Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera 3638C001

Overall rating 3.6 stars
3.6 from 20 reviews
Canon
Specifications
Effective Megapixels
20.1 megapixels
Wi-Fi Enabled
Yes
Image Sensor Type
CMOS
Maximum Video Frame Rate
Up to 120 fps
Additional Accessories Included
Wrist strap WS-DC12; Battery pack NB-13L; Battery charger CB-2LH; Printed matter unit
Brand
Canon
Color Category
Silver
Specifications
Effective Megapixels:
20.1 megapixels
Wi-Fi Enabled:
Yes
Image Sensor Type:
CMOS
Maximum Video Frame Rate:
Up to 120 fps
Additional Accessories Included:
Wrist strap WS-DC12; Battery pack NB-13L; Battery charger CB-2LH; Printed matter unit
Brand:
Canon
Color Category:
Silver
The Canon company offers users to check out 3638C001. The features of 3638C001, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 3638C001 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 3638C001. Buy (Canon 3638C001 or PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera) with benefits.

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera 3638C001 Overview

Canon G7X III - Hands-On Review & Vlogging Test

Canon G7X III - Hands-On Review & Vlogging Test

Canon G7X III HANDS-ON first looks - VLOGGERS rejoice!

Canon G7X III HANDS-ON first looks - VLOGGERS rejoice!

Canon G7X Mark iii Review - Watch Before You Buy

Canon G7X Mark iii Review - Watch Before You Buy

DPReview TV: Canon G5 X Mark II vs. G7 X Mark III

DPReview TV: Canon G5 X Mark II vs. G7 X Mark III

Canon G7X Mark II Review (2019) - Watch Before You Buy

Canon G7X Mark II Review (2019) - Watch Before You Buy

Reviews

3.6/5
Overall rating 3.6 stars
20 reviews
5
11
4
5
3
4
2
0
1
0
Overall rating 5 stars
December 26, 2019

Comment:

I find it very amusing that the example for a review title that the website gives me is “great camera for a beginner”, because that is exactly what this is. I wouldn’t want to use this as a professional camera, but for a casual photographer, this is probably about the best that you are going to get. The pictures are amazing (I’m kind of sad that I had to resize the photos and lose a lot of the quality in order to upload them), the different filters and settings are fun to play with. My favorite is the analog film mode (I don’t have any pictures that I took with that which don’t have my son in them and I don’t want to upload pictures of him publicly). And it works in all kinds of lighting (including practically no light, the picture of the black jacket was taken in a room with nothing but a tiny bit of light coming in from a hallway). It isn’t quite as responsive as a DSLR, but it is definitely faster than any other point and shoot camera that I’ve used.
The video quality is really good too and while the built in mic isn’t amazing, it is better than most built in mics out there (and there is an option to add an external mic, I haven’t bothered though).
The feature that I am geaking out the most about though is the built in wifi and the ability to directly upload to photo sharing/storage sites. It is a bit slow (especially compared to removing the memory card and inserting it into a card reader), but it sure is handy.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 27, 2019

Comment:

The Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark III is a high quality camera with many great features. It gives the user extreme portability while allowing for professional level photos and videos.

The camera was paired with the SanDisk Extreme Plus 128 GB UHS-I microSD card, which is ideal for 4k video due to its fast read and write speeds and for storing a large number of high resolution photos.

Features to note:
* 3″ multi angle touchscreen LCD: The touchscreen is responsive and is easy to view from any angle. I did not have any issues with hitting a wrong button. When it is flipped up or down it is firmly attached and doesn’t feel like it is going to snap off. The versatility of this screen allows the user to position the camera at angles other cameras could not while maintaining the ability to see what the camera is seeing. I think this is great because nothing is worse than recording something and finding out you or the intended object are not even in the frame! Overall, this screen is well implemented and a great feature.

* 4K video: The camera has the ability to record 4K video at 30 fps and HD video at 120 fps. It can be recorded in both horizontal (landscape) and vertical (portrait) positions. It has a multi angle touchscreen that can be flipped up 180 degrees so the user can see themselves while recording in both the horizontal or vertical orientation. Streaming is only available on YouTube and there are some additional requirements/limitations. There is the option to add an external mic to the camera in addition to the standard stereo quality mic that is included; however, the standard microphone delivers clear sound. Lastly, there is a HDMI output so videos can be played back on a large TV. These features allow the user to create high quality videos without needing to purchase a stand alone video camera. The quality of the videos are excellent, especially when recording in 4K. 4K is very power intensive/heat producing and I found recording shorter segments (a few minutes at a time) was the most efficient so the camera wouldn’t get too hot. When recording in lower resolution, the camera did not experience any overheating issues. If you are thinking about vlogging/streaming or creating home/casual videos, this camera hits the mark.

* WiFi/Bluetooth technology to transfer photos/videos: Using WiFi technology, it was straight forward to transfer files from the camera to a smart phone. I used an iPhone 11 Pro Max running IOS 13.3. You download the CameraConnect App from the Appstore and follow the onscreen instructions. It gives you the option to connect via Bluetooth or WiFi. The directions are clear and even the most novice user should be able to successfully pair the camera and phone. ***A note for connecting via WiFi – If you have an installed VPN that connects on demand, you will be unable to connect to the camera until you turn off this option in the VPN settings on.*** Within the App you can turn on/off geotagging on photos if you do not want that information available.

Please note there was a known issue with auto focus but this has been addressed by Canon with a firmware update on 12/12/2019.

Overall, this camera is excellent. It is compact in size but packed full of amazing features. It allows you to take beautiful high resolution photos with its 1 inch 20.1 MP sensor and up to 4k 30 fps videos. I believe it out-competes all smart phone cameras in both photo and video quality. It is highly competitive in its camera class. I highly recommend this camera.

Overall rating 3 stars
December 28, 2019

Comment:

The pictures on this camera really are great and that’s why it makes it hard for me to leave such a low rating. The pictures are crisp and the built in filters on the camera make shooting good shots easy. But, the autofocus on this thing does have a tendency to drive you insane.

There were times when the autofocus worked as expected. Then there were times it was noticeably slow, and then there were times it wouldn’t focus at all. Even with the great pictures this camera takes, not being able to rely on the focus makes this really hard to recommend.

This thing also shoots up to 4K video that looks amazing. The video is butter smooth and crystal clear. I could see this thing being great for shooting quick videos that don’t need a ton of editing.

Overall, I loved the great pictures and videos this camera gave me but, the below average autofocus left me wanting more.

Overall rating 3 stars
December 29, 2019

Comment:

I am coming from using a Sony a6300 and wanted to give this little camera a try as I heard that the Mark II was the camera that vloggers and YouTubers love, and I do family videos for all our trips. I began using this camera this Christmas and the image quality was good but I found myself just taking the pictures with my Sony a6300 because of the better quality. I was encouraged to hear that Canon had released a firmware update that was going to fix the autofocus issues many people complained about, and in my experience the autofocus is still worse compared to my other cameras including the iPhone. Yes, it focus on the subject but it takes a couple seconds to do so and I am just used to the immediate autofocus found on my Sony and iPhone. The only thing I loved about this camera compared to my other cameras is the in-body image stabilization. It really makes your video smooth and is gimbal-like. The flippable screen allows you to always be on the shot and get all the angles you want. Furthermore, I really liked the built-in features such as shooting stars at night. This little lens allowed me to take some really cool video that none of my other cameras allow me to do. All in all, this is an average pocket camera that can take good pictures and video in low light with amazing stabilization, however, if you are shooting difference faces and want a fast autofocus, maybe it’s not the best camera for this (at least not yet, let’s see if there is a future update).

Overall rating 4 stars
December 30, 2019

Comment:

So, I got this to try and increase my quality for my YouTube tech reviews and to possibly use on my Twitch stream for a face cam. For the most part it is a good choice, as it does a lot of things right, but as many other reviews have mentioned, there are some glaring negatives that will make a lot look elsewhere. I’m not an expert at cameras. I’m almost as run of the mill as you can get. I’ve been using my cell phone (iPhone X) to do any of my picture and video recording needs but wanted to upgrade.

The first thing you’ll want to do when you receive the camera is install the two firmware updates that have been released since the camera first came out. The first includes an improved autofocus that is substantially better but still doesn’t fully rectify the issue. The second adds a 24-fps option to video recordings. Two things that were desperately needed and should have been available at launch. The update process is relatively simple. It’s strange to me that this camera has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, but you can’t download a firmware update through that.

BUILD QUALITY/USE:

The materials on this camera are a mix of plastic and metal. Overall, it feels well built. It has a small spot for your thumb on the back right and a small hump on the front right with a matte material to help with grip but because it’s so small and light it’s not the most comfortable. Most of the time I tried to use two hands just to insure I didn’t drop it. When vlogging there is a nice area to grab even when the screen is flipped up so there shouldn’t be any problem there.

On the front of the camera you have a 20.1 MP, 1-inch sensor, 24-100 mm f/1.8-2.8 zoom lens with a control ring around the lens, which can be used to perform multiple functions such as shutter/aperture control, zoom, EV compensation, and ISO adjustment. On the front right is the small handgrip I previously mentioned. In single shot mode you can track subjects and take advantage of face detection. This works well but as you can see from other reviews, it isn’t flawless, and can leave a lot to be desired. These options don’t work with burst capture. It supports 4k 30 fps but only for 10 minutes at a time or else it will overheat. You can also do 1080p 120fps slow motion capture, but it is not as sharp as the other modes. Stabilization is good. I didn’t have any problems and it was better than my phones. When in focus, image/video quality is very good with low image noise, nice colors, and good detail. There is softness at the edges of the lens and tends to overexpose itself. Image quality and overexposure is better on this camera than on my phone.

On the top of the camera going left to right you have a power on/off button, shutter release, below the shutter release is the zoom, then a mode dial, and under the mode dial you have an EV compensation control which goes from -3 to +3. All these buttons feel solid without wobble. Some may say they are a bit tight as it can be hard to switch the modes with just your thumb.

On the rear of the camera, going left to right, top to bottom, you have a high quality (but not quite as high quality as some smart phone’s) LCD touch screen with an adjustable tilt that goes up, down, and forward for vlogging/selfies. A lock exposure (*), record video button (usually 1080p 30/60fps), a command dial that has four direction presses. On the outside of the command dial is a rotational dial that does the same thing as clicking in a direction. Up is for drive/delete, right for flash on/off/auto, down for info, and left for macro/manual focus. In the center is a q/set button. Under that you have a play button to review previously taken photos/videos on the memory card, and a menu button to adjust settings. By pressing the q-button it gives you a lot of other options to select either through touch or through using the direction buttons to further adjust your picture depending on the setting you are on.

On the right-hand side, you have a micro-HDMI, USB-C port, and Wi-Fi button. The camera has both Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. Setup is straight forward and easy. Via Bluetooth you can connect to your phone and send pictures and then upload to social media that way. You can also control the camera with that as well. Wi-Fi allows you to upload your photos to certain cloud platforms and certain social media sites. You can live stream directly to YouTube but during a live stream it does not capture the footage to your memory card. In camera charging is supported but it also comes with an external charger.

On the left you have your flash slider which pops the flash up and a 3.5 mm microphone connector.

On the bottom right, you have a battery port with the memory card holder. It supports SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory cards. Battery life for my use was great. However, it won’t last you all day shooting with a CIPA rating of 235 images.

PROS:
• Ease of use
• Everything except the auto focus just works and works well.
• Picture/video quality (at this price point and when in focus)
• Ability to manually control a lot of features.
• Wi-Fi/Bluetooth.
• Zoom
• Touch screen
• Excellent pocket camera for vlogging.
• Works well on streams (twitch) as you can passthrough without anything on the screen.
• Literally pretty much everything about the product except for price and autofocus.
• Has better quality photos/video than my iPhone when setup correctly.

CONS:
• No EVF
• Auto focus is much improved with new firmware update, but it still leaves a lot to be desired. My phone’s focus is so much better.
• Battery won’t last all day for shooting.

CONCLUSION:

This camera is packed full of features and the spec list for this price point is great. Build quality, operation, and ease of use works great except for the focus. It is a good pocket camera that is made as a point and shoot camera for noobies like me. It was easy to setup and learn. Picture/Video quality is good when it is in focus. I have very little negatives. However, the focus leaves a lot to be desired and makes me not want to use the product. As I feel like I spend more time trying to get the stupid thing to focus on what I want than I do making content. It also takes me more time because I must go back and record or take a photo of something if it is out of focus. Or skip forward when editing video to wait for it to focus. You can also miss moments waiting for the camera to focus. Yes, the picture/video quality is better than my iPhone X in all regards. I can also take photos in dark or bright environments better because the lens is better. Though not dramatically and at this price point it is a very hefty tax to pay for it. I reverted to just doing manual mode for almost everything (including focus) and my experience with that is great and has made me enjoy the camera a lot more. But doing so made me learn a lot more about cameras than I was at first expecting.

With all that said. I just don’t know if I can recommend this camera strictly due to the focus. As I think the target demographic for this camera is for individuals like me who have very limited knowledge of cameras and just want it to work. But you must fiddle with settings to get the best quality out of it which requires a learning curve. Most reviews from people who know what they are doing don’t seem too put off about the focus. Likely because they are doing manual mode in which the camera is great. For those who are more casual users and aren’t as serious about picture quality and learning new things, then I just don’t see why the camera on your cellphone wouldn’t be adequate enough and allow you to save $750.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 31, 2019

Comment:

I’ll state that this is the camera that I’ve ever owned. The only cameras that I’ve used have been on cellphones.

The Canon PowerShot G7 Mark III is definitely worthy of it’s price tag. From taking photos to capturing video, I have not ran into any issues. I’m starting out in the photography world, and this camera is doing a great job for my novice status. You have full control with all controls such as ISO, apeture, f stop, white balance, etc…

Also, to address the focusing issues that people have been talking about…With the new firmware update I can say I have not experienced any issues with the auto focus with photos or videos. With the 4k video capture the stabilization is amazing! Even if you were running the video would come out smooth.

When transferring photos I tried using the wifi and the sd card I purchased separately. Both worked great so I could edit the pictures afterwards. Only thing is with the CR3 Raw format you have to use certain photo editing software, or convert them.

I would have to say that the camera is great for beginners, and for the pro who needs an on the go camera instead of lugging around their DSLR. I will continue to use the Canon PowerShot G7 Mark III until I need a DSLR, but I don’t see the need to after using this one!

Overall rating 4 stars
January 1, 2020

Comment:

I purchased this primarily for making 4k video creation portable and easy for members of my team at work. The build quality, image quality from the optics & sensor, and physical controls are generally excellent. For those wanting to shoot video, this is one of the only advanced point-and-shoot cameras to combine full-sensor (i.e., uncropped) 4k video shooting, a microphone jack, and a flip-up screen.

The reality of using this has fallen short of my hopes. 4k video, as widely reported, causes overheating, making the 10-minute maximum clip length a moot point. Even in cool conditions, the camera shuts itself down due to overheating, even though the body of the camera is not warm to the touch. That suggests that there is inadequate heat sink to allow heat to radiate out of the device.

Auto-focus is usable, but far from perfect. No auto-focus system can read one’s mind, and a large-ish one-inch sensor means that autofocus accuracy matters more than on a smartphone, where less precise focus accuracy will still get your subject in focus due to the much greater depth of field intrinsic to tiny smartphone image sensors. This WILL recognize faces in most situations where someone is facing the camera. Be ready to switch autofocus modes and to use the touch screen to tell the camera what to focus on in trickier situations. This is pretty terrible for fast action, but it can create perfect results for portraits or anything not moving quickly. And a quick still photo is very possible in full auto face detect in many cases.

When in focus, video and photo quality are extraordinary. I have professional full-frame DSLR gear and a Panasonic LX100 II (a larger micro-four-thirds sensor). This produces better RAW files than a one-inch sensor really has any right to. In daylight, I had a hard time distinguishing files from this camera from my $3,000 DSLR, and in dim light, much detail can be mined from the raw files with surprisingly low noise.

I purchased this for real estate videos, so the slow-ish auto-focusing system that limits high-speed hunting in favor of smoother, more gradual focus shifting, is generally okay–if it will shoot long enough without overheating.

Firmware has already undergone one major update to partially address autofocus issues. I’d love to see another that follows what Sony has done: raise or eliminate the overheating threshold to allow longer and more consistent use of 4k.

The closest competitor with a mic jack and uncropped 4k is the Sony RX100 VII. But that is many hundreds of dollars more expensive, and its much longer zoom range means that it lets in less than half the light as compared to this camera at all areas of its shorter (but still very good) zoom range.

For vlogging or short 4k video clips with mostly static subjects, the quality and flexibility of having a mic jack cannot be beat.

Overall rating 5 stars
January 4, 2020

Comment:

I was hesitant about purchasing this camera due to the previous reviews, but decided to go for it after seeing that the firmware update to fix the autofocus issue had been released. No regrets at all!

Overall rating 5 stars
February 15, 2020

Comment:

Overall for what I need the camera for it’s good. After moving around some settings and installing the latest firmware for the autofocus, it’s still not as responsive as it should be.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 15, 2020

Comment:

Quality of pics spectacular! Perfect for vlogging and interviews. Didn’t need a separate mic either.

Description
Capture sharp images with this 20.1MP Canon PowerShot G7 Mark III camera. The 4K recording capability produces high-definition video, and vertical video support lets you change the orientation for playback on mobile devices. This Canon PowerShot G7 Mark III camera has an external microphone terminal that reduces sound distortion for high-quality audio. .
Details
Details
Key Specs
Effective Megapixels 20.1 megapixels
Wi-Fi Enabled Yes
Image Sensor Type CMOS
Maximum Video Frame Rate Up to 120 fps
General
Additional Accessories Included Wrist strap WS-DC12; Battery pack NB-13L; Battery charger CB-2LH; Printed matter unit
Brand Canon
Color Category Silver
Model Number 3638C001
Product Name PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera
Color Silver
Dimension
Product Depth 1.6 inches
Product Weight 0.67 pounds
Product Height 2.4 inches
Product Width 4.1 inches
Compatibility
Remote Compatible Yes
Memory Card Compatibility Secure Digital, Secure Digital Extended Capacity (SDXC), Secure Digital High Capacity (SDHC)
Display
Screen Size 3 inches
Touch Screen Yes
Varying Angle Screen Yes
Display Type LCD touch screen
Connectivity
Output(s) HDMI, USB
PictBridge Enabled Yes
NFC Enabled No
Integrated GPS No
Number Of Memory Card Slots 1
Microphone Input Yes
Included
Memory Card Included No
Camera Bag/Case Included No
Batteries Included Yes
Performance
Records Audio Yes
Water Resistant No
Shutter Speeds 1/2000 to 30 sec.; Bulb
Power
Removable Battery Yes
Rechargeable Battery Yes
Battery Model NB-13L
Number of Batteries Required 1
Feature
Integrated Flash Yes
Digital Camera Type Point and Shoot Cameras
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 Year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 Year
Imaging
In-Lens Image Stabilization Yes
Digital Zoom 4.2x
Optical Zoom 4.2x
Zoom Capability Yes
Total Megapixels 20.1 megapixels
Exposure Control
Autofocus Yes
Other
UPC 013803316070
The Canon company offers users to check out 3638C001. The features of 3638C001, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 3638C001 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 3638C001. Buy (Canon 3638C001 or PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera) with benefits.
My review Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark III 20.1-Megapixel Digital Camera 3638C001

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới