Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes 93607

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 20 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Product Name
Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes
Brand
Celestron
Model Number
93607
Additional Accessories Included
Accessory Tray
Color Category
Silver
Maximum Weight Capacity
10 pounds
Product Weight
10 pounds
Specifications
Product Name:
Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes
Brand:
Celestron
Model Number:
93607
Additional Accessories Included:
Accessory Tray
Color Category:
Silver
Maximum Weight Capacity:
10 pounds
Product Weight:
10 pounds
The Celestron company offers users to check out 93607. The features of 93607, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 93607 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 93607. Buy (Celestron 93607 or Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes) with benefits.

Celestron Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes 93607 Overview

10 Best Tripods For Spotting Scopes 2019

10 Best Tripods For Spotting Scopes 2019

Howto: Altazimuth Mode EQ Telescope

Howto: Altazimuth Mode EQ Telescope

Celestron Alt-Azimuth AZ-3 Tripod / Mount

Celestron Alt-Azimuth AZ-3 Tripod / Mount

Visual Astronomy 1: Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 binoculars

Visual Astronomy 1: Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 binoculars

Different ways to mount binoculars to a tripod

Different ways to mount binoculars to a tripod

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
20 reviews
5
7
4
7
3
2
2
0
1
4
Overall rating 5 stars
August 23, 2017

Comment:

Used the tripod with a 600mm lens for the solar eclipse. The tripod was sturdy and enabled me to keep the sun centered in the viewfinder. Once you adjust the gross elevation you have about 30 degrees of play with the fine adjustment knob. I had no trouble looking through the viewfinder at about 55 degrees standing up. While I didn’t need to go to the zenith for the eclipse, I did adjust the tripod to do just that.I think all of the criticisms in the reviews can be addressed with a little practice and thought. I think the tripod is great and worked far better than the standard tripod I used for another camera.

Overall rating 4 stars
August 23, 2017

Comment:

I had to modify this tripod. But I’m also using it in a slightly different way than it’s original design.I’m using this to hold a big set of binoculars. But I hit two issues immediately. The tripod is too short for comfortable viewing, and the cradle holding the binoculars would not tip as far forward as I wanted.(There’s a metal tab that stick up, blocking it.) My work-around was to remove the black tips/feet and insert dowels to extend the height. I also used a grinder to shave down a tab on the mount, allowing the mount to tip forward.With that work done, I’m very happy with the quality of this tripod. Very solid and good action. I just feel obligated to point out that it might work well for a telescope that hangs down so that you view it bending over slightly, or from a chair. But it’s not a great solution for a scope that is supposed to be viewed right at eye level. They advertise this as good for a spotting scope. But if you are even 5’6 or taller, you will need to make modifications.

Overall rating 1 stars
November 6, 2017

Comment:

I purchased to use with large binoculars.The tripod is sturdy and a good value but as a stand for binoculars, this system has a couple serious problems. I mounted the Orion 20/80 binoculars on the tripod.1. The adjustments knobs are right in your face when you are looking trough the binoculars.2. The tripod is very short so you must be sitting or on your knees to view through the binoculars when they are viewing the horizon.3. When viewing at 45° declination or above (toward zenith) it is virtually impossible to view through the binoculars unless you are a contortionist and have no chin.This is probably a tripod for a spotting scope for viewing on the horizon or a a device with a 90° viewing port. For binoculars and star viewing, not a good choice.Follow up: I purchased the “Orion Paragon-Plus XHD Extra Heavy-Duty Tripod Stand for Binoculars (Black)” and they are a vast improvement for my application. Great for Binos.

Overall rating 1 stars
July 1, 2018

Comment:

No instructions come with the product. Cannot get part of it to function. Tried numerous times to contact Celestron, but was never able to contact them. There web site says to find the manual under their manuals heading BUT this one was NOT listed nor available. Very POOR customer service, actually NON Existent customer service. I am in the market for a telescope, and was thinking about this company, but if I cant even get help for this tripod, I can only think that its just as bad when buying anything more expensive. I will definitely be looking elsewhere for every astronomy product in the future.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 3, 2018

Comment:

PLEASE IGNORE REVIEWERS who say this doesn’t adjust altitude! They’re using it WRONG!Read the DIRECTIONS for this tripod!You make large changes in altitude by just grabbing your scope and manhandling it up or down. Once you’re in the ballpark, the fine-adjuster for altitude gives you around 20 to 30 degrees of FINE adjustment.If you don’t like grabbing your scope and moving it, I support your choice and in that case recommend you get a different tripod.You might be able to mod this thing to machine a handle to it, but just understand that it’s fully adjustable in altitude, it IS NOT limited to terrestrial use!!!I use mine with an ST80 f/5 telescope and it works great for that.

Overall rating 4 stars
July 24, 2018

Comment:

Works with a 48”, 5 lb. Celestron Astromaster 90 no problem!!!This review is written based on use with an Astromaster 90 refractor, which the mount has no problem with at all.As other reviews have said, there is a limit to the slow-motion range of altitude. However, this is not a design flaw!!! Guess what, there is a limit on range of the Azimuth slow motion as well!! Again, not a design flaw.For Altitude, mount your scope, and take a 3/4” box wrench, preferably 12 point, and loosen the nut that holds the scope from tipping on its own. Adjust scope to balance if necessary. Snug up the nut so the scope cannot tip on its own at all, but can be tilted up/down by exerting pressure on the end of the scope. Tilting the scope manually is how you get the scope to the rough altitude.As said earlier, there is a range of motion for the azimuth as well. The first thing I did was to remove the cover over the azimuth mechanism with a small Phillips screwdriver. This mechanism is somewhat similar in operation to the altitude slow-motion adjustment mechanism. I keep the cover off so I can set up the mount for viewing before I even take it outside. If you ever get to the end of the azimuth slow-motion travel, just loosen the locking knob, and turn the slow-motion to the other stop. With the locking knob loosened, the scope will not move when the slow-motion knob is turned.I set the mount up so the slow-motion knobs have about 75% of their travel in the directions that the objects I am tracking will be moving. For example if Saturn is going to be moving up and right as I am observing it, both altitude and azimuth will have 75% of the screw travel available to move the scope up and to the right. I keep 25% of opposite travel available for initial sighting adjustments.The negatives:I wish that the tray would lock the legs, like the EQ tripod that came with my Astormaster. For me (no photography) it is stable enough, but could use some help in this area.When the scope is pointed high in the sky, the azimuth slow motion knob hits the scope. No concern for me, just thought I’d mention it.Directions would be nice for those that are not mechanically inclined, or have not read the other reviews on this product.I can see how the elevation can be a problem for those using binoculars trying to stargaze.The tripod is roughly the same height as that that came with my Astromaster, which still needed more height to view items high in the sky. To help with this, I have set the tripod on two courses of concrete block. I have put a closet flange (toilet bowl flanges) on them to be sure the tripod cannot be bumped off the blocks. Obviously this is not feasible for those traveling with their scopes. But for those set up in the backyard, could be a solution for the binocular crowd.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 20, 2019

Comment:

I got this Tripod to go under an Orion Apex 90 Maksutov-Cassegrain telescope as an upgrade from the camera tripod I was previously using. It’s gotten a fair amount of use since I got it and believe its a 5 star tripod for what it’s built for but definitely not for everything.Pro’s1 It’s very solid compared to other tripods at this price point. A light breeze or nudge doesn’t make you totally loose whatever you’re looking at. It’s heavier than my camera tripod but I don’t feel wary about slapping a big telephoto or actual telescope on my DSLR when using this. That being said…2 It’s surprisingly light. It’s pretty much my grab and go tripod now. It’s not a chore to pick the whole setup up and reposition for a different view.3 It’s fine controls work well. For sky viewing or photo’s at a distance having micro adjustments really help. You manhandle it to get close and then dial it in.Con’s1 They use a nut and screw mechanism for the fine adjustments. So trying to track an object moving across the sky for extended viewing you will find yourself running out of fine adjustment. Then you have to twist the knobs to get everything in the center (or a little bit the other way), and then find whatever you were looking at again by manhandling the scope. This was most likely done to keep the costs down as it’s cheaper and easier to do this robustly than for a worm and wheel type adjustment seen on more expensive mounts.2 Virtually no declination. This scope has a hard stop that prevents you from pointing it more than a few degrees below the horizon when orientated correctly. Now you can always take a rotary tool to the offending lip to free up some more play but as is, no “top of mountain looking down into valleys” action. Not a deal breaker but 10-15 extra degrees would have been nice as I don’t like setting anything expensive on a not balanced and level mount.3 It’s a bit short for some applications. This is both a pro and a con but unless you have a 90 degree star diagonal and a shorter scope (like a Maksutov-Cassegrain) looking at things near apex (or straight up and down) will have you about sitting on the ground. Even with the diagonal when I tried out a friends 60mmx700mm refractor there was a limited range of things I could look at “comfortably” .4 The cheap plastic cover that hides the side to side adjust screw has already broken off. It is just there to hide the mechanism and not worth me taking a star off. Actually this with a little glow in the dark paint made it easier for me to eyeball how much more travel I had left before I need to reset so if it hadn’t broke I probably would have taken it off eventually.Overall this is a good deal if you have a compact scope with a decent star diagonal or want to strap a really beefy telephoto lens on your camera and take LONG distance photos. Not so much if you have a longer scope or need something that can track accurately over long sweeps of travel. Still it has a place in my camping kit or when I want to check out the moon or planets and don’t feel the urge to drag my much larger and bulkier telescopes out. Also at this price point and with the Apex 90 I don’t have a problem letting somebody I don’t know handle the scope and tripod (e.g. kids the next campsite over wants to look at Jupiter). Something I can’t say for some of my more expensive setups.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 31, 2019

Comment:

This is a great tripod and would recommend highly that be sold with Celestron products like the “Celestron – 70mm Travel Scope – Portable Refractor Telescope – Fully-Coated Glass Optics – Ideal Telescope for Beginners – BONUS Astronomy Software Package” available at Amazon.It is lightweight yet highly sturdy and provides the stability in tracking astronomy targets needed. It could also be utilized with a camera and powerful telephoto lens, etc……This is a great astronomy beginners tripod and would highly recommend to anyone, beginning star gazing.

Overall rating 4 stars
January 12, 2020

Comment:

As long as you understand that the fine adjustments have a limited range and that you must point the telescope manually then use the fine adjustments to center and stay on target, you will like this product. I am using it with a Celestron C90 Mak which is small enough to not need a counterweight. Could be a problem with longer scopes. I am using it for both terrestrial and astronomical observations.Always trade-offs with light weight and portable vs. sturdy and expensive. This mount is sturdy enough for how I am using it and it is reasonably priced. Overall very pleased with this product.

Overall rating 3 stars
January 26, 2020

Comment:

For what this tripod cost, I’m happy with the build quality. As a telescope tripod, however, the lack of 90-degree altitude travel is a problem. The recommendation is apparently to “use force for large altitude adjustments”, but there is no handle for this on the scope and you’ll need to apply that force on your telescope which means risking damage to the scope or (more likely) the tripod mounting bracket. A tension quick-release on the altitude clamp that allows for low-force adjustments would have been a huge improvement for this tripod.

Description
Mount your Celestron binoculars or spotting scope to this Celestron 93607 heavy-duty aluminum altazimuth tripod to add stability to your viewing experience. Flexible slow-motion altitude and altazimuth cables make fine positioning adjustments easy.
Details
Details
General
Product Name Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes
Brand Celestron
Model Number 93607
Additional Accessories Included Accessory Tray
Color Category Silver
Dimension
Maximum Weight Capacity 10 pounds
Product Weight 10 pounds
Product Height 32 inches
Product Width 32 inches
Additional Dimension
Minimum Extended Height 32 inches
Maximum Extended Height 45 inches
Compatibility
Socket Size 1/4 in.
Model Compatibility Celestron SkyMaster 20 x 80 and 25 x 100 binoculars and Ultima 80 and 100, C90 and C130 Mak and C5 spotting scopes
Brand Compatibility Celestron
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 2 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 2 years
Other
UPC 050234936071
The Celestron company offers users to check out 93607. The features of 93607, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 93607 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 93607. Buy (Celestron 93607 or Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes) with benefits.
My review Celestron Heavy-Duty Altazimuth Tripod for Select Celestron Binoculars and Scopes 93607

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới