Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass 71189-B

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 10 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Lens Coating
Multilayer coated
Prism Type
Porro
Eye Relief
22 millimeters
Focus System
Individual
Size
Full Size
Close Focusing Distance
33 feet
Tripod Mountable
Yes
Specifications
Lens Coating:
Multilayer coated
Prism Type:
Porro
Eye Relief:
22 millimeters
Focus System:
Individual
Size:
Full Size
Close Focusing Distance:
33 feet
Tripod Mountable:
Yes
The Celestron company offers users to check out 71189-B. The features of 71189-B, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 71189-B reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 71189-B. Buy (Celestron 71189-B or Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass) with benefits.

Celestron Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass 71189-B Overview

Celestron Oceana 7x50 Binoculars - Unboxing and Discussion

Celestron Oceana 7x50 Binoculars - Unboxing and Discussion

7x50 Marine Binoculars Review ~ Bushnell and Steiner with compass

7x50 Marine Binoculars Review ~ Bushnell and Steiner with compass

Celestron Oceana 7x50mm Waterproof Individual Focus Binoculars...

Celestron Oceana 7x50mm Waterproof Individual Focus Binoculars...

Celestron Cavalry 7x50 Binoculars

Celestron Cavalry 7x50 Binoculars

Celestron Oceana 7x50

Celestron Oceana 7x50

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
10 reviews
5
5
4
2
3
1
2
0
1
2
Overall rating 5 stars
November 26, 2007

Comment:

A close crossing with an inbound ship on the outbound side of the shipping lanes (and a mile outside of the wrong lane to boot) reminded me that it isn’t enough to know where you are, and assume ships will stay in their designated lanes. Not only do you need to see them clearly from a distance, you need an accurate bearing to detect potential collision course. It was this incident that drove my decision to buy this piece of safety equipment without delay.I was very impressed when I took these glasses out of the box, they have a solid, high-quality look and feel — from the optics (clarity is awesome) and adjustments, all the way down to the case they come with (padded, solid closure, orange trim for visibility at night.)Perhaps the feature that lets the Celestron Oceana stand toe-to-toe with much more expensive models, is the quality of its built-in bearing compass. Liquid dampening is a must, out on the ocean, without this a compass is nearly useless. More, I checked its accuracy against the fluxgate compass built into my GPS, it’s exactly on. And its backlight is ideal, the compass is easy to read down to the degree, day or night.I did have a tiny bit of difficulty seeing the compass at first glance, but quickly realized that the rubber eye cups and my nose were keeping the lenses a little higher than desirable. Very slight downward pressure corrects their position.Over all I’m very pleased with the purchase, and given the Celestron no-fault lifetime warranty, I’m sure I’ll be using them for years to come.

Overall rating 4 stars
February 25, 2010

Comment:

Received these yesterday, as I have only had a slight chance to test them out I can only give first impressions.Optical quality, very, very good, not perfect but very good especially for the price. (5 of 5 stars at this price point)Build Quality, Fantastic, they feel very sturdy, they are covered by a rubber armor and they are completely waterproof. (5 of 5 stars)Comfort, pretty good, a bit stiff but I expect them to loosen up over a period of use. (4 of 5 stars)Instruction manual, with these Binoculars, there is some math involved to get the size or the distance to an object. While the instructions were adequate, they were lacking a bit. (4 of 5 stars)Accessories (lens caps, binocular bag), This is a double edged sword, the bag is great I expected to get a very cheap case, what it came in is a well padded rigid soft case that well exceeds my expectations. The lens caps…not so much, the front caps are great, they are connected to the the body so you won’t loose them. The rear cap is almost worthless. It is a single cap designed to go over both but can’t be fitted securely. (4 of 5 stars because of the rear cap)Compass, Unfamiliar with nautical compasses I was a sort of surprised not to see a N or an S or an E or a W. But after 5 seconds I was able to deal with degrees… The illumination was great and its easy to read. This is a great way to know exactly where you’re looking at any time. The compass, integrated with the rangefinder is a huge plus to me. (5 of 5 stars)I really like these binoculars, I am hoping they live up to my expectations in long term use. I’m taking them out this weekend to test out a bit more and see if the rangefinder is true in its readings and see if the optics are as good as I think they are.

Overall rating 3 stars
September 14, 2010

Comment:

I am very happy that I bought this binocular; I bought it for our first charter trip and the binoculars provided with the boat were really bad. Compared to those, these were shining. I think they were also much better than the Bushnell 7X50 we had during sailing school. Actually with these it was the first time I could enjoy watching the world through a pair of binoculars. The image is clear and very bright. It doesn’t seem to lose any brightness at all. They are not very heavy, if you hold them in a position with your arms close to your chest to provide more support you can use them for quite a while.Now, the bad – they are not extremely well built; the rings around the lenses are stuck with some very cheap glue and they almost came off in only a week of using it. This doesn’t have any effect on the optical quality, but still; I hope that the inside is built somewhat stronger, otherwise I will have to replace them too soon.They have separate focus adjustments for each eye, which is good if you have different vision in each eye, but the correction rings are too lose and the slightest touch moves them, meaning that you have to adjust focus again.The built in compass is fine, well visible during day or night using the red lamp included. It was also accurate, as we compared it to three other compasses and they all showed the same bearings.The biggest issue I have with this binocular is that the extremely high eye-relief number claimed by the manufacturer, (24mm I believe) doesn’t seem accurate; normally 18 is a good number, and 20 or 21, exceptional. Celestron claims that this one has 24mm; I choose this product based on the eye relief because I wear eyeglasses and I wanted to be able to use it with them on; well, not much luck, because the field of view is so drastically reduced when wearing my glasses, it’s not worth bothering. Actually I think it is about 18 because this was the number on the Bushnell that I used and I have the same field of view with this one. Luckily, I realized soon that if I remove my glasses I am still able to see clearly without needing to adjust the focus, so that’s what I did.During one week of use something happened to the scale and compass window – it has somehow rotated so that the compass reading does not show through the window it is supposed to; also the distance scale is not vertical anymore, making it totally useless. I suppose I have to open the compass housing and fix it somehow, but I am not sure how and why this happened. In any case, I suppose it shouldn’t have, so this takes away one star. The other is lost because of the focus adjustment rings which are too easy to move involuntarily. All in all I am happy with the purchase and would recommend it with the above mentioned caveats.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 3, 2011

Comment:

It is cheap and good. It also comes with a soft case. I really cannot complain.Yes, in order to read the compass, I need to tilt my head up a bit and eye downward to view the compass. No big deal to me.I really need to do some mental math to use the range-finder. But it is easy enough.Honestly I have not tried any one of the highend binoculars before. Therefore, I cannot compare this one with those highend products. I can only say that it fits my budget, and I expect it to work well in the coming spring when the weather is nice and I can start using my boat (I wrote it in the middle of an especially snowy winter).

Overall rating 4 stars
October 13, 2011

Comment:

Great Value!Last year (2010) I purchased these binocs by Celestron for $118US via Amazon.com.I have used them for a full cruising season and am quite pleased. They certainly exceed my expectations for relatively inexpensive binocs. I also have an older pair of West Marine branded binocs aboard (which have survived many years (at least 10) of marine use and not always the best treatment and are now showing their age). The West marine binocs cost about $150 more. The Oceana binocs are certainly comparable to these (even a bit better in some aspects). Optics and ergonomics are good, padded case included, backlit compass uses red light (battery included), quality of construction seems comparable to somewhat more expensive binocs. While the optics are not likely up to Steiner quality they are certainly quite adequate for typical boating use (low light performance is comparable to binocs costing a few hundred dollars more).

Overall rating 5 stars
April 24, 2013

Comment:

I had a great interest in these, as I enjoy birding, and I do a lot of camping with the Boy Scouts. These are sturdy, substantial binoculars. They feelgood to the touch, with a good weight and have a high quality build, fit and finish, The kit comes with a very nice carrying case that has a velcro seal.There is a pocket inside that holds the two batteries and a cleaning cloth.The case has a carrying strap, and one is included for the binoculars as well. The lens caps are built right on the unit, and can be removed by puling the cap handles over the logo screw (nice touch). Unscrew the logo, and there are threads for a tripod adapter. The batteries are also protected by a screwcap. A protector cap for the eyepiece is also included. The eyepiece has retractable eyecups that are very effective in controlling ambient light.The adjustment for the inter pupillary distance had the right amount of tension, as well as the adjustment rings on the objective lenses and the diopter adjustment. While I personally would not make much use of the compass, or using the reticle for measuring, those features are included. The illumination feature for the compass worked very well in the dark and also at dusk. The instructions are very easy to follow. and contain tips on how to use the compass for measuring distance and object size. The feature that I was most intrigued with was the binoculars float, even with their weight , I was skeptical and I put it to test in the bathtub. This is a great feature for those that do coastal birding or waterfowl hunting, or if you just need a set of binoculars on your boat. I am very pleased with this unit. and I am enjoying it immensely.Duane

Overall rating 5 stars
February 16, 2015

Comment:

I recently bought a pair of Celestron Oceana 7X50 field glasses. Before I give my review of the product I want to give OpticsPlanet Customer Service Department a review. I contacted them shortly after placing my order to voice some concerns. They were Prompt in retuning my request, Friendly and Helpful most of all Very Professional. They have earned a (10 Star rating ) and once again thank you for all of your help. The field glasses were everything I expected and more. They are rugged and will stand up to some harsh environments. I am an outdoor photographer versed in all kinds of optics and not a stranger to field glasses. The Celestron Oceana’s take a little getting used to but one you do you will find they are a great product, just give them a chance. There were some concerns about the distance option inside the front lens cap is a small dial to help you with range calculations.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 15, 2015

Comment:

Darn good optics for the dough. I don’t expect them to take much of a beating. Great image quality. Reviews complaing about individual focus should read the description first.These do just what they are supposed to.

Overall rating 1 stars
April 26, 2016

Comment:

the front optics are flexible – meaning you will have a hard time keeping both eyes in focus if you push the binoculars against your eyes. The rubber cups on the eye rings don’t fold down so you have to smash them against your eyes to see. The compass ring is not viewable unless you angle the binoculars up – not allowing you to take a compass reading on something. All in all – not a very good set of binoculars. They are also huge and heavy considering the few features it seems overkill. I would not buy these again.

Overall rating 1 stars
July 25, 2018

Comment:

After I received the binoculars from Amozon, I removed them from the package to test them. They looked great, so I hung them in my closet. A few months later I pulled them out of the closet and found that the compass had a bubble in the suspension fluid and it was preventing the compass from functioning.I have called Celestron on multple occasions to only be put on interminable hold. I need to have warranty service performed but cannot reach their service dept. to get an RMA. I have purchased a Celestron telescope many years ago and plan on upgrading my telescope in the future, but with service support this poor, my next purchase will not be a Celestron.

Description
Use these Celestron Oceana 71189-B 7 x 50 magnification-capable binoculars' built-in reticle, calculator dial and illuminated compass to determine the size of a distant object, your distance from it and your orientation for easy navigation.
Details
Details
Feature
Lens Coating Multilayer coated
Prism Type Porro
Eye Relief 22 millimeters
Focus System Individual
Size Full Size
Close Focusing Distance 33 feet
Tripod Mountable Yes
Exit Pupil 7.1 millimeters
General
Color Green
Brand Celestron
Product Name Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass
Model Number 71189-B
Color Category Green
Dimension
Product Width 8 inches
Product Height 2.5 inches
Product Weight 2.6 pounds
Additional Dimension
Objective Lens Diameter 50 millimeters
Material
Casing Material Other
Performance
Water Resistant Yes
Maximum Depth Of Water Resistance 0 feet
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 year warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts Lifetime limited
Imaging
Field Of View 394 degrees
Magnification 7 times
Other
UPC 050234011891
Angle of View (Maximum Magnification) 7.5 degrees
Field of View (Maximum Magnification) 393.7 feet per 1000 yards
Fog Resistant Yes
The Celestron company offers users to check out 71189-B. The features of 71189-B, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 71189-B reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 71189-B. Buy (Celestron 71189-B or Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass) with benefits.
My review Celestron Oceana 7 x 50 Waterproof Porro Binoculars with Built-In Compass 71189-B

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới