Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Arlo Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System VMS4230P-100NAS

Overall rating 4.3 stars
4.3 from 20 reviews
Arlo
Specifications
Number Of Cameras Included
2
Network Connectivity
Ethernet, Wi-Fi
Storage Type
Cloud
Field Of View
130 degrees
Works With
Amazon Alexa, Arlo, Google Assistant, SmartThings
Camera Power Source
Battery-powered, Plug-in
Audio Communication
2-way
Specifications
Number Of Cameras Included:
2
Network Connectivity:
Ethernet, Wi-Fi
Storage Type:
Cloud
Field Of View:
130 degrees
Works With:
Amazon Alexa, Arlo, Google Assistant, SmartThings
Camera Power Source:
Battery-powered, Plug-in
Audio Communication:
2-way
The Arlo company offers users to check out VMS4230P-100NAS. The features of VMS4230P-100NAS, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left VMS4230P-100NAS reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Arlo VMS4230P-100NAS. Buy (Arlo VMS4230P-100NAS or Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System) with benefits.

Arlo Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System VMS4230P-100NAS Overview

Arlo Pro 2 Review - Wireless Camera - Unboxing, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

Arlo Pro 2 Review - Wireless Camera - Unboxing, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

Arlo Pro 2 Review - Is It Better Than The Original Arlo Pro?

Arlo Pro 2 Review - Is It Better Than The Original Arlo Pro?

Don't Buy The Netgear Arlo Pro 2 Until You've Seen This

Don't Buy The Netgear Arlo Pro 2 Until You've Seen This

Arlo Pro 2 security camera blogger review

Arlo Pro 2 security camera blogger review

EufyCam 2 Review - Wireless WiFi Security Camera - Unboxing, Features, Settings, Video Quality

EufyCam 2 Review - Wireless WiFi Security Camera - Unboxing, Features, Settings, Video Quality

Reviews

4.3/5
Overall rating 4.3 stars
20 reviews
5
7
4
1
3
0
2
2
1
10
Overall rating 1 stars
October 15, 2018

Comment:

So…this thing is great at livestreaming. However, I am a network engineer, and while the equipment is pretty good, the software is incredibly buggy. We spent literally months with their tech support with no ETA for fixes on obvious problems on their end. The livestreaming portion is awesome, video quality is great, but the record & playback was highly dysfunctional, even when we paid quite a bit extra for the continuous video recording (24/7 recording known as their CVR feature). It was not the bandwidth on our connection (good upload speeds are required for multiple cloud cameras). The video appeared to make it up to the cloud just fine, but you could never access it upon playback. Certain holes in the footage would be present. Playback would “skip” from one portion in time to the next, often minutes at a time in breadth (or more often back to the livestream) and you could never access the footage between skips even though the app and web interface would show the footage as being present (loss of internet link is shown as missing footage in CVR playback mode – these were gaps shown as existing footage, but they weren’t accessible). Another huge bug is that recording to a local USB hard drive (and a big reason we got this unit) was halted when CVR mode was active (it is still supposed to record the shorter motion activated clips, mirroring the cloud “library” even when 24/7 CVR recording is active). After spending months going back and forth with their tech support (not to mention many, many hours spent troubleshooting to make sure it wasn’t on our end), we went with this Nest system instead and couldn’t be more pleased: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0177FO9X4 It hasn’t missed a beat and we couldn’t be happier. We use their continuous recording mode and it is incredible with both recording and playback. There are some differences in features (the Arlo cameras have batteries whereas Nest does not, etc.) but the biggest difference is in the quality of the software. (What good are features if they do not work or are not usable?) Nest’s software is several magnitudes of order better and makes the system actually usable, and it generally delivers what it promises if your upload speeds are good enough. I can’t speak for Nest support since we haven’t needed them (which is a good thing), but what I can say is there is a disconnect between the Netgear/Arlo support agents and their engineering department. After multiple back-and-forth tickets and when they would finally agree that certain problems were present, the support department would ask and be waiting for an ETA for the fix from the engineers, and they would say there was no ETA but “let us know”; at which point we would usually never hear back from them. When we would contact them again, there was “still no ETA” or we’d have to start over. They were nice, but there is a training deficit or they do not have the tools to solve the problems on their end. We even threatened lawsuits. It didn’t matter. Or that was overlooked. They were cheery, but either didn’t care about the issues, couldn’t fix them, (or weren’t trained enough to realize/understand what the issues were?). I did my best to explain, but it was a nightmare considering that the situation we were monitoring was critical we had nearly constant recorded video access, and the network preparation (and further troubleshooting) had been done to make sure that the problem wasn’t on our end – that we had sufficient and stable upload speeds necessary for cloud based cameras (as evidenced by the fact that our Nest system uses the same network and approximately the same amount of data per month and is VERY similar hardware, yet runs perfectly with excellent recording and playback, unlike the Arlo Pro 2).That was the summary! However, if you want more details here’s some excerpts of the problems I had written from notes or was in our original trouble ticket (who knows if any of it has been fixed…the last update to our ticket was 6/18/18 and it was my turn – I summarized the remaining problems again and let them know we went with another company so they could close the ticket…the ticket is still open to this date 10/15/2018 with no further response from them…and the funny thing? They are so nice that I really don’t think they were being rude, I think they have just dropped the ball and are leaving it open forever on accident…this is not surprising and seems to be a good example of what we experienced on a regular basis with their software and support…I’m now scared of all Netgear products in general and not just the Arlo Pro 2 units after all of this).Okay, specific problem details that were present as of 6/18/18 are as follows:…The CVR mode, however, we have been unable to use properly (or use it much at all, even though we are paying for it). The Arlo app on iOS does not play back CVR video properly. There seems to be a server issue, an app issue, or both. The video will always skip to the livestream even though it shows that the historical footage is available…The only other comparable cloud cams at this time that offer CVR as a feature appear to be the ones made by Nest. We have had so much trouble with CVR on this unit that we may likely switch to theirs soon to see if their CVR mode is any better…….another problem we discovered was that the library clips were short and we have ended up with 1000 clips where there could have been 100. (for example, we will have a million 15 second clips that are essentially back-to-back even though the maximum length allowed is 300 seconds (or 5 minutes) – we rarely get that length in the library even when there is continuous motion or sound that should activate it for that full length of time……we also have a lot of footage that is just missing from the library where we know there was enough motion or sound to activate the triggers (the unit just didn’t record it for whatever reasons)……it has tons of issues with recording/playback (even though we always have around 6Mbps or greater of upload speed available to the Arlo base station, and I am a network engineer by trade and the Arlo seems to only require ~2.5Mbps or 322Kbps of peak upload for our 3 cameras in CVR mode (and I can confirm that yes all of our cameras have a CVR plan and CVR playback from all cameras have the same issue(s). Livestreaming from the Arlo works incredibly well, however, almost nothing works well in regards to recording/playback……As far as CVR mode goes, like I said, playback is horrendous. It is completely non-functioning in any iOS app (always skips to live) and it is barely functioning now through a web browser. It only occasionally jumps to live there but always “jumps around” and often can’t load videos altogether – even though the grey CVR ticker at the bottom shows the footage to be available. Sometimes the time of playback is not even correct and then it will jump to the correct time. This is not even like a beta product but more like an alpha in regards to playback……For example, where is the CVR footage from our camera named “Camera 3” around the date of 5/4/2018 and the time of 11:48pm (23:48)? I can load video before and after, but I cannot view the video (even in a web browser – like I said no CVR video playback will load for us in the Arlo app with any reliability). The video shows to be there according to the legend, however, the video will not load. We have multiple upon multiple of these “holes” every day that show to be there but aren’t accessible…….Clips get cut short and it makes for a lot of “continuous” footage in the library, but is is split up into numerous “tiny clips”. I have attached two video clips where in “Clip 1” the motion barely stops and then starts again, and another clip “Clip 2” is added to immediately follow it. The buffer time when motion stops that it stops recording must be instantaneous (as in there is no overlap or buffer – when the motion stops it immediately stops recording), and there should be more buffer to prevent this “multiple back-to-back-to-back-to-back” of short clips in the library……Check out the recording error in the attached file “How Is This Even Possible.jpg.” For a rare instance, the recording actually filled up the entire limit – actually beyond it. The limit is specified as 300 seconds and there is a clip in this screenshot that is 5 minutes and 8 seconds, or 308 seconds (11:43pm). Now, several clips follow: 14 seconds at 11:44, 14 seconds at 11:45, 35 seconds at 11:45, and 10 seconds at 11:46. Now, this view is FILTERED TO A SINGLE CAMERA. That means, that somehow, from the same camera, we have a clip that is 5 minutes and 8 seconds long starting at 11:43, but then before that time is up (which would be about 11:48), we have CLIPS AT 11:44, 11:45, 11:45, and 11:46. How is that even possible? I’m not a rocket scientist, but this math does not make any sense. It has either messed up the times or saved those extra clips in duplicate…….I found another error. The web activity light on the Arlo base station seemingly is supposed to flash when there is activity on Arlo’s ethernet cable (when it is uploading to the web or downloading from it). Well, after about two hours this light gets stuck as solid green (it stops flashing). The activity light on my router for Arlo’s ethernet port is still flashing, and so are my logs still showing data is moving, and the Arlo is still clearly working and uploading video to the web – but, the light gets frozen solid until the base station is restarted. After a restart, the light will flash again for a period of time (around a couple of hours) and then it gets frozen again……I have a local hard drive attached to the Arlo base station for local library recording; by specification this is supposed to record locally any clips that may be in the cloud library as a backup, and also be a backup to keep recording locally library clips (motion or audio) in case the Arlo’s internet connection goes down. As you can see from my HDD screenshots we started the Arlo unit at the beginning of April, and, it worked great for a couple of days (clips are there, saved locally corresponding to the library clips in the cloud), and then by the 8th of April it started slowing down (was missing some clips that the cloud library had) and then after that it quit recording locally to the HDD entirely for the remainder of the month. Nothing is there until the 30th of April, and that was because I unplugged and moved (and pulled and put back the battery on – essentially restarting) a camera, and I guess that is why, because that’s basically all that got captured. Basically, the hard drive stopped recording ANYTHING except for this one time on April 30th. I also have tracked the data that Arlo has uploaded to the cloud – it has been almost a TB (1000GB), and in my other screenshot you can tell that only about 30GB have been saved to the hard drive (and I can confirm this with a copy of the hard drive I have made). It just stopped saving to the hard drive after April 8th except for a few clips on the 30th). I have restarted the Arlo unit and it IS STILL NOT RECORDING ANYTHING. While this and the led issue appears to be a local problem, I have trouble seeing how the rest of our issues aren’t all server side or on the Arlo software development team. (The Arlo app not playing back CVR footage correctly, and multiple short clips getting saved in the library, and possibly some CVR footage missing (and/or not accessible) even though it shows to be there in the cloud?)… …UPDATE: I later found out through my own troubleshooting that when CVR mode was enabled, the local HDD quit saving/mirroring the cloud library clips. It only resumed when CVR mode was deactivated. The reason it recorded clips when I restarted a camera was because I removed the power cable for a short time and during that time CVR mode was automatically deactivated (it is documented that CVR mode will only work when the camera is plugged in, but will not work when the camera is running on battery). Inactive CVR = working local hard drive. Active CVR = nothing saved to hard drive.

Overall rating 1 stars
November 30, 2018

Comment:

I am writing this review after using my Arlo Pro 2 cameras for 30 days. The set up is truly quick & easy. My review will cover my experience with my Arlo Pro 2 cameras (used outdoors), as well as Arlo’s customer service. So, I believe that anyone considering the Arlo Pro 2 should be forewarned that although the support services phone number for Arlo is a CA phone number, all calls are routed to the Philipines. Attempting to get help is very time consuming, frustrating, and practically worthless. Support is painfully scripted, and incredibly unresponsive. Arlo relies upon customers/subscribers using the community for FAQ’s and to post and answer questions to troubleshoot issues. Ridiculous DIY stance for a top-rated and expensive item of such importance. An exercise in futility. You can independently confirm this by visiting the Arlo website, and even calling their support services number if you’d like.Also, aside from the excellent technology, consumer guide, and purchaser reviews for the Arlo Pro 2, one of the features that nudged me toward Arlo Pro 2 over a top highly-rated competitor was that there was a complimentary service plan. I like purchasing high quality items without having to continue making payments to use them. If you are like-minded you should be aware that there is a Basic Plan that is complimentary, but that to set up your system and account you will be required to submit your credit card data and agree to their terms and conditions anyway. If you don’t provide this information and agree to their terms and conditions, you cannot get set up/use your cameras. The Basic Plan will not allow you to filter notifications by type of motion detected (vehicle, person, animal). This is fine if you are setting it up on your personal computer only, but most will want to install the Arlo app on their phone so that notifications are sent and received wherever you may be, and asap, as this will allow you to choose to view, speak, listen, dial 911, or sound the alarm in response to an issue. Without filtered notifications, you will potentially receive hundreds of notifications round-the-clock. You can, of course, turn notifications off and just randomly view your cameras and library of recordings, but this will contribute to the cameras not being very effective for home security purposes. At best, they will only record an incident, vs. helping to prevent or apprehend a suspicious person or criminal. So, when I set my account up and saw that Arlo was offering a 30 day free trial for the upgraded services that supposedly allow for filtered notifications — the cameras will still record all motion, but you will only receive push notifications for the type of motion you have selected — I upgraded to the Premium Plan. Although the filters were successful the majority of the time, in my case I only wanted to be notified of animals and people, because of the significant lag time between detecting and recording motion, the cameras sometimes only detect something as “motion” and do not specifically identify it. So, you will still receive notifications you have deselected. I mentioned lag time, and this is a hugely dissatisfying issue. I watched more than one YouTube review of the Arlo Pro 2 and it didn’t seem the lag time was bad. In my experience, if the person, animal, or vehicle is moving slowly, the lag time is not bad, and the camera will usually be able to record the person, animal, or vehicle’s movement and activity throughout the period of time they are within the camera’s view and range. It is very important to know, however, that most people, animals, and vehicles are not slow moving. So, the recording of vehicles and people (and animals that don’t circle or linger in the camera’s view) most often only shows the vehicle/person/or animal for 1 or 2 seconds or less. No slow motion is available, and when you try to zoom to see features or details, they blur very badly so that zooming is pointless. Lag time causes recordings of vehicles/person/animals to magically appear at the center or exit point of the camera’s range/view point. So, you don’t know if the person that’s briefly recorded has just climbed over the fence of your backyard, or if someone from that vehicle that’s leaving the frame is the perpetrator of vandalism… Further, just as lag time in recording is an issue, there is lag time in notifications. Notifications are sent a minute or so after the recording. This means that vehicles/persons/animals that triggered the recording are usually out of sight, and God knows where, by the time a notification is sent. Another issue is that although the picture quality of the camera’s view is nice and clear during the daylight hours if mounted outside, and good when used inside, that when used outside, the facial features of people more than 10′ or so away from the camera are poor, and they blur very badly when zoomed. Same issue with license plates on vehicles, or even trying to zoom for make and model information. NIght time recordings when the cameras are used outside are very poor even of slow moving things and things that are within 10′. The overall picture will be good, but if you try to zoom to see specific features, forget it. Blurry and useless. Each camera’s settings can be adjusted for sound, motion, and recording quality. Even when at their highest settings, voice recording for outside will be faint, and the recording quality will be as stated. Also, other reviewers have mentioned the issue with the cameras frequently going off-line. In my experience, the off-line periods are fairly brief, but? Not reliable if they’re not working. Note that when you need to recharge the batteries that you may also have to resynch the cameras so that they are transmitting the picture. Make certain you check this prior to climbing a ladder and putting the camera up, or else you’ll need to take it down, resynch it with the base stations and put it up again. Another issue is that I have a one story home, and so the cameras are only mounted at approximately 7′. I read reviews before my purchase and so I purchased the Netgear mounts that allow you to screw the cameras on vs. using the included magnetic mounts. My rationale for doing so was that I thought at least if someone tries to steal the camera, they will have to linger to unscrew it and hopefully I would have a good recording of them doing so for law enforcement. Even this is an issue, as Netgear warns that if you use non-Netgear mounts that it may damage the camera AND the warranty of your camera can be rendered null and void. However, when I read some reviews of the screw-type mounts, some of the users noted that the mounts rusted outside. This is an issue because it could damage the camera. I decided to take that risk, because spending several hundred dollars for cameras and having the warranty voided by using non-Netgear mounts seemed to be a worse risk. I will not elaborate, as I’m certain that the bad guys that we good guys are trying to keep from being a victim of also read reviews to know the vulnerabilities of security systems, but I will say that these cameras are very vulnerable to theft, etc. Another issue to note is that in order to use more of the Arlo Pro 2 features, the camera must be plugged in. Just as the magnetic mounts that are included in the box and more appropriate for indoor use, the cords that come with the cameras are solely for indoor use. So, I had to buy two Arlo Pro 2 compatible cords that are rated for outdoor use, and sets of cord covers. Know that you will need to purchase an upgraded monthly service plan to use the additional features available for when the cameras are plugged in. Battery life is good when the camera is not detecting anything, but when the recording quality and sensitivity for sound and motion are set on the highest setting, depending upon the frequency of recordings, the battery charge may last for a longer or shorter period of time. All in all, I’m incredibly disappointed and completely dissatisfied with the Arlo Pro 2 cameras. Between the lagtime frequently causing people/vehicles to not be recorded long enough to be specifically identifiable, the details blurring when zoomed to actually try to get a clear/better look at the people, inability to read/capture vehicle license plate numbers, and voice recordings being poor, I would love to return these very expensive and overrated cameras (I purchased them months before I used them as I ordered the cords, found and purchased the outdoor mounts, etc after purchasing the cameras and so it was too late to return them). I mentioned the upgraded plan. The last straw was when I was awakened by vehicle notifications I had opted out of. I tried to cancel the upgraded plan and the system repeatedly told me to try again. When I did so and was repeatedly unsuccessful, I looked for a phone number for billing. None exists. Live chat was not functioning. I called the customer service number I previously mentioned. It is supposedly only for tech support and sales, but the rep confirmed it is the only number. I was told as they constantly update the app that sometimes you need to make changes to your account on a computer. It appears I was able to make the change from the Premium Plan back to the Basic Plan by making the changes to my account from my computer, but doing so seems to have locked me out of using the phone app without logging in each time I want to view a notification. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that there was none available unless it was okay with me to hold for two or three hours. Yes, that is what I was told, and I saw that at least one other person in the Arlo “community” experienced the same. This billing issue, the lack of customer service, and the fact that even with the complimentary and bad Basic Plan one must provide their credit card information, has the potential to be a serious problem. I am the type of consumer that spends days researching professional product-specific reviews, as well as consumer reviews, prior to making purchases. I view product manufacturer information, watch YouTube reviews, etc prior to purchasing high ticket items. In conclusion, I’m certain that anyone having read this review will see that if you are looking for a reliable home security camera to be used outside, and if you desire a product that does not require monthly service fees to use more/most of its features, and if customer service and support is important to you, that Arlo is not the camera for you. I would recommend going to the Arlo website and accessing their support and community tabs and seeing first-hand what’s there. I believe that doing so will lead you to the same conclusion. Arlo Pro 2 cameras are better than nothing, but much more expensive.

Overall rating 2 stars
January 4, 2019

Comment:

You may have guessed by my headline that I am NOT an Arlo fan! I want to be, and I keep getting suckered into buying more Arlo products and services in hopes of overcoming their shortcomings, but it’s pointless and one of the most frustrating things ever. I own an Arlo base station with 3 Arlo Pro cameras, 2 add-on Arlo Pro 2 cameras, and 2 Arlo Security lights, and the lightbridge (which I had to buy separately due to their increasingly deceptive marketing).Speaking of their marketing… kudos to that team! They are AWESOME! They’ve created a nice looking brand and slick site… if only the product could live up to their false claims (which I’ll cover in detail in this review).HARDWARE:OK, I’ll give the hardware team credit where credit is due. I think they hardware is great! The image quality is great, the sound quality & mic sensitivity is decent. Battery life is quite awesome too although it is a non-issue as I now have all of my 5 arlos plugged in. I eventually plugged them all in in part to prevent having to rotate batteries, and also to support the CVR – continuous video recording – service that is available at a cost for the Arlo Pro 2. A service that I’ll slam later in my review.So you’ve got great hardware (and I am making the stretched assumption that they actually have a decent firmware version, which they tend to re-release and break working features constantly!)…. but hardware alone isn’t a full solution. This is where software comes in, and it’s the software that drives me absolutely crazy! There seems to be absolutely NO decent QA done on releases, and things are constantly breaking or not working correctly. I had hoped that as time goes on they’d achieve some kind of stability, and given that their sales seem to be good and there are enough owners out there that it’s worth investing in getting it right, they constantly miss the mark.OK – Why the Arlo Pro 2 instead of the Arlo Pro? I had 3 Arlo Pros, but there were some features I wanted in the Arlo Pro 2 that pushed me to add one to my set to overcome the limitations of the Arlo Pro.***ARLO PRO AND ARLO PRO 2 DO NOT WORK THROUGH WINDOWS!!!! ***I read about this in the forums, and being a techie, I somehow thought I could be clever enough to make it work. Surely the other members weren’t as persistent & determined as me. NOPE! I was just plain stupid to march on and buy into the system knowing this *could* be a limitation.Arlo Pro – It won’t work through glass because in order to detect (ie. trigger), it uses PIR (passive IR). This does NOT work through a window: period. I initially read this in reviews and Arlo official statements said that it wasn’t “reliable” through a window, and you may get too many false positives or glare. I came up with clever ways to get rid of the glare (cam has to be squarely pressed on the glass, night vision disabled, and LED charged full indicator disabled). Following these steps, both Arlo Pro and Arlo Pro 2 visually work awesome through the glass of my windows. I can view “live” through the cameras (accepting the fact that the lag is about 5 seconds, which makes 2-way comms through a camera extremely frustrating and more or less useless), but I can’t trigger to record!Enter “Arlo Pro 2”, and it’s “pixel detection”.***WARNING: PIXEL DETECTION IS FALSE ADVERTISING!!!! THIS CAMERA (Arlo Pro 2) DOES NOT DO PIXEL DETECTION***After several extremely frustrating support engagements (I’ll comment on support later), I finally got confirmation that pixel detection (ie. activity zones) rely on PIR. That’s right… PIR is the ONLY detection means…. and with pixel “detection”, it filters out whether the activity was within the range of pixels that it is supposed to trigger on, then triggers if any pixels in the zone change. But none of the pixel detection software is used until a detection is triggered, which as I mentioned is via PIR only…. which DOES NOT WORK THROUGH A WINDOW!This is why I got the Pro 2… I would be able to use it through a window! WRONG! But it’s OK… I had a Plan C… the Arlo Pro 2 supports CVR – continuous Video recording. Sure, you have to pay extra for this feature ($9.99/mo for one cam, $14.99/mo for 2 cams, and you can get a 17% discount if you purchase a year upfront… about $150/yr for 2 cams). I was going to go forward this plan, but those clever marking folks got me yet again! PRE-ORDER the Arlo Security Light!I went this route (Arlo Light) instead of going the CVR route… initially. Why? Because detection wouldn’t work through the glass, even if I recorded the action with CVR, I’d have no activity markers to use to find interesting activity. And most importantly, I wouldn’t be able to get any actions to trigger, such as sounding the siren, or recording on other devices, or notifying me. Boo :(I was pleased to see the intro of the Arlo Security light, so I pre-ordered it. CAREFUL, the Lightbridge is MANDATORY, even if you have an Arlo base station. The setup was dead simple… or at least it was intended to be, unless you ran into issues, as I was lucky enough to with one of my cameras. In the app, the lightbridge is managed separately from the Arlo base. When you make rules, you have to make 2 sets… one under arlo base, the other under light bridge. Interestingly, when you create the rules, you can only choose triggering devices from the rule base you start under, but for the actions, you can use devices from either lights or arlo base. Why they haven’t merged this in the UI is beyond me… that would make my life easier. But if they did it, that would be yet another software update that would take too many iterations to get right, and in the meantime would leave customers stranded with a partially dysfunctional system… but hey, that’s par for the Arlo course…OK, so I got some Lights and lightbridge. Mounted my lights OUTSIDE, and had my cameras inside. FINALLY! I had a pretty awesome system that did what I wanted. And then… my condo HOA buggered it all up and made me take down my light 🙁 I found a workaround for one, light to keep it outside, but the other had to come down. Not Arlo’s fault (for a change), but really annoying! And while I had them up, I wasn’t able to plug them in. After tweaking how long to keep the light on for (10s), I found that the battery would last a couple months between changing. Nice! Again… Arlo makes great hardware in my opinion, and the light is no exception.I had 2 window cameras… one I could leave the light up, and the other I had to find an alternative. My Plan B (C or D?) all along, and why I went Arlo Pro 2 (instead of just the original pro) is for the CVR feature. Without a way to trigger (ie. my light), what a disappointment! But at least I could get constant coverage… or could I? Maybe… the jury is still out on this one!With CVR (and yes, my Internet connection is fast, and my signal from bridge to camera is strong.. should be since they are only 10′ apart), I am still trying to figure out just how far the video lags. In the UI, it has a real slick timeline. Navigating is a decent experience on both mobile laptop browser. I like how easy it is to zoom in and out on the range, and get down to a specific time. The markers of events are clear for video movement and audio… but they aren’t accurate. OK, maybe they ARE accurate, but unfortunately, on the timeline where the events show, there’s no movement in the video. After a few basic tests, I was HORRIFIED at my findings!Again, seems like even the simplest QA tests weren’t performed before shipping the software, and charging customers. Here’s a test: walk in front of the camera (behind a window… remember, there’s no detection), and then stand there or move around. Then, open the timeline and see yourself at the time of the test. Can’t see yourself? What?!?!? I couldn’t!I tested initially, and it seemed fine. Not even 24 hours later, with the camera still rolling, I thought I’d check again. Using a time event from one of my balcony cameras that is outdoors and does detect, I saw a person walk through my condo complex in the direction where the CVR of the window cam would pick them up. There was no way they couldn’t show up on camera… yet I couldn’t find them! There was video at that time… never missed a beat (as some reported where they had huge gaps in their video), but the person just never showed up! I checked a full 10 minutes before AND after (20 min total), and the person never showed. They I was really concerned that I was just looking at a static picture with a false-sense that it was a video feed. Like a feed-loop you see in any heist movies. What was going on?!?!?So I walked outside and stood in front of my camera for 10 minutes. I had my phone in hand and in the timeline view, I bumped the timeline to “Live”. I did not show up!!! I was horrified! So I thought it was behind… and I kept waiting and minutes crept by. So then I went into devices, and clicked the play icon to see LIVE view… and there I was! I was lagged by about 5 seconds, which is normal for these, but still… I was there! I even snagged a couple still images to put them in my library (useful to create a timeline for the support call I am dreading to make with these clowns).So I went back to timeline, and sure enough, I could see myself under “live”. And then poof! I disappeared! I saw the trees and building that are in view from the window, but not myself, even though I was 2 feet in front of the camera monopolizing most of the view. I rewinded a few seconds… I was no where to be seen! I was convinced I was looking at a static image anytime I looked at the timeline because there was no movement… but that was also what you’d see when there’s no wind to move tree leaves. And then I saw a squirrel! It was a glorious little squirrel that proved my image wasn’t static. But where was I?!??!Frustrated, I returned to head back inside, hell-bent on writing a review since the last straw had finally snapped after a year of dicking around with these amateur products. And then something unbelievable showed in my timeline… it was ME!!! There I was… I could rewind and fast forward on the timeline. There was no jerkiness… the arlo didn’t miss a single frame! I thought maybe I’d see a jump to where the window was emtpy and then I’d magically appear (if it had to throw out a buffer), but nope… I saw me walk up, stand there looking at my phone, occasionally give the camera the finger (for the live snapshot of course!), and then go back to my phone. Man, do I ever look funny when I am puzzled and frustrated and staring into my phone like a zombie for over 10 minutes!So what happened? I was 45 MINUTES LATE ON THE TIME LINE!!!! WHAT??! I appears that all my footage queued up in a buffer somewhere then wrote into some incredibly slow storage in arlo’s own or some cloud provider’s datacenter.So the timeline, with it’s motion (green) and audio (blue) event indicators on it seems to be accurate. The time of those activities seems correct (assuming you can trigger), but the audio and video is timeshifted… but a LOT. I somehow fell behind 45 minutes over the course of 15 hours of recording. Totally unacceptable! But how can if ever catch up without sacrificing some frames? I think some discards are necessary now… just to get me caught up.NOTE: My video setting is set to “Best Quality”, which may be lossless, and may be what contributed to the buffer getting so far lagged behind.So that’s my experience with CVR so far. I had hoped it could overcome the limitations, but seems just as dumb and dysfunctional as the other falsely marketing features that don’t do what they say.And then I found their latest ploy “Arlo Smart Plans”. Apparently using AI, they’ll magically detect faces, pets, activity, etc and do customized alerts. Wishful thinking, and some great marketing… but seriously, they aren’t capable of basic activity zone detection or normal recording, so how will they pull off this miracle? Oh ya… AI! Now if they leverage a reputable tech giant’s machine learning APIs (such as google’s or amazon’s), then maybe they could pull it off. But if it’s the same dev team that have been mangling their existing software stack, I wouldn’t hold my breath.So… that’s my next course of action… I’m in this far, and sunk in a lot of $$ already, let’s throw another $3/mo/cam on TOP of CVR subscription and capital outlay at the problem and see if that works. If I were smart, I’d cut my losses. There HAS to be decent cloud-based solutions out there. How’s Nest? Google tends to good job…SUPPORT:OMG! Very quick responses! You’d think that would be a good thing… but you’re assuming the responses are even remotely helpful. They are NOT. They don’t even read my issues before hitting me with auto-responses, which I reply to , and they give me even more autoresponses. This team is outsourced, and the caliber is the lowest I’ve ever worked with in the industry. After spoon feeding them all my detailed QA work I’d done troubleshooting problems for them, and finally made it to engineering, best I would get is a response to confirm “you’re correct”, such as with the pixel detection debacle.How about warranty? I had a camera that had a bad USB port. Eventually, they swapped my camera for another…. it took 10 weeks of back and forth! I’d update my case, hear nothing, create new cases referencing the others… this would go on for weeks, with me updating my tickets DAILY with “hello?!?! Is anybody there?!?! ” Finally, it was going through twitter that I got my cases escalated so that someone would look up my case IDs. I thought i was in the clear and it still took months of back and forth to get a replacement camera. UGH!!!! Eventually they did. And I promptly sent back my defective camera. If I didn’t send it within 14 days with their postage-paid, pre-addressed return express shipping envelope, they’d charge my credit card. I had to give them a card number as collateral before they’d send a replacement. Sure enough, they charged my card and that took a few more weeks of back and forth to sort out. They number they told me to call wouldn’t pick up on the other line. And when I talked to support and gave them the phone number THEY gave me with the replacement camera, they said they’d never heard of that number or the location I shipped back to. I then found it written on their site to show it was legit, and the support person was surprised. They are completely and utterly disorganized internally! (Except marketing & biz dev groups… they clearly have their sh!t together and they’ve done an awesome job sneaking such a shoddy product into Costco, which usually has high product standards).—————–Thanks for reading up to hear… as you can see, it’s been a serious love-hate relationship with Arlo. The hardware is great, the marketing is SO slick, and the app UI is quite slick too. I figured out geo-fencing, which took 4 sets of rules (lightbridge: home & away + arlo bridge: home & away), but I am quite happy with my monitoring on the key cameras and ones that can leverage light bridge. If you have to record through glass because you have an HOA with strict rules, then save yourself the frustration.I am giving the whole system 2 stars. If support were better, even with all the software issues, I’d bump my rating up to a 3 or 4. Remember, this is your SECURITY you are relying on… and while 99% of the events don’t matter if they aren’t recorded for any of a number of reasons, the only events that matter are the ones you NEED, such as a break-in, or other incident. I still don’t have confidence I’ll capture what I need to when it counts.BUYER BEWARE! DON’T BE A FOOL LIKE I’VE BEEN! (or please do, because if sales are even better and Arlo has more resources to hire better QA and support, then myself and every other arlo owner will benefit – I am still holding onto hope they can get their act together, but only because I’m in it this far). SAVE YOURSELF THE FRUSTRATION!

Overall rating 5 stars
February 8, 2019

Comment:

I did a TON of research before buying these. I compared dozens of professional reviews, hundreds of private reviews, and compiled all the system specifications on a giant spreadsheet over a period of a month. I had a few ‘must-have’s, and several more ‘would-be-great-if-it-had’s.In the ‘must-have’ list –- Ability to be completely wireless, or plugged into power if desired- Local Storage with a cloud backup option- 1080P or better image quality- Strong encryption- Live streamingIn the ‘would-be-great-if-it-had’ list –- Some free cloud storage- Ability to record 24/7 if desired, or motion-only- IOS/Android/PC/Mac- 130 degree or more FOV (Field Of View)- Indoor or Outdoor cameras- Configurable activity zones- Geofencing – cameras on when home, off when away- Ability to download video- Look-back/Pre-motion trigger recording- Advanced object detection- Event filtering (so you can find events easily)- IOS or Email event notifications- Motion and/or sound alerts- Home automation integration- Two-way communication through the camera- Siren- Disable, or even completely Turn Off/On, individual cameras from app, for privacy- Scheduling- Manual recording or snapshotI ordered a 6-cam system, as well as a 2-cam system since I needed a minimum of 8 cameras. I only needed one base, so the other’s in the closet. (I know I could have just purchased 2 add-on cameras.) You can put as many as 5 devices (cameras, wireless spotlights, or doorbells) on one free account, or 20 on one paid (Smart Elite) account. If you need more, you can just use two accounts (different email addresses), and simply ‘share’ one account with the other, so you can see everything on one primary account.The reason you’d want to do this is because with the Arlo Pro 2 cameras, you get 7 days of free cloud storage for up to 5 cameras. So for example, you could still get the free deal for 10 cameras, but you’d need to use a second email address and ‘share’ access with the second account. It’s easy-peasy, and getting free cloud storage for 7 days is one of the major benefits to this particular version of Arlo cameras.When I opened the boxes, I was reminded of opening a new Apple product. The packaging is very similar, and the apparent quality of the equipment is excellent. Startup was super intuitive, and after plugging in the base and installing batteries, I was up and running in a few minutes. The base and cameras each updated themselves to the latest firmware with no problems.After setting up the software and playing with the system for a week or so, I’ve found this system is everything I’ve been looking for and more. Compared to my old Lorex IP system, the FOV and image clarity are outstanding. That old system was supposed to be 720p, while this one is 1080p. I now capture twice the FOV, and the quality is soo much better.This system has everything listed in both categories above. The cameras have motion detection and alerts whether plugged into A/C power or running on their own batteries, but in order to use the ‘Advanced Object Detection’, the camera must be plugged into A/C. What that does is enable you to set 3 rectangular zones that are supposed to only alert and capture video when motion is in one of those areas.But as of this moment, there is still a software bug and it doesn’t work. When you add more than one zone, you get no alerts or recordings. As soon as you delete all but one zone, everything works again. Other than keeping clips for 30 days rather than the free 7 days, this feature is the only reason to upgrade to a paid plan, and it doesn’t work. I’m hopeful they’ll get this worked out soon.One of the awesome things this system does that most others do NOT do, is the ‘Pre-Record’ feature. The camera has to be plugged into A/C, but when it is and the motion sensor is tripped, it goes back 3 seconds and records that, too. Most systems end up recording the back of whomever was at your door as they’re walking away. This solves this, and it works perfectly.You can add one or two USB powered thumb-drives or actual portable drives up to 2TB each to your base station, and it will record every event locally if you want. Even if your internet goes down, it’s designed to continue to record locally to that drive. So if a thief steals the thumb drive, or the entire base station for that matter, it’s recorded on the internet. If he cuts the cable before coming into your house, it should still record locally. So as your rolling cloud storage is overwritten, your locally stored videos will remain indefinitely – until you delete them.Probably the biggest draw for this system is the free 7 days of cloud storage. No other system can even come close. If you want the ‘advanced object detection’ (define areas to cover instead of just any motion, and labeling of ‘person’, ‘vehicle’ ‘animal’ or ‘all other motion’), you’ll need to pay for a plan. But even the plans are waaay cheaper than the others. For one year of coverage up to 10 cameras, it’s only $99 for 30 days of rolling coverage.That’s for motion events only, but I’ve found the motion works very well, and you can opt for up to 300 seconds on each event. Subsequent ‘events’ are only a second or two apart, and I don’t need to record nothing happening. But if you do want 24/7 recording, it’s $2/month per camera.More greatness – I travel a lot, and love the geofence feature. When I leave the property, the system arms. If I’m gone, I can already have programmed the base to sound the built-in 100 decibel siren to alert my neighbors, or I can activate it manually after getting an Alert pushed to my phone. And subscribed to any of the Smart Premier plans, wherever I am, I can push the ‘E911’ button so the 911 operator from my home’s area is called, not the one wherever I happen to be. Very handy.Home automation integration – Yep, integrates with Alexa, IFTTT, SmartThings, and Stringify, and I’ve read that they’re working on adding Apple HomeKit integration.This system wins in almost every single category over any other system. I considered Nest, but with 24/7 recording so many cameras, it will take up so much of your bandwidth that you’ll kill it completely, and in no time, you’ll be over your ISP’s 1TB limit.Nest’s site says each camera recording on their 24/7 Nest Aware plan uses 140Gb to 380Gb of upload bandwidth per month. Normally ISP’s give you 1TB per month, and charge @ $10 per extra 50Gb. 8 cameras would put me at paying between $10 to $200 more a month (which is Comcast’s max overcharge). No such problem with these.One thing I do not like, is the stock power cables. They go straight in, and prevent using the included wall mounts because you can’t bend the camera down to the proper angle. The solution for me was to purchase the LANMU power supply with cable that has the 75 degree tilt plug. Works perfectly, is weatherproof, and allows me to use the wall mounts. Also, Arlo is pretty cheap about power supplies and only gives you one or two, depending on package.https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078Z6YNTX/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01__o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1As of now for my needs, this is the best system out there – even over their new Ultra.

Overall rating 5 stars
June 15, 2019

Comment:

Was looking for a replacement camera for the logi circles that could go outside and were motion activated. A best buy rep suggested the Arlos, after a but of research decided to get the 6 pack these are mostly getting installed outside for filming hummingbirds. The motion detection is top notch, the colors are amazing and we purchased these on sale for 799. We have has them up for a little over a month and they are awesome. The best camera we have used so far and we have had the logi circle 1, 2, and Nest. The pack came with free 7 days of storage, we ended up adding an additional camera and upgraded the plan to 30 days for a very reasonable 100 per year, well worth. Do not hesitate buy these cameras you will not be disappointed.

Overall rating 5 stars
June 21, 2019

Comment:

Love the Arlo. I brought it just before my vacation because I couldn’t find an house sitter. With arlo I had peace of mind knowing that I could go live to see my propert.

Overall rating 5 stars
September 6, 2019

Comment:

I was not sure about the reception from these cameras; however, my family traveled out of town the first night the cameras were installed and the Arlo Pro 2 did not disappoint us. I am very glad we chose this brand.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 2, 2019

Comment:

We love our Arlo Pro 2. We installed it at our cabin. I can look at the stream that runs by my deck as well as the entry doors. I can watch it snow in the mountains of Tennessee while sipping wine in Florida.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 20, 2019

Comment:

Not only am I happy about the price but also the ease in which it took to get up and running. However the length of battery life is not what I would like it to be but then to my dogs are always activating the sensors . Over all they have been a good investment!!

Overall rating 5 stars
January 5, 2020

Comment:

Got this set during thanksgiving, and used for a month or so. Works great so far.

I really like the ease of setup, it only took about 10-15 minutes. The app interface is also pretty easy to survey across. Video quality is also good as a 1080p. One thing is that three of the cams only have the magnetic base, which make me feel a little bit unsafe to put those on the roof outside. Overall it is a good home security set with reasonable price.

Description
Arlo Pro 2 keeps an eye on your home while you're away, in brilliant 1080p HD quality. Put the 100% wire-free, weather-resistant camera anywhere, indoors or out. Then, power it with the included rechargeable battery or plugged it in (when indoors) to access activity zones and 24/7 Continuous Video Recording upgrades. Use 2-way audio or remotely sound a 100+ device siren while catching every moment with night vision and advanced motion detection. You'll even get motion and sound-activated alerts and 7 days of free cloud video recordings. Arlo Pro 2 works with Amazon Alexa to make your smart home security even more simple and effective.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Number Of Cameras Included 2
Network Connectivity Ethernet, Wi-Fi
Storage Type Cloud
Field Of View 130 degrees
Works With Amazon Alexa, Arlo, Google Assistant, SmartThings
Camera Power Source Battery-powered, Plug-in
Audio Communication 2-way
Minimum Operating Temperature -4 degrees fahrenheit
Camera Resolution 1920 x 1080
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor, Outdoor
Maximum Operating Temperature 113 degrees fahrenheit
Night Vision Yes
Voice Assistant Built-in No
General
Color White
Color Category White
Product Name Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System
Brand Arlo
Model Number VMS4230P-100NAS
Power
Camera Connectivity Wire-free (Battery-powered), Wireless
Camera Power Source Battery-powered, Plug-in
Camera
Image Sensor Type CMOS
Pan-Tilt-Zoom Functionality No
Number Of Cameras Included 2
Camera Resolution 1920 x 1080
Camera Iris Automatic
Field Of View 130 degrees
Night Vision Distance 25 feet
Camera Infrared Distance 25 feet
High-Definition Yes
Camera(s) Included Yes
Night Vision Yes
Camera Mount Type Wall mount
Day/Night Mode Yes
Infrared Cut Off Filter Yes
Features
Auto-On Detection Motion
Streaming Video Yes
Mobile Notifications Yes
Remote Monitoring Capabilities Yes
Audio Communication 2-way
Sensors Motion sensor, Sound sensor
Records Audio Yes
Two-Way Talk Yes
Network Connectivity Ethernet, Wi-Fi
Storage
Storage Type Cloud
Performance
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor, Outdoor
Maximum Operating Temperature 113 degrees fahrenheit
Minimum Operating Temperature -4 degrees fahrenheit
Water-Resistant Housing Yes
Maximum Operating Range 300 feet
Display
Camera Color Display Yes
Recording and Playback
Recording Modes Motion detection
Mobile Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS
Compatibility
Works With Amazon Alexa, Arlo, Google Assistant, SmartThings
Camera Compatibility Not Available
Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS, Mac, Windows
Smartphone Compatible Yes
Voice Assistant Built-in No
Included
Additional Accessories Included 2x Rechargeable batteries, Camera power adapter and power cable, Ethernet cable, 2x Wall mounts, Wall mount screw sets, Window decals, Base station with built-in Siren
Monitor Included No
Cable(s) Included Yes
DVR Included No
Connectivity
NFC Technology No
Dimension
Camera Height 2.8 inches
Camera Weight 0.3 pounds
Camera Depth 1.9 inches
Camera Width 3.1 inches
Lighting
Light(s) Included No
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 Year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 Year
Other
UPC 606449128444
The Arlo company offers users to check out VMS4230P-100NAS. The features of VMS4230P-100NAS, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left VMS4230P-100NAS reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Arlo VMS4230P-100NAS. Buy (Arlo VMS4230P-100NAS or Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System) with benefits.
My review Arlo Pro 2 2-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p Security Camera System VMS4230P-100NAS

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới