Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope 52254

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 20 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Brand
Celestron
Model Number
52254
Product Name
Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope
Color Category
Green
Color
Multicolor
Product Weight
3.6 pounds
Product Depth
19 inches
Specifications
Brand:
Celestron
Model Number:
52254
Product Name:
Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope
Color Category:
Green
Color:
Multicolor
Product Weight:
3.6 pounds
Product Depth:
19 inches
The Celestron company offers users to check out 52254. The features of 52254, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 52254 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 52254. Buy (Celestron 52254 or Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope) with benefits.

Celestron Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope 52254 Overview

Celestron Ultima 80 Spotting Scope - OpticsPlanet.com Product in Focus

Celestron Ultima 80 Spotting Scope - OpticsPlanet.com Product in Focus

Celestron Ultima 80 Spotting Scope Review

Celestron Ultima 80 Spotting Scope Review

Celestron Ultima 80 | Set up & Use for Terrestrial & Celestial View | Spotting scope

Celestron Ultima 80 | Set up & Use for Terrestrial & Celestial View | Spotting scope

Celestron Ultima 80mm spotting scope (Terrestrial & Celestial)

Celestron Ultima 80mm spotting scope (Terrestrial & Celestial)

CELESTRON TRAILSEEKER 80 SPOTTING SCOPE REVIEW (detailed)

CELESTRON TRAILSEEKER 80 SPOTTING SCOPE REVIEW (detailed)

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
20 reviews
5
10
4
4
3
4
2
1
1
1
Overall rating 5 stars
April 23, 2018

Comment:

Excellent

Overall rating 3 stars
June 3, 2018

Comment:

I guess it is okay for the money but I returned it for a few reasons. 1) When zooming in even in bright sunlight the view gets very dim (low light) more than expected. This happens as soon as zooming starts and gets worse as magnification increases. 2.) Quality of optics and focus not what I expected. View was in focus in the center but not as much on the perimeter of the view especially when zooming. Other than that no real problems. I returned it because I expected better. I recommend this scope if these things do not bother you. If you are not bothered by these relatively minor imperfections it is a good value.Instead I purchased Wingspan Optics binoculars 8×42. No regrets with these.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 16, 2018

Comment:

I purchased the Celestron 18-55×65 45° spotting scope used in “Very Good” condition from Amazon for $75. It came in the box in all original packaging, and is brand new insofar as I can tell; something to keep in mind when you read the rest of my review. $75 for this scope in seemingly new condition is a great bargain. At that price, and even up to $90, I would say this is a no brainer, and worthy of a 5-star review. Would I purchase new for ~$115? Yes, probably. The relatively low price, functionality, good build quality, and definite fun factor makes this scope a great option depending on what you are trying to achieve with its use. Why minus a star?– noticeable purple fringing at just over half the zoom capacity.I was originally looking at the 80mm version, knowing that the larger field of view and brightness it would provide would mean better performance, especially in the high zoom range. I was talked out of it by a friend who has a 80mm scope, and told me it wasn’t worth the added bulk and weight for the price, especially when considering my intended non-professional use. For some background, I have a $400 pair 8×42 binoculars that can’t even compare to all of the other cheaper 8×25, 10×42, porro prisms, etc. binoculars I’ve owned throughout the years without expensive glass or any fancy coatings. Once I got the 8x42s in my hands, I never wanted to go back to anything less. The brightness, large field of view, and special coatings really do make a difference. That said, when I got the expensive 8x42s I was using them professionally doing bird nesting surveys, where their light-weight and expensive properties really did come in play. I also later got to use a pair of Swarovski EL 10×42 binoculars while doing seabird monitoring/population and productivity counts, and those were by far the best set of binoculars I’ve ever seen. Later, I also got to use a Zeiss spotting cope for work that was very impressive, but also very expensive.My point is, once you’ve had a chance to use the greatest, it can be annoying to have to go with anything less, and so I don’t want my review to be tainted in comparison to these high-end models because it’s like comparing apples to oranges when you go from the $100 to $400-$2500 price range. Now that I’m no longer in that line of work, I don’t need (and also don’t want to spend so much) on high end optics (though I do admit I want them…). I mostly wanted a spotting scope, however, for higher magnification viewing of birds at feeders in my backyard, and to allow my young son’s the opportunity to see wildlife closer up. I remember not being able to really use binoculars properly at their age, and always found myself closing one eye to look through only one objective since I could never get my vision to line up. Focusing clearly was always an issue, and then there was hand-shake, all of which made binoculars not so fun to use. I see them fiddling and struggling to use binoculars as well, and with a scope my hope is to set it up on a stable tripod pointed right at a feeder and have them only have to move the focus ring slightly– a decent scope at this price range was exactly what I was looking for. I am an amateur photographer, so already have a couple nice and steady tripods to put to use, which is just as important to have for a scope, and should be factored into your purchasing decision (I wouldn’t spend less than $100 on a tripod– just not worth it).OK, now onto the scope itself. It seems well weighted and well balanced, with decent ergonomics and good housing. I like the advertised waterproofness, and hope that it lives up to that claim. Focus ring is smooth, but zoom ring not so much. I find myself wanting to turn at the attachment point of the eyepiece instead of further up closer to the end where it is located. The zoom ring is also stiff, but I imagine it will loosen up in time. Last about the zoom, it’s only textured metal, and I’d prefer either a rubberized ring or tab/lever type zoom, but that’s not expected in this price range. Other reviewer(s) have mentioned that it would be nice to have a quick focus along with a fine tune focus knob, but as nice as that would be, for me it’s really not expected at this price range.Optical clarity is generally good. This scope really shines in the 18-30 zoom range, but starts to drop off in clarity and (dramatically) in field of view once you get to about 35x. Purple fringing is also noticeable around 35x, getting more obvious in the 40s, and is terrible in the 50s. Field of view up to 30x is full, which was expected since it’s a 65 objective scope (light availability and field of view is expected to drop off at anything below a 1:5 magnification/objective ratio).Eye relief is perfectly fine, at least for me, and is worth mentioning since reviews seem mixed about this topic. I wear eyeglasses and have astigmatism, so I can’t get scopes or binoculars to focus with full clarity without my glasses. Having enough eye relief is therefore a requirement, and I can focus clearly at all zoom levels with this scope. I’d imagine that some of the negative reviews about eye relief could involve not pulling back the rubber eye-cup. I’ve found that without pulling back the eye-cup, I can still focus the scope with my glasses on at 18x, but once I start zooming I need to get closer and pulling back the eye-cup is a necessity. Another option is to remove the rubber eye-cup altogether; I accidentally removed mine while fiddling with it. What I don’t like about having to “peal back” the eye-cup is that it’s annoying to switch over viewing with non-eyeglass wearers that prefer the better light eliminating properties of looking through the eye-cup. And when viewing birds, switching over when sharing the scope is a constant. I also imagine that over time with repeated folds it will eventually break down and fall off, but time will tell. On my nicer binoculars this is solved by having eye-cups that twist up and down, which is a great design, but again, not expected at this price point.Last thing I want to mention about this spotting scope is the “finder scope”. While using it today I was thinking how I wish it had a basic finder scope, since it can be difficult to track down where birds have landed not too far away, even at 18x, and especially when using in tight spaces such as my backyard. Then I noticed on the left side of the scope it has “finder scope” in the form of a straw-like appendage attached to the upper left side of the body. No optics involved, which makes sense at this zoom range. Your naked eye works just fine to point the scope close enough in the right direction to find what you want to look at before looking through the lens. When I first saw that appendage I thought it was for adding some type of accessory. I actually thought at one point that perhaps it’s an attachment point for a finder scope, but then realized, duh, it is the finder scope itself! Maybe obvious to some or most, but not to me at first, so thought I’d mention it.Overall I think this was a great purchase, especially at $75, but I would probably pay another $40 to get one now that I have had the chance to use it. I feel that all of the trade offs are fair and expected at this price point, and that overall the scope is very good for my intended purchase. The main thing I would like improved is the purple fringing and clarity at higher zoom. Light and field of view fall off was expected based on the specs, but I wasn’t expecting purple fringing and soft edges to occur until the very highest zoom range. That said, it’s a fair trade off for the price, and for my backyard birding and other intended uses, I will only rarely be using it in the 35-55 zoom range anyway.***** UPDATE *****After having some more time to use this scope, I’ve updated my review from 4 to 5 stars. The reason is that it is actually quite sharp at full zoom, and I had initially thought it wasn’t due to other obstructions altering the view, such as heat waves and poor air quality. I had the chance of using the scope in the afternoon, viewing objects not in direct sunlight, and was able to get perfectly clear imaging all the way to 55x, without soft edges and without purple fringing (which is usually an aberration caused by too much sun light). The field of view is also full from 18x all the way to 55x. I realized what I had been doing was not getting my eye close enough to the objective when in the higher zoom ranges. The eye relief is actually not as good as I had hoped and thought, and in order to see the full field of view I really have to squash my eye glasses right up to the lens and press down a bit. It is do-able, but not as comfortable or easy as it could be if there was more eye relief. But although eye relief is not as good as I originally thought, at least there are no issues with minimized field of view or soft edges as I had thought was the case before.Based on high clarity in ideal conditions, I had to go back and change my initial 4-star review to 5. The limits of this lens do not apply all of the time and do not apply to everyone (i.e., non-eye glass wearers), and it’s not the fault of the scope for not having high end lens coatings or HD glass; those features are aptly found on more expensive lenses. As expected, this scope doesn’t do more than it’s advertised to do, and does exactly what it is advertised to do at a very reasonable price and with a nice form to function ratio.

Overall rating 5 stars
October 8, 2018

Comment:

I was on the fence of spending the money and getting a Vortex spotting scope. The main reason why is because Vortex has a lifetime warranty on their products. You break it for whatever reason, they’ll replace it for free. But that Vortex spotting scope was about $400. I figured since I normally try to take care of my stuff and don’t thrash it, I’d take my chances on the more less expensive Celestron spotting scope ($139).I would mainly use the spotting scope for when I sight in a rifle and occasionally get a closer look at some of the wildlife in my backyard. Maybe look at the moon. So my use of the spotting scope would be minimal.I received my spotting scope and played with it the next day. I was impressed. The optics were clear. I was happy. I can see airplanes land about 10 miles away. It was getting shaky and fuzzy that far away but I can see them. I’d never really use them that far but that goes to show how powerful this spotting scope is and it’s clear.I also ordered an Amazon brand 60 inch tripod. It’s a must have if you’re going to use this spotting scope. It’ll be less shaky compared to just holding it with your hand. I’d buy it again if I had to.

Overall rating 1 stars
October 9, 2018

Comment:

I got chance to range today for target shooting in 200 yards. But I couldn’t see my bullet holes on target and it’s blur, couldn’t get focused.

Overall rating 3 stars
January 5, 2019

Comment:

This is for the Ultima 65 – angled eyepiece. My application is birding. I’ve had such good luck with my Celestron Nature DX 8×42 binoculars that I have purchased 4 pairs; three for gifts), so I when I needed an inexpensive spotting scope I decided to try the Ultima 65. It worked okay, but even though I am pretty frugal, I decided to move up to the $500 price point and purchase a Vortex Diamondback 80mm -angled eyepiece. The latter costs 4 times as much and is definitely heavier, but the brightness, clarity, better case, and unconditional lifetime warranty carried the day for me in a side-by-side comparison. Your mileage my differ. For me the image quality and brightness at higher magnifications need to be good enough to justify lugging the scope into the field, versus decent binoculars. For me, the Ultima 65 doesn’t meet that standard. One plus for the Ultima 65 is reasonable eye relief. At 18X I was able to get a full field of view with my glasses on and the eyecups folded down. As magnification increased I was still able to see the center of part of the image, with vignetting of the outer regions. From 30X on up, I had to remove my glasses to see anything useful. This is a pain, but it may be the nature of the beast as I have the same issue with other spotting scopes I have used on birding trips. Another thing: for me the position of the focus knob is buried too deeply in the barrel of the telescope and difficult to use compared to other scopes. This complicates the effort to get a sharp image. The focus mechanism is also extremely slow, taking lots and lots of turns to get into the right range, which makes the location of the focus knob even more inconvenient. The feel of the zoom dial is very stiff, making it more difficult to stay on target when zooming. This all sounds a little negative, but I can envision applications where this scope would be satisfactory, but I don’t think serious birding is one of them. If you’re serious about getting a spotting scope for birding, plan on spending on the order of $500 (or more!).

Overall rating 4 stars
January 15, 2019

Comment:

I purchased this spotting scope for elk hunting in Colorado. Initially, I am impressed with the quality of this spotting scope. It is light, easy to assemble, and does the job that I want it to.With that being said, this spotting scope lacks performance at the high end of it’s magnification range. Once I hit about 40x zoom, the picture darkens substantially and it becomes hard to distinguish fine detail on the target. The useful magnification is 20x through about 35x. Picture quality within this range is great and I am glad that I didn’t purchase a more expensive brand. Luckily, I prefer to use the spotter within its optimal range, so the picture going dark at the high end isn’t really a big ding for me. The only way I would be more pleased with this product is if the picture stayed bright through the entire magnification range.I ended up taking it outside to look at the moon the other night and was blown away by the picture. Even at it’s highest magnification, the picture was superb (Probably due to how much light the moon gives off).

Overall rating 3 stars
April 13, 2019

Comment:

I bought this for target shooting, primarily 5.56 at distances of 100 and 300 yards. At 100 yards, the target is very clear and with enough magnification to easily see 556 holes in white paper targets. At 300 yards, with full magnification, the focus is a little fuzzy and I could not see 556 holes in white paper targets but when I used splattter targets with yellow on a black background, I was able to make out my hits. Not crystal clear but enough to make the necessary adjustments. Can’t see this scope working for shooting much beyond 300 yards but 300 or less, I think it works well enough for the money.

Overall rating 5 stars
April 22, 2019

Comment:

This is an excellent spotting scope for the money. I am using it mostly for birding. The photo above was just taken with my cell phone held up to the eyepiece. I recommend using this scope with a sturdy tripod. My tripod is a SLIK 330DX-B that came with an SH-705E head. When viewing at home I use a gallon jug of water below the tripod for additional stability although this tripod performs well enough without it using this weight of scope.I like the feel of the Celestron Ultima 80. The focusing is easy and very smooth. They are easy to reach in a natural feel. I bought the straight scope because most of what I look at is on the level or nearly so. Most of the birds I am seeing are rather close to the house, within 25 yards. I see much more detail and light gathering than I did with me binoculars.The accessories included with the scope could be better quality. The soft case that came with mine is very light weight plastic so I am not expecting that to hold up on hiking trips. It is handy that it opens at both ends to use in a snow storm I guess since the scope itself is waterproof anyway.I took about 2 weeks to thoroughly research scopes before deciding on this one. I have used a few other scopes borrowed from friends and this one certainly tops anything I have used before. At $185 +- it is a good value. I’m just getting into birding and I can view anywhere on my back two acres to be very efficient for that. You do get what you pay for but unless you have some specific need for very high optics, save your money and buy this one.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 31, 2019

Comment:

Have wanted a spotting scope for years – but was skittish of the prices. I was lured to the Celestron 52250 80mm Ultima Zoom Spotting Scope (80 – 45°) by the price and happy reviews. So glad I decided to take the plunge and get one of these. I have a couple of pairs of good binoculars I inherited that have done good service for bird watching from my dining room table. This spotting scope, however, takes things to a whole ‘nother level! Wowza! At the minimum magnification, the image is absolutely fantastic – at maximum magnification – there is some ‘bluing’ (as other reviewers have noted) – but it’s still quite good. Great bang for the buck. I now need to get the thing mounted on a proper tripod that’ll allow me to tip and pan – I’m currently using an octopus tripod and that doesn’t work: it’s too jiggly.

Description
Enjoy the outdoors a little closer with this Celestron Ultima 80 52254 straight spotting scope that features a 20-60x magnification range and multicoated optics to capture up-close detail. The waterproof design offers durability.
Details
Details
General
Brand Celestron
Model Number 52254
Product Name Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope
Color Category Green
Color Multicolor
Dimension
Product Weight 3.6 pounds
Product Depth 19 inches
Product Height 6 inches
Product Width 3.5 inches
Additional Dimension
Objective Lens Diameter 80 millimeters
Connectivity
USB Port(s) No
Performance
Water Resistant Yes
Maximum Depth Of Water Resistance 0 feet
Feature
Integrated Digital Camera No
Lens Coating Coated
Scope Type Straight
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 year warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts Lifetime limited
Imaging
Field Of View 60 degrees
Magnification 60 times
Exposure Control
Minimum Viewing Range 27 feet
Other
UPC 050234522540
The Celestron company offers users to check out 52254. The features of 52254, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 52254 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 52254. Buy (Celestron 52254 or Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope) with benefits.
My review Celestron Ultima 80 20-60x Spotting Scope 52254

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới