Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope Pro 44308

Overall rating 4.5 stars
4.5 from 20 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Brand
Celestron
Product Name
Handheld Digital Microscope Pro
Color Category
Gray
Model Number
44308
Product Height
4.3 inches
Product Depth
4.3 inches
Product Weight
1 pounds
Specifications
Brand:
Celestron
Product Name:
Handheld Digital Microscope Pro
Color Category:
Gray
Model Number:
44308
Product Height:
4.3 inches
Product Depth:
4.3 inches
Product Weight:
1 pounds
The Celestron company offers users to check out 44308. The features of 44308, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 44308 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 44308. Buy (Celestron 44308 or Handheld Digital Microscope Pro) with benefits.

Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope Pro 44308 Overview

Review & Unboxing of Celestron 5 MP Handheld Digital Microscope Pro

Review & Unboxing of Celestron 5 MP Handheld Digital Microscope Pro

Celestron 5MP USB Microscope

Celestron 5MP USB Microscope

Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope Pro Product Overview

Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope Pro Product Overview

Unboxing Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope PRO

Unboxing Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope PRO

Celestron MicroDirect 1080p HD Digital Microscope Review - No Computer Required

Celestron MicroDirect 1080p HD Digital Microscope Review - No Computer Required

Reviews

4.5/5
Overall rating 4.5 stars
20 reviews
5
5
4
5
3
3
2
3
1
4
Overall rating 4 stars
February 16, 2018

Comment:

Received my microscope yesterday. Hooked it up and focused on the calibration gauge.Pros: Worked right off the bat. I’m using an old Windows XP laptop. The computer found the hardware without any issues. Installed the software (included disk), ran it and saw the images. Fiddled with focusing a bit, but found the gauge easily.Cons: See attached pictures. With ambient light, the picture has a brown cast to it. It’s visible, but if you are interested in actual color pictures, this will not be sufficient. Second picture is with the built-in LED light. As you can see, the individual LEDs can be seen. Third picture is with the LEDs turn off, and an auxiliary side light shining on the gauge. This looks like the best way to use this microscope. Not sure what the shadows are in the third picture with the side light. I think it might be due to the clear plastic housing on the bottom of the scope. Unfortunately, there is no way to remove it.Another Con is that the software has an annoying feature that automatically adjusts the brightness. Adding more light or changing the brightness of the LEDs doesn’t make the picture any brighter. The software adjusts to what it thinks is the best brightness. I looked at the limited menu items, and there is no way to defeat or adjust that feature.I gave it 4 stars because with a side light, it will do what I want, and that is take some reference pictures to post on the internet. It’s a lot more convenient than with my old stereo microscope with a camera attached to one eyepiece.

Overall rating 1 stars
August 8, 2018

Comment:

I have had this for some time. At first it was acceptable for the price. But Today I started the software to look at a knife. Software tells me I don’t have it connected. Tried multiple USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports same results. Reinstalled drivers and software several times. Also searched and found several other threads about similar problems. It appears that Celestron is not truly supporting this item. The problem appears to have occurred during a recent windows 10 update. The software does not have any update or camera select. Basically a one day build.

Overall rating 5 stars
October 18, 2018

Comment:

UPDATE: I’ve changed my review to 5 stars. I called the company, and found out that they are sending out an updated version of the scope. The older version is the one with the light adjustment on the cord. The newer version has the light adjustment on the scope. I’ve seen several comments complaining that they didn’t get the one in the picture, but the one in the picture is the prior version. They are actually getting a newer scope.Celestron emailed me the updated driver, and that fixed it. The resolution is AMAZING. This scope is so much better than I had hoped for. It is going to be a very important tool in identifying errors in my coins.If you have a mac, call Celestron and have them email you the updated driver.I’m soooo disappointed. I’ve tried to connect this to 2 of my apple computers. BOTH are not recognizing the device after installing drivers, restarting, etc.I wish I hadn’t spent the $$. Now I have to send it back.Beware if you have an apple.

Overall rating 1 stars
October 18, 2018

Comment:

I opened the package and connected tonight to my Macbook Pro. Good clarity, reasonable build quality for the price, but the software opens as a subset of of the described software. No calibration, no access to different power, no file storage. I downloaded the full manual (was not included) and found that few of the software features were available, and the hand-held described in the manual had a light level control on the cord and a shutter on the cord. Neither was on the cord of my unit. The ight level is now integrated in the body and I can’t find a shutter except in the software. I could work around this – maybe, but I can’t have no file storage and change in power – it goes back tomorrow.

Overall rating 4 stars
January 10, 2019

Comment:

The microscope is good but it would be better if not only do you have to connect to your pc but that you would be able to use it with connecting it to pc or even be able to use a tablet also

Overall rating 2 stars
January 27, 2019

Comment:

This is a plastic child’s toy that is over priced for what it can do. The manual is written poorly and lacks some of the most important information that I suppose everyone would be looking for..MAGNIFICATION! Look up that word using find in the manual and it will not come back, yet there is a magnification window in the main display right hand corner? Calibrating the microscope with the ruler that comes with it, mentions magnification, but does not explain how to change it. Nor is there a read out of the actual magnification anywhere.Here is what is happening. The adjustment on the barrel with a + and – is a focus of sort, but also magnification, thereare usually two places that the microscope will focus on, each with different magnification, however there is no read out when you find those areas. Since I use it without the stand(plastic garbage) to observe a knife edge manually I as yet don’t care about it. If I put the camera on the edge and use the +, – wheel on the camera and keep turning it from one extreme to another, then I will find those two magnification spots…however, I found this out not by the manual but by a guy doing the same thing, sharpening his knives.

Overall rating 4 stars
February 2, 2019

Comment:

This ‘USB Microscope’ isn’t going to be everything to everybody. I primarily use this product to inspect Trichomes on plants and it works very well for this. For me, it’s a big upgrade over a hand held Jewelers Loupe. It’s not something that’s going to be capable of the level of detail that a true microscope is capable of. The ‘depth of field’ when viewing 3 dimensional objects isn’t very wide and you end up refocusing often to bring out details in separate areas of the viewing frame. My older 2MP ‘Scope’ and Jewlers Loupe behave the same way in this respect.The hardware is nice quality for a Consumer grade ‘USB microscope’ (technically a ‘USB Macro Imager’). It doesn’t appear that it’s going to fall apart or break. The adjustment gears on the height are tight and smooth, the focus wheel is also tight and the feel is good. I’ve read some reviews where some people don’t like the tight feel of the adjustments, so it’s a matter of preference to be aware of. I use these ‘USB microscopes’ with the stand (not handheld) and the Celestron is far superior to my no-name $20 2MP USB microscope in this regard. The base is more sturdy and heavy then I thought it would be. What I do not like about the stand is that it does flex at the point where the vertical tube meets the base. This creates some minor frustration when focusing because it causes the camera to move. The USB cord is 4 feet long and there’s a nice adjustable angle USB cable guide on the back of the stand. While I don’t use them, the clips for holding glass slides appear to be well made and well fastened to the base. The clips rotate out of the way and don’t generally interfere with observations unless I have something like a large plate sitting on the base. My main issues and concerns are with the Celestron software. Most noticeable about the Celestron software on a mid-2011 Mac with 8GB memory and Mac OS High Sierra is that it crashes on the 1st launch and must be launched a 2nd time before it runs. It’s responsive and quick to focus, but CPU usage is very high. In addition, I’ve noticed that any software that I run with this camera doesn’t display an image until I launch, close, and relaunch the app. After a 2nd launch, apps display images/video. JPG file output is high quality to my DVI monitor and the typical Celestron MicroCapture Pro saved image size is at 2592×1944 resolution. The software does feel a bit dated and could use a GUI update that is a bit more modern. Apple Photo Booth does not work with this camera, however, Quick-Camera (free on the Apple App Store) works great. It supports image mirroring and rotation, but not photo capture (use the Mac OS screen capture command instead). A full size screen capture resolution with Quick-Camera test gave me a 1438×1024 image. Not as high as Celestron’s but still very respectable. Sharing live photo images via Facetime is an important use for me, so I’m glad that Facetime works with this camera. The image is horizontally reversed in Facetime, but I can live with that. The Celestion MicroCapture Pro software crashed a couple of times, but did ultimately run when I connected my Mac via Apple AirPlay to my 2nd Gen Apple TV (connected to a 48″ 4K UHD TV). See the last photo for a smart phone picture (handwriting with ink pen on paper) of this setup with the Celestron software running over AirPlay in full screen mode. Unfortunately, the picture as seen on this review doesn’t really do justice at all to this setup as I can literally see detail in the ink that is not viewable in the Amazon posted photo. Typically I use a 24 inch DVI monitor, and in general, a decent HDMI or DVI display is going to give the best viewing experience that I have found.I have an older dual processor Pentium laptop running Windows 10 at 1024×768 resolution. The software loads fine, but don’t bother on older hardware as responsiveness on focusing lags badly to the point of being practically unusable. Finally, on both the Mac and the Windows systems – CPU usage with the Celestron software is way too high as I can hear both system’s fans kicking in on high after loading the software. See the photos for a screenshot of the Celestron software pegging my CPU at well over 100%. Celestron needs to make a serious effort to improve the software experience of this product.I use the camera on my Mac so I downloaded the Microcapture Pro software off of Celestron’s confusing support webpage There’s a Mac and a Mac ‘Model B’ version. I assume this naming convention must have something to do with the model number of the microscope, as it means nothing in Apple speak. However, I was unable to determine if I had a ‘B’ version microscope looking at the Box, DVD, manual, microscope, etc. Ultimately I downloaded the ‘B’ version (2.4.1) and it installed and ran.The bottom line is that I recommend this product provided that you have done some research to verify it’s going to give you a decent amount of magnification of your viewing purpose, don’t mind tinkering with a modification or two, and a fast computer that supports DVI or HDMI output to a larger size monitor. I’m not sure that I am comfortable calling this a plug and play – no frills device. It’s a geek thing for sure… This is not a real microscope but a pretty nice macro imager and I am satisfied with the purchase. I paid just over $60 for what I thought was going to be a open box item with damaged packaging and a cosmetic flaw on the front of the microscope available from the Amazon warehouse (see Available from these Sellers or ‘Used and New’) on the Amazon item description Web page). What I received was a brand new sealed box item with no cosmetic flaws that had a Amazon Warehouse sticker stuck on the box. I can’t guarantee that your purchasing experience will be the same as mine but in my opinion this product was definitely worth the price that I paid. Just be aware that it’s nice hardware hampered by low quality software. Celestron could do us all a favor by releasing a open source licensed or similar software version of their ‘MicroCapture Pro’ software.Where these type of consumer based Macro Imaging camera devices are concerned, 5MP seems to be about the state of the art for some reason and there’s only a couple of options at that level. It’s really not very advanced. For example, the Raspberry Pi Foundation sells a quality basic general purpose 8MP camera these days for around $25. Most typical product offerings in this ‘USB Microscope’ category have a maximum of 2MP. As I’ve seen stated elsewhere in discussions – it may be viable and least expensive to just get a Macro Lens that connects directly to a 12MP smart phone provided that you don’t mind a handheld option or even rigging up a smart phone/macro lens/tripod/remote bluetooth shutter setup (that’s a mouthful). I’ll have to try this out and report on it. In the meanwhile, I’ve ordered a $20 Aluminum Alloy Base/Stand that I am going to test this camera with next. If the new stand option isn’t any better with this camera then I have no doubt that I can get use of it with my older 2MP camera. I’ll update this post with my results of the new stand test in a couple of weeks after I’ve had some time to use it in this configuration. Unfortunately it cannot fix the software issues however, Celestron has to step up to the plate for that to happen. The software would not be such an issue, but — This is a digital device and you need software to use it as there is no way to view images otherwise.Update: I did receive the Koolertron base/stand and it’s a keeper with this camera. The camera fits the stand and It while there is still some slight flex in regards to camera movement while focusing, it’s much easier to focus now. The stand is sturdy and there is a small amount of play in the controls, but it’s no big deal. A bonus benefit for me is that it has a significantly smaller footprint then the Celestron stand so the setup takes up less space on my desktop.

Overall rating 2 stars
February 2, 2019

Comment:

This was a horrible experience. The first microscope I received was dead on arrival. Fair enough, that can happen. I asked for a replacement and received that, after paying double the amount ($30) for return shipping than Amazon will refund ($15).Edit: See the end of this review for my experience with Amazon customer service (which was very good).The second microscope worked. But the software effectively makes it unusable. For one, you cannot use this device with Photo Booth. Photo Booth recognises the USB device, but does not get any image. The only way to use the microscope is with the Celestron software.The software that comes with the unit is on a CD. CD ROM drives disappeared something like ten years ago and many people don’t have one. It’s possible to download the software from the Celestron website. However, the download page is a mess. It is not clear which software belongs to what product. For the microscope, there are actually two downloads, one labelled “MicroCapture Pro”, the other “MicroCapture Pro (Model B)”. I looked everywhere on the microscope and the box for a model ID, but no joy. I downloaded and installed the “MicroCapture Pro” software only to find out that it didn’t work. Then did the same again with the “MicroCapture Pro (Model B)” version. That one started up and actually produced an image.The actual hardware is sort of OK. You will get around 50–100x magnification, depending on screen size. Any claims beyond that are fantasy material. If you try to go past about 100x on a large screen, all you get is pixelated blocks that are larger than the pixelated blocks you were looking at a moment ago.But the real problems are with the Celestron software (which is the only way to use the microscope on a Mac). The software is an absolute catastrophe (and that is putting it mildly). Completely unusable, even with a very large amount of patience and tolerance. Problems I experienced in the first 30 minutes:- Frequent and random crashes.- Complete lockup. Nothing in the software responds to input any longer. The program can only be stopped with “Force Quit” in the Finder.- Slow-down to the point where it takes 15 (yes, 15) seconds for a menu to respond to a mouse click.- Two CPUs spinning permanently at 100% each, without the software doing anything but displaying a still image.- Corruption after a crash, so the program immediately crashes again when re-started. Deleting all data files and deleting and re-installing the application is necessary to recover.- Failure to detect the microscope when it is plugged in.- The application crashes instantly when the microscope is unplugged.- No keyboard shortcuts for any of the commands.- Atrocious frame rate, down to something like 2–3 frames/second.- Severe JPG compression artefacts in saved images.- The calibration/measurement support is unusable because there is no way to save the calibration setting. Even after calibrating, it is not possible to use the (now calibrated) software to measure something on a different image. In other words, the only thing you can calibrate is an image of the ruler that comes in the box. Thereafter, you can measure the ruler, but nothing in any other image.It is not possible to use this microscope for more than a few minutes before the application hangs or crashes. (Your mileage with Windows may vary.)How Celestron dare sell something like this is beyond me. I’m a software engineer and have plenty of experience with image processing. A high-school kid could write a better application than that. (I would not be surprised to learn that it was indeed written by a high-school kid. If so, it was a high-school kid with mostly C– and D grades.)Stay clear.Edit: I contacted Amazon customer service and explained that, for shipping the two units back to Amazon, I was out of pocket by almost as much as I paid for the microscope in the first place. Amazon refunded me my actual postage costs (instead of the fixed $15), added a $5 store voucher, and (of course) refunded me the purchase price.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 10, 2019

Comment:

Very easy microscope for the beginner & will get them out of being afraid to hurt something. Plugs right into USB port & you are off & exploring with gr8 quality photos or videos. Should’ve bought years ago.

Overall rating 4 stars
January 13, 2020

Comment:

The ‘Celestron – 5 MP Digital Microscope Pro’ overall is good value however please consider the following 2 issues.1) This microscope (like most) uses built-in LED lights around the objective lens. These can cause (as you would expect) strong reflections in the images. See images:(a) Paper (with very slight shiny surface), ‘HALO’ reflection from the LED lights.(b) Paper (has as before) close-up. This image is fine, but if you want a wider view, you will see the ‘HALO’ reflections.(c) Compact Disc surface (highly reflective)… here you can see the 8 LED lights that often appear in images if the object has any reflective surfaces.2) The software is easy to use. I am using a ‘4k’ PC screen so I needed to re-size the window (which the software allows). I was amazed to find the software allows your to scale the window and distort the image coming (live) from the camera. Squashed or stretched objects never look good. Also in ‘full screen’ the images are also stretched (distorted). The software should NEVER allow a re-sized window that distorts. When you start the software the initial windows size is 100% correct. Please note that the SAVED IMAGES are always 100% correct aspect ratio (not stretched or squashed).Overall this is a good device, just not very suitable for shiny objects. I returned mime because it was just not suitable for what I wanted (often the objects are shiny) and I did not want to spend lots of time trying to eliminate the reflections, halos or hot (over exposed) spots.PS. The LED lights can be switched off, but then you need external lighting. APA

Description
View large surfaces and small objects, such as coins and stamps, with this Celestron Pro 44308 handheld microscope that features 20-200x magnification for detailed images. The 5.0MP sensor lets you save high-quality microscope images to your computer.
Details
Details
General
Brand Celestron
Product Name Handheld Digital Microscope Pro
Color Category Gray
Model Number 44308
Dimension
Product Height 4.3 inches
Product Depth 4.3 inches
Product Weight 1 pounds
Product Width 1.4 inches
Feature
Number of Knobs 1
Integrated Digital Camera Yes
Image Sensor 5.0MP
System Requirements None
Adjustable Stage No
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 2 years limited
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 2 years limited
Image
Magnification Highest Power 200 times
Magnification of Eyepieces None
Digital Camera Megapixels 5 megapixels
Magnification Lowest Power 20 times
Other
UPC 050234443081
The Celestron company offers users to check out 44308. The features of 44308, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 44308 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 44308. Buy (Celestron 44308 or Handheld Digital Microscope Pro) with benefits.
My review Celestron Handheld Digital Microscope Pro 44308

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới