Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 5124B002

Overall rating 5 stars
5 from 19 reviews
Canon
Specifications
Minimum Focal Length
500 millimeters
Maximum Aperture
4 f/
Lens Type
Telephoto Prime
Maximum Focal Length
500 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility
Canon EF
Color
White
Color Category
White
Specifications
Minimum Focal Length:
500 millimeters
Maximum Aperture:
4 f/
Lens Type:
Telephoto Prime
Maximum Focal Length:
500 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility:
Canon EF
Color:
White
Color Category:
White
The Canon company offers users to check out 5124B002. The features of 5124B002, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 5124B002 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 5124B002. Buy (Canon 5124B002 or EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras) with benefits.

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 5124B002 Overview

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM | 9000$ | SUPER TELEPHOTO LENS | WILDLIFE | english review

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM | 9000$ | SUPER TELEPHOTO LENS | WILDLIFE | english review

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM Lens Review

Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM Lens Review

Canon EF 200-400mm F/4L IS USM telephoto lens review | 12K mega-zoom | Frankfurt Airport Spotting

Canon EF 200-400mm F/4L IS USM telephoto lens review | 12K mega-zoom | Frankfurt Airport Spotting

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM 'L' 'ii' lens review with samples (Full-frame and APS-C)

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM 'L' 'ii' lens review with samples (Full-frame and APS-C)

Canon 300mm f/4L USM Review - Best Tele For Your Money?

Canon 300mm f/4L USM Review - Best Tele For Your Money?

Reviews

5/5
Overall rating 5 stars
19 reviews
5
16
4
1
3
1
2
0
1
1
Overall rating 5 stars
December 29, 2015

Comment:

What can be said that hasn’t already been said about this lens? The Canon 500mm F/4L IS USM lens is without a doubt one of the sharpest, fastest prime lenses of this size in market. With very fast auto focus, and tack sharp at all f-stops, this is the perfect wildlife and birding lens.This very large, but surprisingly lightish lens is only 2 lbs more than my 300mm mk 2.8L mk I lens. For such a large lens it’s not too hard to handhold.The Super Spectra Coating pretty much eliminates ghosting and chromatic aberration with this lens. So far I’ve had a hard time spotting any at all in my shots. When I first shot with this lens I was amazed at the amount of light it could gather, even in low light. So it wasn’t a surprise after using the Canon EF 1.4 and 2.0 tele-extender, that the pictures are still sharp, and the auto focus is still very fast, more so with the 1.4 TC which it’s hard to tell the difference from not using it.I don’t use the IS (Image stabilization) as much as some would, just because 90% of my photographs are done on a tripod and gimbal head, but what I do like about it is how it can detect when your lens is on a tripod. Not sure how it’s done, but it’s nice to know, if you forget to turn off the IS, your image won’t suffer for it.As with all the Canon “White L” lenses, the 500mm mk II comes with a very nice carrying case, which doesn’t work very well out in the field, but protects the lens on trips. It also comes with a leather like hood cover, that’s designed to fit over the front of the hood to protect the now lightweight hood. I wish Canon would come out with a lens cap for these big lenses. IOne thing that is driving me nuts, and it’s not really the fault of the lens, but because the lens is so relatively light weight, when I add my 7D mk II to the lens, and add both of them to my Wimberley gimbal, it tends to be a bit back heavy. I’m using a long quick release plate, but I still haven’t been able to solve this issue.For birding it’s a dream to use, the very fast autofocus, and tack sharp images, I just don’t have many cons for this lens. The price is really the only con that I have for it, and it’s a huge issue. Canon just has to find a way to lower the prices for their lenses, or they will lose a ton of customers that are now shooting with the cheaper, albeit lower quality lens like the Sigma and Tamron 150-500mm lenses.Now I know that those lenses can’t even come close to the sharpness and auto focus of the Canon L lenses, but at 1/10th the cost they may not have to.PROs: Fast auto focus, very sharp, lighter weight, advanced opticsCONs: Very expensive

Overall rating 5 stars
January 31, 2016

Comment:

Not much to add that other reviewers have not mentioned. The lens is extremely sharp and significantly lighter than the previous version. I recently switched from Nikon to Canon and two features that really stand out on this lens are:1) The ability to set the focus limiter to focus only on objects within 12′ to 33′ of the lens which is great for small birds up close.2) indent stops lens collar every 90 degrees which makes switching between landscape and vertical much faster.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 1, 2016

Comment:

I’ve only had this for a few weeks. It never fails to astound me with its sharpness, and ease of handling. I previously owned the 500 version I, and enjoyed using that lens. This one, being lighter, is amazing. I’m glad I was able to get the 500 back in my bag, and very pleased with all the new refinements of this lens.

Overall rating 3 stars
September 2, 2016

Comment:

I know that it is shocking that I have given this Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Lens only three stars, but I am rating the lens I received. As is discussed below the lens was flawed and I have returned it. I am posting this review to highlight the fact that even this highly praised lens can have it’s issues and you need to check the copy you receive very carefully. I don’t know if it left the factory like this or was dropped in transit, my guess would be the latter.Like most people considering spending $9000 on a single lens, I first spent a long time reading reviews and lab reports on the technical qualities of this lens in terms of sharpness, color and contrast and trading off the 500mm vs. the 600mm. I read testimonials and watched videos on the human factors of practical usage of a lens of this physical size. Finally I concluded that I needed a super-telephoto to move my photography to the next level and was convinced that the 500mm lens size would be manageable for me, even though I am 65. And then the lens arrived ……Regardless of how well you think you have prepared yourself, if this is your first super telephoto lens, when you open the case for the first time “you gasp”. This lens is huge! Fortunately as you start using the lens you become more comfortable with it and it seems to shrink in size. Mounting to a sturdy tripod is fairly easy and it can be shot hand-held effectively for a short period. However, I take issue with some people who have said that it is the perfect hiking lens. If you are going to hike more than 0.5 mile with this lens you will probably do so with it in a backpack as it is awkward to carry.I shoot a lot of birds-in-flight (BIF) with a focus on hummingbirds. When the lens arrived I attached a Canon 5DSR, and a high speed flash, and mounted the combination on a heavy Induro AT413 tripod using a sturdy gimbal mount and set about getting some hummingbird in flight shots. As I started getting good captures I noticed that the pictures were indeed sharp, but not spectacular, and not any sharper than I had been getting with my Canon EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Lens at 400mm, which had been my primary lens for this purpose. Certainly the image sharpness was not what you would expect from a prime lens of this quality. So, it was time to stop taking adhoc pictures and set up a rigorous testing plan for the lens.The first thing I did was perform a focus test using a commercial focus chart. The lens focused cleanly on the zero point but the far “1” was a little fuzzier than the near “1”. So maybe a little front focus, but not enough to bother correcting.For the sharpness test subject I selected a house across the valley from my house about 300 yds. away. The house’s chimney was constructed with T-111 siding providing crisp vertical lines and the occasional knot to examine. The roof was tiled, which provided repeating sinusoidal lines formed by the ends of the tiles. In back of the house was an orchard of apple trees visible over the roof. The trees were loaded with large red apples surrounded by leaves which made for a challenging auto-focusing environment.To test sharpness I did a comparison of the new Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Prime Lens with my Canon EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Zoom Lens at 400mm. To eliminate camera unique issues I did the testing using both my 5DSR and also my 5D Mk III. All photos were obtained while tripod mounted, in good light, at ISO200 and using a 2 sec shutter delay to eliminate vibration. Auto focus shots were made using only the center focus point to allow precise selection of the area to be focused on. The 300 Yd. distance provided a minimum 240 ft. DOF at f/4.5 so regardless of the selected focus point the entire scene should be in good focus if the lens focused properly. However, all images were compared only at the selected focus point used in each series.I took hundreds of photos using various combinations of focus point, manual focus, auto focus, with mirror lockup, and soft shutter. Each image was taken four times using both lenses on both cameras. Apertures ranged from f/4.5 (lowest common) to f/14. Manual focus was performed in live-view mode using 10x magnification on both cameras. Images taken with the 500mm Prime were viewed at 100% side by side with images from the zoom lens taken at 400mm viewed at 120%. All images were resized to a common 400ppi to aid in comparisons but no other image processing was performed.Results were mixed and often counterintuitive. When using manual focus, the 500mm Prime was a little sharper on both cameras 66% of the time. However, when using manual focus along with mirror lockup, fewer than half of this population of photos were sharper with the 500mm lens. When using auto-focus with the 5DSR, the 500mm Prime was slightly sharper only 50% of the time. When using auto-focus with the 5D MkIII the 100-400mm Zoom lens produced sharper images 80% of the time over the entire population of auto-focus images taken with that camera. When using auto-focus along with mirror lockup on the 5D MkIII the 100-400mm zoom produced sharper images 55% of the time. At no time in any of the image comparisons did the 500mm Prime produce an image that was “significantly” sharper than the Zoom lens. In the majority of the cases it was very difficult to determine which lens had produced the better image in each round of testing. During auto-focus testing the 500mm Prime produced a higher number of “focus misses” where the achieved focus was significantly off. This occurred more often with the 5DSR than with the 5D MkIII.Conclusions. I gave the Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Prime Lens 3 stars (Instead of 1 star) because it was quite sharp and at f/4.0 was capable of decent pictures in low light. However, this is a $9000 super-telephoto Prime lens and it produced sharpness and focusing accuracy at best on par with that available from my Canon EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Zoom Lens. A properly functioning Prime lens should always produce noticeably sharper images than is capable from a similar zoom lens. I concluded that the copy of the Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Prime Lens that I received was either a very soft copy or was damaged in transit. I have returned it for a refund. I still want a super-telephoto lens in my inventory, so I will reorder it again once I receive my refund for the returned lens. I will update my review of the Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Lens once I receive the new copy. I am anticipating (hoping for) spectacular results from the new copy more in-line with other published test results.

Overall rating 1 stars
December 26, 2017

Comment:

This lens is truly fantastic and well worth the time it took to save up for it.Note: I would not recommend ordering this item from Amazon/Adorama.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 18, 2018

Comment:

Excellent professional lens. Take the best photos at distance.

Overall rating 5 stars
June 19, 2019

Comment:

Got this using BestBuys 0% interest over 3 years… this is a phenomenal lens

Overall rating 4 stars
July 15, 2019

Comment:

This is a great piece of glass. I shot it on a Sony A7R III with a metabones IV adaptor and:- sharpness is incredible.- auto-focus is good (it would be great on a Canon body)- IS works beautifully- It’s light…ish. (I’ve also shot with the back-breaking I version, this one is so much easier to hand-hold! Although, you’ll definitely want at least a monopod for extended shooting.)- works great with the Canon 1.4X extender which turns it into a 700mm f/5.6.So, what’s the problem then?It’s probably about to be replaced with a III version that will be significantly lighter. I’d recommend a couple of strategies to deal with this:- wait for the III and buy it- wait for the III to be released and buy a used II for cheap- buy the 400/2.8 IIIWhy that last option? Well, the 400/2.8 is a few thousand dollars more but it is, shockingly, LIGHTER than the 500/4 II! You also get shutter speeds that are twice as fast. You can throw a 1.4X on it and get a 560mm f/4.0…which in theory will be almost as good as this lens. You also have the option of throwing on a 2X and getting a 800mm f/5.6!

Overall rating 5 stars
September 4, 2019

Comment:

I haven’t bought this lens yet….I find it economically better to rent it from lensrentals than outright buying it. But I wanted to write this review with a picture taken with this lens on a 5D Mark IV body. See for yourself what this lens is capable of. This image was taken handheld from a boat on a river….That should tell you about the sharpness and image stabilization quality of this lens….

Description
Designed for use with most Canon EOS SLR cameras, this Canon EF 5124B002 500mm IS II USM super telephoto lens features 3 image stabilization modes to minimize camera shake. Magnesium and titanium construction offers a lightweight design.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Minimum Focal Length 500 millimeters
Maximum Aperture 4 f/
Lens Type Telephoto Prime
Maximum Focal Length 500 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility Canon EF
General
Color White
Color Category White
Product Name EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras
Model Number 5124B002
Brand Canon
Dimension
Product Weight 7 pounds
Additional Dimension
Product Length with Lens Closed 15.1 inches
Product Diameter 5.7 inches
Compatibility
Brand Compatibility Canon
Camera Model Family Canon 1DX, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 5DS/5DS R, Canon 60D, Canon 6D, Canon 70D, Canon 7D Mark II, Canon SL1, Canon T2i, Canon T3, Canon T3i, Canon T4i, Canon T5, Canon T5i, Canon T6i, Canon T6s
Lens Series Canon USM
Performance
Filter Diameter 52 millimeters
Water Resistant Yes
Feature
Minimum Focus Distance 145.2 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 year limited
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 year limited
Imaging
Silent Focus No
Auto/Manual Focus Automatic/manual
In-Lens Image Stabilization Yes
Field Of View 5 degrees
Exposure Control
Minimum Aperture 32 f/
Other
Tripod/Monopod Mountable No
UPC 013803134124
The Canon company offers users to check out 5124B002. The features of 5124B002, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 5124B002 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Canon 5124B002. Buy (Canon 5124B002 or EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras) with benefits.
My review Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM Super Telephoto Lens for Most Canon EOS SLR Cameras 5124B002

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới