Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope 21064

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 20 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Product Name
AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope
Brand
Celestron
Color Category
Black
Model Number
90EQ
Product Weight
27 pounds
Objective Lens Diameter
90 millimeters
Tripod Included
Yes
Specifications
Product Name:
AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope
Brand:
Celestron
Color Category:
Black
Model Number:
90EQ
Product Weight:
27 pounds
Objective Lens Diameter:
90 millimeters
Tripod Included:
Yes
The Celestron company offers users to check out 21064. The features of 21064, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 21064 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 21064. Buy (Celestron 21064 or AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope) with benefits.

Celestron AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope 21064 Overview

Celestron Astromaster 90EQ Unboxing

Celestron Astromaster 90EQ Unboxing

Best Beginner Telescope for Under $200

Best Beginner Telescope for Under $200

Celestron Astromaster 70AZ Telescope Review 2018

Celestron Astromaster 70AZ Telescope Review 2018

Celestron AstroMaster 90AZ Telescope Review 2018

Celestron AstroMaster 90AZ Telescope Review 2018

celestron Astromaster 90EQ alignment

celestron Astromaster 90EQ alignment

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
20 reviews
5
6
4
6
3
3
2
1
1
4
Overall rating 4 stars
June 21, 2018

Comment:

First of all, note that this is not a classic Newtonian reflector. It’s a Bird-Jones reflector which uses a spherical mirror instead of a parabolic one and it has a corrector+2x barlow under the focus tube. That being said, it is inherently hard to collimate with lasers but its design allows it to be this compact. It would be almost twice as long if it’s a classic Newtonian.The image quality is quite great and be sure to collimate well before using it.Collimation can only be done with collimation caps, but the one from Celestron can’t fit into the eyepiece (too long and will hit the corrector lens in the focuser.) A shorter one from other brands is recommended.The mount weighs only about 6lb. Super light but not sturdy enough. You may have to add some weights to it.The counter weight is not heavy enough if you add any accessories to the OTA. I would have my counter weights all the way down to the stopper.The scope is impossible to balance in declination as the plastic pad writes “Celestron” limits the travel of the rings that holds the OTA. Solution? Saw it off. (or put a heavier finderscope in the front)But this is still very good value! It’s so compact and light that anyone can physically carry it out.What can you see:-Moon in detail-Jupiter with color bands & its four moons-Saturn with rings. Cassini division not resolvable-Mars as featureless small discs-Venus as featureless small discs-Nebulae as little smoke smudges-Some double stars

Overall rating 3 stars
July 24, 2018

Comment:

Pretty decent telescope. Not as powerful as I thought it was going to be, but I did manage to see Jupiter and a couple of its moons in slight detail. The whole tracking thing to compensate for earth’s constant movement kinda threw me off. Never did figure that out…

Overall rating 1 stars
August 20, 2018

Comment:

The first thing that I noticed after unwrapping the package and assembling was that the components the telescope base was made out of we’re incredibly cheap which is almost to be expected when you pay under $200 for a telescope however, I put that aside and thought that even though the stand and the adjustments for a for moving the telescope might be cheap the Optics may not be. once I got it assembled I was extremely disappointed, even on the highest power of magnifying it still seems underpowered for the size not only that but it also was impossible to focus.still giving the product the benefit of the doubt I tried looking at other objects in the night sky, which inevitably turned out to be useless because if you could get the object into unfocused veiw it would slowly drift away (I know the earth rotates) because of the cheap adjustment parts that makeup the stand would not tighten enough to keep in place. Also the “fine” adjustment knobs and screw are really poorly made and when you try to make small adjustments they are unrefined and more jaring then hellfull, myself and others found that muscling the telescope in the direction you want was much more useful. All in all if you want a 40 lb scope with the veiwing power and Clarity of a $30 pair of binoculars then go ahead and buy this.

Overall rating 1 stars
August 26, 2018

Comment:

Have been trying for 2 months to get the scope to work. The laser star finder does not adjust sufficiently and goes through batteries daily. Even when I line the scope up manually, it is not collimated. I have had master astronomers try to get this to work and despite their attempts it is now only an attractive paperweight since all of the efforts have resulted in me missing the return window. Depressing and financially wasted effort.

Overall rating 1 stars
September 8, 2018

Comment:

The Celestron AstroMaster 90EQ telescope came well-packaged and was extremely easy to assemble. I had it put together in under 20 minutes, and was impressed with the overall fitment. Aesthetically, however, the telescope had some disappointing issues – especially considering the price paid. Notably, the two iron counterweights were covered in surface rust, and glue used in assembly was not cleaned off properly which left a fairly noticeable mark on the tube. Perfection is one thing, but this seemed very sloppy. It’s my son’s birthday, so I can live with a glue stain and eventually spray paint the weights – but Celestron dropped the ball on the quality control.Update: Took it outside to stargaze, and the lateral adjustment lock was siezed. Couldn’t move it. Perhaps this was a rare case, but I am not impressed. Rusty parts, sloppy production, and siezed adjustments – nope, nope, nope.

Overall rating 2 stars
March 12, 2019

Comment:

I’m writing this detailed review as an adult beginner who is getting back into astronomy from the comfort of my light polluted suburban backyard. I assume that many of those that are looking at this telescope are also beginners and are looking for an affordable, but serious entry into astronomy/first telescope. Once setup, this telescope potentially fits the bill and will very likely pique your interest in astronomy, prompting you to fully immerse yourself into this hobby (and spending additional dollars). I’ve owned this telescope for all of one month and in this short time, I have accumulated nearly $500 worth of quality eyepieces and will be picking up a huge telescope with a 10″ mirror to get the most out of those pricey lenses. I’ll still use this scope, but I’ll be making a new mount for it. What this should tell you is that if you’re the type that gets obsessive and invested in your hobbies, you really might be better off starting with a better and bigger telescope. The Astromaster 130EQ is a decent telescope with decent optics, but it carries a number of severe limitations; I will go into the details of each.OVERVIEW:This is a Newtonian reflector type telescope with a primary mirror size of 130mm, or about 5″. The primary mirror is an important part of the telescope that determines how much light from the cosmos it can gather and direct to your eye through the eyepiece. The 5″ mirror in this telescope is considered smaller by telescope standards and it will limit how faint of an object in space that you can see. It will also limit how detailed of a view to expect. This telescope uses an equatorial mount which is daunting for beginners to use, as it pivots and rotates off axis in order to track stars’ rotation, as opposed to simply rotating left and right and up and down from a central axis. It’s good for an amateur astronomer to understand how to setup and use an equatorial mount, but there are some glaring deficiencies with the mount that come with this package. The equatorial mount will cause many beginners to ditch it or give up the hobby due to how frustrating it is.VIEW EXPECTATIONS:With the included eyepieces only, views of the moon will be great. You will see many more stars than you could see with your naked eye. You will see Jupiter as a pale larger dot with 4 bright points of light, which are its moons. With Saturn, you will see a larger dot and the oblong shape of its rings…but you will not be able to see the split in the middle (Cassini division). Mars will just look like a solid red pinpoint. Nebulas will look like faint wisps. Better quality eyepieces will NEED to be bought to see any details of planets, galaxies, and star clusters and achieve higher magnifications. If you buy a good barlow and good eyepieces, you will be able to see so much more, such as the banding on jupiter, and tiny clusters of stars. Having good eyepieces makes this telescope so much more enjoyable to use.ACCESSORIES:The 10mm and 20mm eyepieces this telescope comes with are extremely poor quality and you must put your eye uncomfortably close to the eyepiece in order to see anything. Wear glasses? Forget it. The optical clarity of the included eyepieces is really bad and most things will look a little “fuzzy”. You will need to buy better eyepieces. I strongly recommend the Celestron 8-24mm adjustable zoom eyepiece which is a great all-in-one. The fundamental way to understand how eyepieces work is to understand that the eyepiece determines your magnification. The Astromaster 130EQ has a focal length of 650mm. If you use the 10mm eyepiece, then you will achieve 65X magnification. Focal length 650mm divided by 10mm eyepiece = 65 magnification. Therefore, using the same logic, the 20mm eyepiece results in 650mm/20mm = 32.5X magnification. If you buy a higher quality zoom eyepiece like the one I mentioned, it will give you a range from 8mm (81.25X mag) through 24mm (27X mag). If you buy a “helper” eyepiece called a barlow, it can double the magnification of any eyepieces you have. Commonly, people buy 2X barlows. If you were to only get a 2X barlow and an 8-24 zoom eyepiece, you’d have magnifications of 27X-81.25X (zoom ep) and 54X-162.5X (zoom ep + 2x barlow) right at your fingertips. That’s about as high magnification as you want to go with this telescope, as this telescope will max out around 180X usable magnification due to the smaller size of the primary mirror and the conditions of the atmosphere impacting how well things can be seen from the ground. This telescope also comes with a red dot finder scope that will help you aim it at objects. I found it easy to use once I tightened the screws holding it to the telescope and calibrated it. Read the instructions on how to calibrate the finder, it’s not hard to set up.MOUNT:The mount is simply bad and suffers from excessive vibrations that take many seconds to stabilize before you can see an image in the eyepiece that isn’t shaking. Any and all adjustments you make with this mount will result in needing many seconds waiting for your view to stop shaking excessively. The fine adjustment controls on the mount are inconsistent, where adjustments can feel excessively grainy, or like the controls aren’t engaging at all… until they suddenly do. It may adjust smoothly in one direction, but not the other. One of the adjustments uses a metal on metal screw that eats into the mount, resulting in the mount cannibalizing itself and wearing out and becoming more inconsistent over time. I wind up hand rotating the tube and locking each axis since the fine adjustment controls do not work properly. This by far is the weakest part of the telescope and the one that risks losing potential amateur astronomers. I strongly recommend looking at telescopes with a simple, easy to use “dobsonian” mount instead.OVERALL:If you really want to enjoy this telescope for a long time, you will need to buy decent eyepieces at minimum. A zoom eyepiece and 2x barlow (~$90) is the minimum I’d recommend. A screw on 25% moon filter is also recommended (~$20) to improve moon viewing. This telescope is not forgiving of inexpensive, cheaply made eyepieces, so don’t even think about those packages that offer a half dozen eyepieces and assorted filters for $100. Once you have decent eyepieces to use, you will need to learn how to work around the poor mount so you can reliably and steadily point the telescope at objects. If you really want to get into astronomy as a beginner on a budget, I’d recommend getting a telescope with a dobsonian mount, such as an Orion Skyquest XT6 6″, or Apertura AD6 6″. While the actual telescope on the Astromaster 130 is good, everything else in the package (mount, eyepieces) is bad. I don’t necessarily regret purchasing this telescope, since it kicked my interest into astronomy into high gear, I only wish I was better informed before I bought it.

Overall rating 3 stars
April 27, 2019

Comment:

Good build quality. Good optics and features and really easy to use. The laser finder isn’t very good about shutting itself off or even indicating it’s running but that’s my fault. The problem is that this is just a “regular telescope” so don’t expect to see the most amazing things in the sky. I saw Jupiter, our largest planet and about all I could make out was that it was a perfectly spherical white dot instead of a randomly “star-burst” shaped white dot. You can’t actually see any details, just dots…just like every telescope I’ve ever looked through save for the giant domes back in high school field trips.Where this telescope has fascinated everybody, that’s looked through it, is its marvelous views of the moon. Not much more than that is really visible but this is probably due to me being near light pollution or thick atmosphere…etc. I viewed in the hills of Maryland, about 20 miles away from the nearest streetlight and blocked by mountains out in the blackness…best I could get. The sky looked clear but I could not see the milky way with the naked eye, nor could I make out more than perhaps 3 levels of star brightness. In Utah and Florida, I could see all that without a telescope so in those regions it might be better.It’s worth getting for kids and anybody who likes looking up…it’s just not “oh wow”.

Overall rating 1 stars
August 10, 2019

Comment:

This has to be the worst telescope ever created. I couldn’t even get a decent view of the moon!

Overall rating 4 stars
September 7, 2019

Comment:

My daughter actually put this together because she couldn’t wait to use it. I had to help with some of the adjusters, etc, but she’s 12 and it didn’t take her very long at all. Maybe 30 minutes. As for the scope, I’m brand new to this and there’s definitely a learning curve, but I’m patient. Using the adjusters takes a little getting used to, but it’s getting easier. The reward for finding something in the sky is a huge plus for me so I decided not to go with the motorized version. The collomation was off so I’m learning how to adjust that. My two attempts doing it manually weren’t quite as successful as I wanted, so I went ahead and got the laser collimator on order. Overall I am very happy with the telescope. Tonight we were finally able to view the moon and it’s defining craters and a nice image of Saturn and it’s rings. Don’t expect the big, colorful version, but you can definitely see the outline of the planet and its rings. If you’re new like me, find a link on Youtube that teaches you to balance the scope. You’ll also want to be sure the tripod is level. It’s pretty solid, although I was a little worried it might topple over with how heavy the weights are but there haven’t been any issues at all.

Overall rating 4 stars
January 27, 2020

Comment:

I got this as a present for my grandson for Xmas in 2018. His dad got it assembled fairly easily and had it ready for some viewing that night. Of course then the clouds came in and we had to put it off. I would have wished for a motor drive and computer control but that would have pushed the cost a bit out of reach. For a first scope this is a good one. It’s the same brand as my 8″ so I was pretty confident about the quality. I also got an eyepiece set with it and they seems happy with it overall.

Description
The AstroMaster Series produce bright, clear images of the Moon and planets. It is easy to see the moons of Jupiter and the rings of Saturn with every one of these fine instruments. For views of the brighter deep space objects like galaxies and nebulae, we recommend the larger aperture and light gathering ability of the Newtonian reflectors.
Details
Details
General
Product Name AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope
Brand Celestron
Color Category Black
Model Number 90EQ
Dimension
Product Weight 27 pounds
Additional Dimension
Objective Lens Diameter 90 millimeters
Included
Tripod Included Yes
USB Cable Included No
Case Included No
Eyepieces Included 10mm & 20mm
Performance
Water Resistant No
Power
Battery Size Other
Feature
Optical Design Refractor
Indicator Light(s) No
Magnification Type Variable
Tripod Mountable Yes
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 2 Year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 2 Year
Imaging
Magnification 100 times
Exposure Control
Focal Length 1000 millimeters
Other
UPC 050234210645
Assembly Required No
The Celestron company offers users to check out 21064. The features of 21064, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 21064 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 21064. Buy (Celestron 21064 or AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope) with benefits.
My review Celestron AstroMaster 21064 90EQ Telescope 21064

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới