm adapter tube, I can do more fun and experiment using additional accessories for the LX3 – things like cheap filters and conversion lens.

http://www.shewsbury.com/2010/10/pimp-my-lx3-58mm-digital-optics-20x.html

I also use the LX3 for some insects Macro Photography with the help of Raynox MSN-202 Super Macro Conversion Lens

http://www.shewsbury.com/2010/10/raynox-msn-202-macro-lens.html
http://www.shewsbury.com/2010/11/macro-photos-using-raynox-msn-202-and_20.html

I have DSLR, Canon EOS 1000D but I never bother to use the “Standard Lens-Kit of 18-55mm IS” – I only use this DSLR camera of mine with the Canon EF-50mm F/1.8 Mark II lens for certain special use (i.e. indoor photography). For any other “general purpose” or “standard” photography, the Panasonic LX3 become my “standard kit-lens” as it can produce the same good result within the 2.5x zoom range… in case you don’t know, the “Standard Kit-Lens of 18-55mm” of Canon and Nikon DSLR lens are in fact offering only 3x zoom range (do the math 55/18 = 3.05) – so 2.5x and 3.0x is not a big different.

The Leica lens on the Panasonic LX3 is much better if compared to the standard kit lens those standard kit-lens offered with most entry level DSLR camera – for example: “Canon EFS 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 IS”

And if I want long zoom for outdoor use, I can always use my Fujifilm HS10, the image quality is not great (if compared to LX3) but it does what it should and give the photo you want with that long zoom. I think the Panasonic FZ28 and FZ38 can give you better image quality but with slightly shorter zoom;

http://www.shewsbury.com/2010/05/fujifilm-finepix-hs10.html

Many people boasting that they have DSLR and their camera are better than the Panasonic LX3 – nothing much I can say about it, you get what you pay for. But there are also many people who talk big but they in fact only use the “standard kit-lens” with their DSLR and nothing else.

Bottom line is, Panasonic LX3 and also the latest LX5 (or any other similar “High End Advance Compact”) does not claimed that they can beat entry level DSLR, but they promised to deliver excellent image quality in the terms of “compact digicam” and provide some creative control options for those advance photographer – and on this ground they fulfill their promise accordingly at their price range.

We can’t expect to have good things to be cheap anyway…. there are reasons why Panasonic LX3/LX5 and their FZ series are made in Japan factory while the other Panasonic “low to mid range” camera models are made in China factory.

I believe that the concept of “perfect camera” does not exist. There is always plus and minus, depending to the person who will use it. If you ask me, a perfect camera is maybe a camera in a small body of Fujifilm X100, with 20X zoom and that stabilizer thing, have Leica lens, can use F/2.0 at all zoom range, use those DSLR image sensor, good processing engine that can let you capture full resolution image at the speed of 24 fps, image at ISO 3,200 is still perfect, full manual control with many external buttons and so on…. surely this is just a fantasy and it will never be a reality. Even if by chance somebody make it, the price wont be cheap and we all complain again…

So to all who love photography, have fun with what ever camera you have and God bless Trusted Review and all other website that provide camera reviews so that many people can just read and complains without the need to even buying the reviewed camera….

Cheers

John
http://www.shewsbury.com/

Description
The Panasonic company offers users to check out Lumix DMC-LX3. The features of Lumix DMC-LX3, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left Lumix DMC-LX3 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3. Buy Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3 with benefits.
Details
Details
Lens
Aperture F2 - F2.8
Features aspherical lens
Optical Zoom 2.50 x
The name of the lens LEICA DC VARIO-SUMMICRON
Focal length (35mm equivalent) 24 - 60 mm
The number of optical elements 8
The number of groups optical elements 6
Possibility of installation of interchangeable nozzles Yes
Focus
Manual focus Yes
Face detection Yes
The AF illuminator Yes
The minimum shooting distance 0.01 m
Power
Power connector Yes
Battery capacity 1150 mAh or 380 photos
Number of batteries 1
The format of batteries your own
Camera
Camera type digital
Matrix
Size 1/1.6"
Crop factor 4.3
Sensitivity 80 - 3200 ISO, Auto ISO
Enhanced ISO value ISO6400
Maximum resolution 3648 x 2736
The type of matrix СCD
The total number of pixels 11.3 million
The number of effective pixels 10.1 million
Exposure
Excerpt 60 - 1/2000 s
Metering multizone, center-weighted, spot
Compensation +/- 2 EV in 1/3-step increments
Exposure bracketing Yes
Automatic processing of the exposition with shutter priority, aperture-priority
Manual setting of shutter speed and aperture Yes
Functionality
Flash built-in, suppression of effect of red-eye Shoe
White balance auto, manual, from the list
Image stabilizer (photography) optical, movable element in the lens
Shooting modes
Macro Yes
Timer Yes
The timer 2, 10 c
The on-time 1.7 c
Speed shooting 2.5 frame./sec
Maximum series of images 8 for JPEG, 3 for RAW
The frame format (photography) 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Size and weight
Size 109x60x27 mm
Weight 229 g without battery; 265 g, with food elements
Memory and interfaces
Interfaces USB 2.0, video, HD video, audio
Image formats 2 JPEG, RAW
Type of memory cards SD, SDHC
The amount of internal memory 50 MB
Record video and audio
Video codecs MJPEG
Sound recording Yes
Video recording Yes
Record audio comments Yes
Format video recording MOV
The video recording time the video file size to 2 GB
Maximum resolution videos 1280x720
The maximum frame rate of the video 30 fps
The maximum frame rate when shooting HD video 24 fps at a resolution of 1280x720
Viewfinder and LCD screen
LCD screen 460000 pixels, 3 inches
Viewfinder missing
Using the screen as a viewfinder Yes
Other functions and features
Announced 2008-07-21
Equipment charger, battery, battery charger, power cord, AV cable, USB cable, lens cap, strap, software CD
Digital Zoom 4x
Additional features tripod mount, the sensor orientation
Additional information possible to install an optical viewfinder
Date of commencement of sales 2008-08-01
My review Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới