Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 4412B002

Overall rating 5 stars
5 from 8 reviews
Canon
Specifications
Minimum Focal Length
400 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility
Canon EF
Lens Type
Telephoto Prime
Maximum Aperture
2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length
400 millimeters
Product Name
EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras
Model Number
4412B002
Specifications
Minimum Focal Length:
400 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility:
Canon EF
Lens Type:
Telephoto Prime
Maximum Aperture:
2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length:
400 millimeters
Product Name:
EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras
Model Number:
4412B002
The Canon company offers users to check out 4412B002. The features of 4412B002, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 4412B002 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 4412B002. Buy (Canon 4412B002 or EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras) with benefits.

Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 4412B002 Overview

Canon EF 200-400mm F/4L IS USM telephoto lens review | 12K mega-zoom | Frankfurt Airport Spotting

Canon EF 200-400mm F/4L IS USM telephoto lens review | 12K mega-zoom | Frankfurt Airport Spotting

Canon EF 300mm F2.8L IS II USM review | Canon EOS 5D Mark IV | super telephoto lens | DUAL PIXEL RAW

Canon EF 300mm F2.8L IS II USM review | Canon EOS 5D Mark IV | super telephoto lens | DUAL PIXEL RAW

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM 'L' 'ii' lens review with samples (Full-frame and APS-C)

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM 'L' 'ii' lens review with samples (Full-frame and APS-C)

Canon 400mm f/2.8 L IS III USM first impressions

Canon 400mm f/2.8 L IS III USM first impressions

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Lens Review Sharpest Lens We Have Ever Used!!!

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Lens Review Sharpest Lens We Have Ever Used!!!

Reviews

5/5
Overall rating 5 stars
8 reviews
5
7
4
1
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating 5 stars
February 3, 2012

Comment:

A friend loaned me a 400mm f2.8 L IS USM (I) lens — the earlier version of the lens reviewed here. I loved the image quality from the lens, but the weight of the earlier lens limited the usefulness. Hand-holding and distance portraits were just too tough for any duration with the older version of this lens.This new (II) version of the lens drops several pounts of weight. Mounted on a 5d mkII, hand-holding this lens works for minutes at a time and isn’t a problem. I’m very happy with the purchase — fulfilled by Samy’s Camera in CA — a plus for those that are in WA state. I was lucky and got one from an early batch in December 2011.Pros:- Awesome image quality. Sharp over the full frame at f2.8. Non-existent distortion in all images I’ve looked at.- Can hand hold it for useful periods of time.- Extremely fast and accurate auto-focus.- Great for distance portraits and sports.- Much better lens cover design vs. older “white whale” lenses — much easier to remove and replace the lens cover. (see caveat below)- New version of lens case. Easier to move lens in and out versus older style “white whale” lens cases.- Attracts lots of attention. Good for those that want it. It attracts the ladies (!). I’m neutral on this matter.Cons:- Expensive. Make sure to pay with a credit card that offers 2%+ cash back.- New style velcro lens cover can fall off if not pulled snug with the lens facing down. Expensive to replace, so pay attention.- Attracts lots of attention. Bad for those that don’t want it.Other notes:- This lens should also be great for gigapan style work — haven’t had a chance to try this yet.- Some photo post-processing software doesn’t recognize this lens yet, and offers to correct using the wrong lens profile (eg: 400mm f5.6). Just skip these correction operations — isn’t really needed for this lens anyway.- Get a good mono-pod to go with this.- Don’t drop it … and watch your surroundings.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 3, 2013

Comment:

I have to start by saying what you already know: This lens is amazing. There is no other peer that gives you an aperture of f/2.8 at any higher focal length and weighs so little with the contrast and resolving power this lens provides. The image quality is so high that Adobe has determined that there is no need to generate a lens correction profile for this lens. So what is the catch and how are you going to monetize the investment?There are a couple of photographic subjects this lens excels at. You can get publication quality shots of anyone playing a sport. You can do this at f/2.8 down to f/5.6 before you start to lose the background cream effect. The added bonus is that at f/2.8 this lens nails sharpness and contrast with unnoticeable vignetting, so you really don’t have any reason to stop down to f/4 unless you’re going for depth of field. Those two wide aperture settings mean shooting at the minimum shutter speed of 1/1000 to capture action is relatively easy to pull off at ISO 800 or less. I recommend either screwing directly onto the monopod if you only need to aim horizontally, or using a tripod and the very affordable Manfrotto 393 gimbal head (if you don’t want to buy Really Right Stuff and Arca Swiss mount gear.)As anyone who knows how Sports Illustrated swimsuit photographs used to be shot, they did use the 400mm and 600mm focal lengths for compression effects and bokeh in their shots. They now use Hasselblad medium format cameras for the majority of their cover photos, the same as Playboy does for their centerfold photos, but the prior use for full body length shots should be considered.Nature photography is the second use. Ranging from hummingbirds at 15 feet to deer at 500 feet, this lens allows you to get low noise images at f/2.8 in low light and shutter speeds down to a legitimate workable limit of about 1/30 with Image Stabilization turned on. I added a sample photo of a finch eating some grass. I recommend a monopod with the Sirui L-10 monopod head for shots that have a shutter speed that slow and require non-horizontal aiming. (For some reason people love the Manfrotto 234 monopod head. But even though I love Manfrotto, I think the 234 is junk.) You can hold and aim this lens without a monopod and hang the lens around your shoulder with the over-sized neck strap that comes included when not in use. You will have nearly impossible success getting solid Image Stabilized shots due to motion blur below 1/60 if you try to hold and aim without the monopod. But 1/200 is a breeze to shoot while hand holding with image stabilization turned on.The catch is price. With these high end products, Canon spends whatever is necessary to develop a best-in-class product and sets the sale price post hoc to recover costs and make margins. Contrast this with the lower end equipment where a sale price is determined beforehand followed by the research & development costs and materials selection to ensure healthy margins. I have used lots of professional glass over the years and I can confirm that you do get the best when you buy this lens. And as many of us know, these lenses never depreciate in value.So how do you make money? Well, you are able to capture images that no other lens can come close to getting. Remember those Canon advertisements every month on the 15th page of National Geographic Magazine back in the 1980s and 1990s? They were very likely using this lens or the 600mm f/4L USM with a teleconverter to get those images. Every sports photograph that you will take with this lens looks like a sports illustrated cover. You can imagine that for those of us that have access to a lens of this caliber, we’re demanding top dollar for our images. The only way things could be better is if something like this was made for a Hasselblad.I should also mention that I carry a 2X Extender III everywhere with this lens so I have access to 800mm @ f/5.6 if I need it. I did test that combination on hot air balloons with and without the 2X extender. I could barely make out the detail of people standing in the basket at 800mm. However I could not make them out at 400mm. I would estimate that they were about 5 miles away. That is effectively the limit of what you can resolve with a 2X teleconverter because the people amounted to orange blobs about 4 pixels large. The point is that I couldn’t make out the people at 400mm, so there is utility to using a 2X teleconverter, despite the light being spread out over a larger area so the effective aperture becomes f/5.6. I have uploaded a picture of the case with the teleconverter. Also, I would suggest adding the Canon PL-C 52 (W II) to your order. It’s just about $100 extra, and then you’ll have a circular polarizer, which will likely be useful in certain situations you run into. It’ll kill your light by 1.6 stops, so just compensate for the 1.6 stop drop in light.If you can afford this, you’ll get beautiful pictures of whales and dolphins in the ocean, breathtaking compressed sunsets against foreground objects, and the most incredible 24 x 36 posters of your nieces and nephews playing soccer that they’ll be worthy of being posted up for sale at the entrance to Costco.And if you are in LA, you just might make the other paparazzi jealous. You can sell your latest shot of the Kardashian women with their newest husbands to US Weekly and make out the layers of makeup that they cake on their faces.

Overall rating 4 stars
December 28, 2013

Comment:

There is a learning curve associated with using a telephoto lens, and the images produced are the reward. This lens is not one that you are likely to carry around unless you are a sports or nature photographer, and using it is not like using a shorter zoom.

The joy of shooting with a dedicated telephoto lens is the quickness of autofocus, the shallow depth of field and crispness of your prints. But those who really ought to be using this lens already know all of its salient points.

Overall rating 5 stars
January 15, 2014

Comment:

This review is based off experience with the 400mm 2.8 IS II USM and the Canon 1DX cameraI bought the mark I version of this lens 2 years ago. I love(d) it and it produced amazing images for me, especially when shooting in f/4. The weight of the mark I version of this lens was a bit heavy and was a pain when holding it over your shoulder for periods of time. Aside from the weight of it, as I mentioned, the image quality was superb and unbeatable….or so I had thought. The version II 400mm goes beyond the boundaries I thought couldn’t be broken. Canon has done a fantastic job with this lens, I honestly cannot find anything to complain about, not even the price, because it is worth every single penny, and more (in my opinion). So what makes this $6,000 more expensive than the original 400mm?1) The Weight. Yes, I am sure you have read that reason in every single review out there, but seriously…the weight itself makes it worth upgrading too. I am able to handhold it, but I know most people wouldn’t do that, but if you forgot your monopod at home…it could happen, so it does help. Carrying this with a 1DX over my shoulder is effortless compared to the original 400mm with a 1DX attached.2) The Image Quality. the colors pop out so much more, the sharpness is RIDICULOUS. For those of you who own the original 400mm, or have shot with it, I get sharper images when shooting at f/2.8 than the original did when shooting with it at f/4! So you can imagine how much sweeter it is when shooting at f/4 for day time/well lit events.3) The Speed. Much quicker than the original (surprisingly).4) The accuracy. It nails focus so much better in both light and dark scenarios, nice job Canon.5) Image Stabilizer Mode 3. I have heard that most pros do not keep IS turned on. I on the other hand, LOVE IS mode 3. It works perfectly and does not activate until AFTER you press the shutter button. This means that your image when looking through the viewfinder tracking someone, will no longer give you that hiccup/shake image (which was quite annoying).6) Videography. I do not shoot video myself, but the Power Focus option makes it awesome for videography I have heard and the focus ring on this guy is by far the smoothest focus ring I have ever used, and I own numerous L series lenses.I can talk about this lens all day long, but I won’t do that I promise! :pIf you are trying to make sports/action photography a serious hobby/profession, then I would highly suggest buying this. I am a 23 year old photographer who has only been shooting for 3 years (max), and I am all about buying the best available if you know how to handle the gear and use it properly. I started with a 7D and 70-200 2.8 IS II lens, then jumped to the 400mm 2.8 IS and down the road bought numerous L series lenses. This was my latest purchase (1 month ago), and I do not regret at at all.

Overall rating 5 stars
June 25, 2014

Comment:

As expected of a lens with a street price of $11,499, the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is stunning in every respect. I offer below my review of the lens based on image quality, AF performance, handling, and user experience, plus I offer a pointer on how to pay for the lens a lot less than the street price when buying from reputable New York photo stores.Image quality: The Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is the company’s longest focal length with a fixed 2.8 aperture, so it is natural that Canon will pull out all the stops to get it right. This lens, along with the Canon 300 f/2.8 IS II USM, has somewhat of a halo effect even within the big white line. My experience after less than 1 month of use is that sharpness, contrast and color tone are absolutely excellent at all apertures even with the 1.4x II extender. In practical use there is no observable light falloff, even wide open, with or without the TC. I haven’t tested it with the 2x TC. The out of focus rendition or bokeh is silky smooth with rounded specular highlights due to the 9-blade diaphragm, even with the TC in place. The OOF rendition is very special and different than that of any other lens I own, which includes a small arsenal of L lenses. The bokeh produced by the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is enough to justify the price of admission over lesser products. But, as they say on TV, there is more.AF performance: Fast and snappy when paired with the 5D mk iii, as tested. A small amount of hunting was observed when fitted with the 1.4x II; AF performance with the 1.4x III does not appear to be better than the 1.4x II. Based on the reviews (not my own testing), the 1Dx ought to extract an extra bit of performance out of the lens, especially in relation to focus tracking accuracy, due to its higher supply voltage and smarter electronics. A firmware update was released in 2012 which reputedly improves AF accuracy when shooting in AF servo mode. If you buy the lens used, make sure to ask Canon to check whether your lens has the current firmware. Only Canon can update the firmware, and they will do it at no cost to the user.Weight: Canon took several steps to reduce the weight of the lens by 28% (~3.5 lb) relative to version I. The lens makes extensive use of magnesium in the body shell, selective use of titanium, advanced plastics (in the included hood, for example), and removal of the old meniscus front element. For photographers moving up and down the sideline (as is my case) the weight reduction is a godsend. Shooting handheld is possible with this lens but in my experience the results are not always optimal, IS notwithstanding. The carrying strap is a necessity to move around when the lens is not mounted on a monopod or tripod; the strap is padded and feels comfortable overall, though it tends to get tangled up with the camera strap and the lens’ handle.Usage: If you are shooting this lens professionally in newsworthy environments (like, for example, the ongoing Soccer World Cup where the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is a dime-a-dozen) nobody will care much for it. Your only concern at that point is theft, for which I strongly recommend making a habit of using the Kensington-type wire security lock built into the tripod ring, plus buying full insurance for the lens (about $90/yr. in my case). If, however, you are using this lens like I do in non-professional settings, you will draw a lot of attention. And I mean, A LOT of attention. If you are the social type (or need a date) you will feel right at home. This aspect of the lens doesn’t affect me one way or the other, but be prepared to be approached by people with self-confessed “lens envy” or be accused by some random guy (as I was) of trying to “compensate for inadequacies”. Just too funny. When some guy saw me with the lens, he yelled from 20 yards out “Sports Illustrated” while his friend was humming out loud the ESPN Sports Center jingle! Whatever! To reiterate, insurance will give you peace of mind in the face of illicit attention. Besides the social type of attention, the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM does require significant attention in terms of good technique to obtain optimal sharpness, careful handling due to the weight and size (I almost dropped it when fumbling with a TC!), and careful attention to depth of field. At a subject distance of 3m, the DOF is only 8 mm at f/2.8!Workflow: Processing images in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom v.5, my workflow for the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is different relative to other lenses. For the same camera settings, I find myself needing less correction for color, contrast, sharpness, etc. than with my other lenses. Images are essentially perfect out of the camera. Your mileage may vary.Carrying case: The hard case included with the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is as beautiful as it is expensive and useless. A soft backpack is much more practical for safely transporting this lens around. I purchased the Tamrac 5793 Super Telephoto Lens Backpack, which works fine.Price: Yes, the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is expensive, but it is not overpriced. If you are a busy professional, paying this much for a lens is part of the cost of doing business. However, the $11,499 price tag does not appear to be cast in stone. I was pleasantly surprised when one of the reputable photo stores in New York quoted me a price 8% below street price. If you want this lens, make sure to get a written quote before buying it, rather than using the click to buy option.Summary: The Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM is an absolute joy to experience and own. If you are a professional photographer shooting sports, wildlife, news, and even portraits, this lens will get the job done. As far as the photo enthusiast is concerned, if you can afford it, you cannot possibly go wrong with this lens. Other options which I considered are the Canon 200-400 f/4 EXT and the Canon 300 f/2.8 IS II USM, the former costing essentially the same and the latter costing about 60% as much as the 400. In the end, the Canon 400 f/2.8 IS II USM was the right choice for me. The combination of 400mm focal length and 2.8 maximum aperture are just addictive!

Overall rating 5 stars
February 19, 2015

Comment:

Definitely professional grade photo’s with the use of this lens. Very easy to use, highest quality glass on the market.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 4, 2015

Comment:

Great lens, but I had to sell my wife and kids into slavery in order to buy it. Also just be aware that the autofocus sometimes searches for focus and its not always that sharp, but Id say its worth the price.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 26, 2018

Comment:

Super sharp and great even with extenders.

Description
Capture distant subjects in striking clarity with this Canon EF 4412B002 IS II USM super telephoto lens, which features a 400mm focal length that is ideal for nature and wildlife photography. The inner focusing system delivers crisp images.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Minimum Focal Length 400 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility Canon EF
Lens Type Telephoto Prime
Maximum Aperture 2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length 400 millimeters
General
Product Name EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras
Model Number 4412B002
Color White
Color Category White
Additional Accessories Included Lens dust cap (E) and lens cap (E-180D), Lens hood (ET-155), lens case (400C), lens strap, case strap, monopod mount, Gel filter holder
Brand Canon
Dimension
Product Weight 135.84 pounds
Additional Dimension
Product Diameter 6.4 inches
Product Length with Lens Closed 13.5 inches
Compatibility
Lens Series Canon USM
Brand Compatibility Canon
Camera Model Family Canon 1DX, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 5DS/5DS R, Canon 60D, Canon 6D, Canon 70D, Canon 7D Mark II, Canon SL1, Canon T2i, Canon T3, Canon T3i, Canon T4i, Canon T5, Canon T5i, Canon T6i, Canon T6s
Performance
Filter Diameter 52 millimeters
Water Resistant Yes
Feature
Minimum Focus Distance 106.8 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 year limited
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 year limited
Imaging
Auto/Manual Focus Manual
In-Lens Image Stabilization Yes
Field Of View 6 degrees
Silent Focus No
Exposure Control
Minimum Aperture 32 f/
Constant Aperture Yes
Other
Tripod/Monopod Mountable No
UPC 013803122176
The Canon company offers users to check out 4412B002. The features of 4412B002, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 4412B002 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 4412B002. Buy (Canon 4412B002 or EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras) with benefits.
My review Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 4412B002

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới