Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

C by GE C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch 48733

Overall rating 4.1 stars
4.1 from 20 reviews
C by GE
Specifications
Works With
Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Dimmable
Yes
Installation Type
Replacement
Voice Assistant Built-in
No
Switch Wiring Configuration
3-way
Indoor Or Outdoor Use
Indoor
Locator Light
Yes
Specifications
Works With:
Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Dimmable:
Yes
Installation Type:
Replacement
Voice Assistant Built-in:
No
Switch Wiring Configuration:
3-way
Indoor Or Outdoor Use:
Indoor
Locator Light:
Yes
The C by GE company offers users to check out 48733. The features of 48733, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 48733 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase C by GE 48733. Buy (C by GE 48733 or C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch) with benefits.

C by GE C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch 48733 Overview

How to Install a C by GE Smart Switch (Full Install)

How to Install a C by GE Smart Switch (Full Install)

✅Smart Light Switch: Best Smart Light Switch 2019 (Buying Guide)

✅Smart Light Switch: Best Smart Light Switch 2019 (Buying Guide)

CES: C by GE - Light the Way You Live - A Peek Into 2019

CES: C by GE - Light the Way You Live - A Peek Into 2019

C by GE How To: Set Up Your C by GE Smart Switch in App

C by GE How To: Set Up Your C by GE Smart Switch in App

How to install a smart switch

How to install a smart switch

Reviews

4.1/5
Overall rating 4.1 stars
20 reviews
5
6
4
2
3
2
2
4
1
6
Overall rating 1 stars
December 4, 2019

Comment:

This one did not turn on at all. Everything was plugged correctly. So I returned it and went to the store to buy another one. That’s when I learned of its feature failures. Indeed, it has a dimming capability. But the dim setting doesn’t work with the motion sensor. As soon as you set it and move, it immediately goes to the brightest setting which kinda defeats the purpose of dimming it. The only way it stays dim is if you never go into the room, which makes it a pointless feature. I spoke with GE customer support to see if I was missing anything and they said that they had an enhancement to the software which changed the dimming function, but joked with me that it was more of a downgrade. They did advise, however, that there is another upgrade to occur which will allow additional settings for a range of motion and preset length of time to remain on. But no mention to the dimming issue. He also said that I wasn’t the only one who has complained about this setting failure. So I’m not sure why this product is on the market if it is designed not to work with the features incorporated into the product. It’s useless.

Overall rating 1 stars
January 5, 2020

Comment:

Like most smart switches, this requires a neutral-line-load-ground to install. If you don’t know what that means, you should contact an electrician and find out what the cost to upgrade your wiring will be. But this is a standard in most smart switches.The problem is the “C by GE” app and the software behind the hardware. Annoyingly, opening the app will require you to enable Bluetooth and location services every time you open it. It wouldn’t be so bad, but you’ll be opening it all the time to troubleshoot connectivity problems. The app will lose plugs and switches regularly. This will cause Alexa to lose connectivity/control of the device. If you’re like me, you’ll start to get annoyed when Alexa tells you “I’m sorry but there’s no device by that name” fairly quickly. The “C by GE” app is your main line to trouble shoot your connection issues, but it won’t recognize “C by GE” devices outside of your phone’s Bluetooth range.Overall, I would recommend against the entire “C by GE” line of products (I’ve tried several they’re all having the same issue) until GE can get its app deployed correctly.

Overall rating 2 stars
January 10, 2020

Comment:

Idea works but the product didn’t. Upon initial setup, everything seemed to go fine. Found the switch, prompted me to upgrade firmware, configured bulb type, done. Except, switch only turned the CbyGE bulbs off and on. The dimmer buttons didn’t work at all. Ok, lets try again. Reset the switch back to factory. App would find the switch showing the MAC address but the next step would never complete saying it couldn’t communicate with switch. This same thing would happen after multiple resets to default, changing locations, etc. Garbage. Had a similar issue with the CbyGE outlet. The app found it and was able to control it but it would never sync with Google Assistant. Saying “Sync C by GE” via Assistant would only result in “Please re-link your devices”. Tried this but all that did was unlink all my CbyGE bulbs which caused me to have to reset each one back to default. If you’ve had to do this you know what a pain it is. Tried adding the linked service manually, asked for login which I did but the service never showed. Complete crap as far as outlets and switches go. The bulbs themselves connect nicely and integrate with Google without a hitch. Why couldn’t they do this with the switches and bulbs?

Overall rating 5 stars
January 13, 2020

Comment:

I was hesitant to purchase any of the C by GE switches because of the mostly negative reviews but the on/off button switch is exactly what I’ve been looking for and figured I’d take the plunge regardless of the result. I’m happy to report that the switch is greatly exceeding my expectations.First off, the switch is extremely easy to install. Simply connect the wires according to the provided wiring diagram and voila, you’re off and running. When setting up the switch with the app, I ran into some issues initially with getting the switch to connect and in keeping the switch separate from the other smart bulbs I already had in the same room. Once I figured out that I had to place them in their own rooms in the Google Home app, I was good to go.I love the illuminated ring which makes it easy to locate the switch at night. It also gives it a high-end look for a not-so-high-end cost. Considering similar smart switches are double the price, if not more, this one is a great deal.As for the functionality, the reason why I wanted this particular switch so badly is that you’re able to control non-smart bulbs using BOTH a regular on/off button AND with the Google Assistant. In addition, I wanted something that could fix my one-switch-is-always-in-the-on-position-and-it-drives-me-crazy three-way switch in our bedroom and this will do just the trick. I didn’t want any indication of a switch being on or off in the three-way, since often one or more of the switches are in the “up” position, and in my mind it doesn’t look clean. Obviously just a nit-picky thing but it is an important aesthetic for me.My wife rarely uses Google Assistant to control any devices in our home so it was imperative that she could still easily turn the lights on and off without messing them up for how I control them, or getting in the way of the automation I’ve set up. This performs each of those functions flawlessly.Time will tell if the switch holds up in terms of fit and finish. I certainly hope it does.

Overall rating 5 stars
January 16, 2020

Comment:

absolutely love the motion switch! very useful! and very easy to install as well

Overall rating 1 stars
January 27, 2020

Comment:

Update:I’m not sure what happened. Maybe there was an update to the device or skill, but this switch is trash now. It completely stopped working with Alexa at first. Then, the motion timer went out. So if the motion was triggered, the light would stay on until someone noticed and went and manually turned it off. Super frustrating to wake up at 4 am to the dang bathroom light on because the cat walked by. Thinking it was just defective, I had amazon replace it. This time, I can’t even get it to stay connected to WiFi. It drops almost immediately. During the time I was able to connect it to Alexa, it disappeared from my devices as soon as it was discovered. I finally got it to stay connected for more than 10 seconds, only to have Alexa say the server can’t be reached. In reading reviews on the c by GE skill app, this has become a problem for everyone. I’ll be returning once again. I sure hope GE sees this and fixes whatever bug ended up being installed.We recently converted our house into a smart house. I initially started out with a motion sensing switch in the master bathroom, because who wants to announce to Alexa to turn on the bathroom light?! But, despite the switch being right in front of the shower, it still went off every night during showers. And that got old quick. My husband suggested I search Amazon for a smart switch that was also a motion switch. That way, we could use it on a routine with Alexa, making sure it stayed on the entire length of showers, but still turn on when you walked in without having to make it known to the whole house you were going potty. I honestly didn’t think such a thing existed, but once again Amazon proved me wrong!This switch was very easy to install and connect. It’s set up on a nightly and morning routine I have with Alexa. And I’m happy to report there’s no more surprise dark showers! It comes on as a motion sensor perfectly as well.I did deduct one star because you can’t adjust the length of time the light stays on when it detects motion. The standard is set to 5 minutes. 5 minutes is a really long time for a light to stay on once its no longer needed. They say this feature will be available in a future update, we shall see.I don’t use the dimming feature, so I can’t speak to how well that works.All in all, this switch works perfectly and exactly what we needed!

Overall rating 2 stars
January 31, 2020

Comment:

Most of my complaints stem around the motion sensing. This is because I spent 2x the money for that feature, and the whole reason you’re looking at this page.Let’s start with the pros:+ nice looking switch. Best incorporation of dimmer, switch, & motion sensor that I’ve seen.+motion sensor is sensitive, if you’re in a space where you might be sitting still you’ll probably still trigger it by existingCons-the physical switch is absolutely pointless if you are using the motion sensor. If the sensor is on, your switch is permanently on. Unlike most, turning the switch off does not disable the motion sensing. Instead, it turns the light off with a 30 second delay before re-engaging the sensor. This precludes the switch from being a viable replacement in a living room or bedroom, where one might want no lights for a couple hours for a movie or a nap.-software has limited functionality, where it isn’t broken entirely. This is a big one, but also the one that could be fixed by software updates.1) motion sensor is locked at 5 minute on before turning off. Cannot be adjusted, something most smart switches have the ability to do. This precludes the switch from being a viable replacement for a bathroom (unless your showers are sub 5 minute)2) motion sensor has a “daytime” and a “nighttime” setting. However, daytime start seems to be locked at 8am. Making adjustments to either setting only gives you one time to adjust. Emails to tech support garnered no response.3) as stated before, no setting to deactivate the motion sensor by using the physical button. I expected it to be default to that, but an option in software would be acceptable too. Alas, nothing.Conclusion: With the sensor on, but as inflexible as it is; this switch is unsuitable for bathroom, bedroom or living room. That leaves kitchen and hallways, but most hallways have 3 way switches, leaving the kitchen.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 1, 2020

Comment:

The switches are bringing a new way of effortfully less use of Google Assistance.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 6, 2020

Comment:

i currently have 4 installed and each one turns other lights by motion, you have to set them up in the app correctly to make them work together is part of feat. you can set them up time you want the motion activated and when you don’t, one thing is there customer services returns calls an did find a solution for me have so many ge devices, the only issue i had was with google home, alexa work great, they do the job. i would like to see more options on app, like be able to unlink them from time a to time b and be able to do that with motion sensor times, i would also like for them to give the choice of the circle light for the times i want them on and off, i would like to control the time lights turn on with sensor, GE told me they are working on it and there will be a update to have those things, when will it be release who knows, but am happy with them and the customer service they provided me. having so many of them does take time to set up and program alexa to groups and rooms, after completing all am very happy i can control everything.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 15, 2020

Comment:

Installation was much easier than the last smart three way switch I installed. This switch isn’t as deep and the wires off the back can go directly inside a wire nuts already existing instead of making pigtails. The wires flex easily as apposed to 12 gauge copper wire you would use with other switches. I’m going to buy another to put inside the three gang box where I installed this one and take out the other brand smart switch I installed… The other brand is taking up a lot of room the the box and making the switch plate push out because of its size. I had the wifi and Alexa working with the switch in just a few minutes? It all appears to be a good design. I can speak highly of this 3 way toogle switch… I don’t know about the dimmer switch everybody complains about

Description
Light up your home with this C by GE C-Start smart switch. It turns lights on or off based on movement or a change in the natural light, and the C by GE app lets you create schedules to keep things lit when you're away. This C by GE C-Start smart switch works via Wi-Fi or the app for convenience.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Works With Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Dimmable Yes
Installation Type Replacement
Voice Assistant Built-in No
Switch Wiring Configuration 3-way
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor
Locator Light Yes
General
Product Name C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch
Color Category White
Model Number 48733
Color White
Brand C by GE
Power
Voltage 120 volts
Features
Locator Light Yes
Number Of Switches 1
3-Way No
Switch Wiring Configuration 3-way
Dimmable Yes
Certifications & Listings
ETL Listed Yes
Compatibility
Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS
Voice Assistant Built-in No
Installation Type Replacement
Works With Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Environmental
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor
Dimension
Product Length 2.8 inches
Product Width 1.7 inches
Product Height 1.4 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 3 Years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 3 Years
Other
UPC 043168487337
The C by GE company offers users to check out 48733. The features of 48733, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 48733 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase C by GE 48733. Buy (C by GE 48733 or C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch) with benefits.
My review C by GE C-Start Wi-Fi Smart Motion-Sensing and Dimmer Switch 48733

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới