Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Pioneer BDP-450

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 9 reviews
Specifications
Video DAC
12 bit / 148 MHz
Progressive scan
Yes (PAL/NTSC)
The resolution of the output signal (HD)
720p, 1080i, 1080p
Outputs
HDMI x2, audio coaxial
Features
DLNA
Interfaces
USB Type A x2, Ethernet
Supported media
BD (Blu-ray Disc), Blu-Ray 3D, BD-R, BD-Re, DVD, DVD R, DVD RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW
Specifications
Video DAC:
12 bit / 148 MHz
Progressive scan:
Yes (PAL/NTSC)
The resolution of the output signal (HD):
720p, 1080i, 1080p
Outputs:
HDMI x2, audio coaxial
Features:
DLNA
Interfaces:
USB Type A x2, Ethernet
Supported media:
BD (Blu-ray Disc), Blu-Ray 3D, BD-R, BD-Re, DVD, DVD R, DVD RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
9 reviews
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating stars
December 14, 2012

Comment:

Danny, I just bought this player (two, actually) and am very pleased, agree 100% with your review. One thing I haven’t been able to confirm works is the SACD/CD function, switching between the two (any hints would be appreciated….I want to validate the sound quality on some hybrid SACD discs). I was hoping there would be an indicator on the front panel screen indicating the format being played back (i.e. SACD, CD……). The only other (and its slight, frankly) frustration is it will not play AIFF audio file format (Apple), but easy to work around that if known upfront. Setup, operation and performance, as you say, all very good.

Overall rating stars
December 18, 2012

Comment:

does this player support 1080p mkv files? somewhere i read that it only supports 720p for mkv files..

Overall rating stars
January 6, 2013

Comment:

Havy, I bought an BDP-150K a few days ago. I tried a SACD / CD hybrid disk and I must say that the disk is always played using the SACD format (there is a “SACD” indication). I tried the CD SACD button on the remote control, but it didn’t work for me (I expected it to switch to a CD format and back). On the other hand, I can’t realy work out why one should want to downgrade the sound quality from SACD to a CD format.

There’s one thing that really makes me mad – it always switches a TV on (connected vie HDMI) and there’s no way to get rid of it. If I play an audio CD, I don’t need a telly, do I? It’s even worse, there’s Pioneer logo at a fixed position, so I expect after a few months of audio playing I’ll have a Pioneer logo deeply burnt into my TV. Or can anyone help with a hint?

Overall rating stars
January 8, 2013

Comment:

Tom, thanks. I sorted out the SACD / CD playback issue – – as usual, “operator error”! Disc I had was marked SACD, but finally I checked with the distributor of the disc and they confirmed they never issued that in SACD!! Anyway, the reason I wanted to test the on/off of SACD was just to listen to audio quality differences, which there of course are. Done. Regarding your TV on issue, I don’t get that, so there must be a way to set it up so the tv doesn’t automatically turn on. I am using the separate HDMI set up (HDMI main to the TV, HDMI sub to my receiver). Also, I have tried the “pure audio” setting on the player and it does seem to enhance audio quality, and it removes the Pioneer logo if your tv does happen to be on. I’ll sort through my set up to see if I can discern anything else helpful.

One other update – – I had to return and replace one of the two BDP 450’s I bought – – on two occasions after switching the unit off at night, the next morning it wouldn’t turn back on (either from the remote or on the front panel. The cabinet above where the HDMI plugs are was extremely hot, so I unplugged the power supply. waited for it to cool, plugged it back in and all worked. This unit as well had stopped playing video files, sound would come through, but no video feed. Again, after doing the unplugging, cool-down routine, video playback came back. But I didn’t want a fire hazard so I returned it for a replacement (no problem to do so at my retail seller here in Thailand, thankfully).

Finally, I’ve not had any success playing .mkv files, have tried quiet a few and no dice (though I didn’t check if they were 1080 or not). Hope Pioneer puts out a fix.

Overall rating stars
January 10, 2013

Comment:

UPDATE JAN 10 2013 – **WARNING** – As I reported a few days ago in reply to Tom’s comment, I had returned for a replacement one of the two players I purchased due to malfunction / possible fire hazard. Today I had the same problem occur with the replacement unit, so I believe there is a firmware / software problem with this player. I am going to try to report it to Pioneer. The issue appears to occur when using the player’s options for changing via the remote the HDMI setting (Dual, Separate, and Pure Music). Quick summary – – I have the player hooked up via 2 HDMI cables, one to my plasma TV and the other to my Yamaha AV receiver. I also have a 500 GB external USB drive attached to the front jack. When playing CD’s, I switch, using the remote, the HDMI setting to “pure music”, which I used for a good part of the day for listening to discs. In the evening, I wanted to watch a video from the USB drive, so I switched the HDMI setting to “separate” – – however, the video’s picture was “frozen” on my tv screen, although the sound worked. I then switched the HDMI setting to “dual” and both picture and sound worked. after watching several videos, I shut off all the components and the player. This morning, the player would not turn on from either the remote or the front panel. I felt the player’s cabinet above the HDMI jacks at the back, and it was very hot. I then unplugged the player from the power supply, let cool, then plugged it back in. The player is now working. If you have this unit, be very careful about changing the HDMI settings as it seems to confound the player’s firmware or software, and causes overheating in the back of the player, a potential fire hazard. I’ll update this site again once I get any further information from Pioneer.

Overall rating stars
April 1, 2013

Comment:

There
is definitely a problem with this machine when it is configured to run both the
HDMI outputs in “separate” mode: It locks up consistently on Blu-ray menus.
Refuses to play Blu-ray discs – ejecting the tray – as if no discs are there
(which is only cured once the power is removed from the wall socket) and the HDMI
“control” functions fail operate anything!

Overall rating stars
October 18, 2013

Comment:

What’s picture quality like compared to lower priced players from Samsung and Panasonic?

Overall rating stars
October 18, 2013

Comment:

What’s picture quality like compared to the Panasonic 500 and 330?

Overall rating stars
October 4, 2014

Comment:

Can the USB Ports read external hard-disks (ie not just thumb drives)?

Description
The Pioneer company offers users to check out BDP-450. The features of BDP-450, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left BDP-450 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Pioneer BDP-450. Buy Pioneer BDP-450 with benefits.
Details
Details
Features
Video DAC 12 bit / 148 MHz
Progressive scan Yes (PAL/NTSC)
The resolution of the output signal (HD) 720p, 1080i, 1080p
Interfaces
Outputs HDMI x2, audio coaxial
Features DLNA
Interfaces USB Type A x2, Ethernet
Multimedia
Supported media BD (Blu-ray Disc), Blu-Ray 3D, BD-R, BD-Re, DVD, DVD R, DVD RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW
Supported formats MP3, WMA, MKV, AVCHD, MPEG4, DivX, DVD-Audio, SACD, JPEG
Additionally
Color black
Update Yes
Quick start Yes
Support BD-Live Yes
Control for HDMI Yes
Power consumption 23 W / 0.3 W (standby)
Internet access (Smart TV) Yes
Key features
Type Blu-ray player
Image scaling HDTV
Internet access (Smart TV) Yes
Size and weight
Weight 2.7 kg
Dimensions (WxHxD) 435x90x252 mm
My review Pioneer BDP-450

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới