Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Celestron StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes 94005

Overall rating 4 stars
4 from 20 reviews
Celestron
Specifications
Model Number
94005
Product Name
StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes
Color
Black
Brand
Celestron
Color Category
Black
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts
2 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor
2 years
Specifications
Model Number:
94005
Product Name:
StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes
Color:
Black
Brand:
Celestron
Color Category:
Black
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts:
2 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor:
2 years
The Celestron company offers users to check out 94005. The features of 94005, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 94005 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 94005. Buy (Celestron 94005 or StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes) with benefits.

Celestron StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes 94005 Overview

StarSense - New AutoAlignment for most Celestron Telescopes

StarSense - New AutoAlignment for most Celestron Telescopes

Celestron StarSense AutoAlign Telescope Automated Alignment

Celestron StarSense AutoAlign Telescope Automated Alignment

Celestron StarSense: Set-Up, Alignment, & Calibration

Celestron StarSense: Set-Up, Alignment, & Calibration

Computerized Telescopes: A Beginners Guide

Computerized Telescopes: A Beginners Guide

Celestron StarSense: Set-Up, Alignment, & Calibration with SkyPortal

Celestron StarSense: Set-Up, Alignment, & Calibration with SkyPortal

Reviews

4/5
Overall rating 4 stars
20 reviews
5
14
4
4
3
0
2
0
1
2
Overall rating 5 stars
January 21, 2018

Comment:

Aligning a Celestron GOTO telescope “by hand” is a time-consuming drag, and difficult to do in light-polluted environments like the one I live in. The StarSense auto-aligner turns that task into a 2-3 minute hands-off experience that requires minimal set-up by the user.I do have one big caveat. When I attempted my first alignment, it failed miserably, and the software in StarSense had altered the latitude of my location (which I had previously typed in as part of the set-up). Upon going to Celestron Support, I found out that I needed to upgrade the firmware for the StarSense. It turned out that the firmware in the one I bought from Amazon was dated 2014, and there had been six subsequent upgrades published by Celestron. Fortunately, I know enough about computers so that the task of upgrading the firmware was not too difficult. After that the auto-alignment performed very well. That Celestron took the trouble to do six upgrades in four years is a tribute to their support team, but that does seem like a lot of upgrades.Now that the power of the GOTO feature of my telescope has been enhanced by fast and accurate auto-alignment, I expect I will be using my telescope a lot more than I have been.

Overall rating 1 stars
June 23, 2018

Comment:

Biggest waste of money ever. It would never work with my 8SE telescope. I’d go through the alignment process and it would say that it was successful, but then it was totally off. So much so, it wasn’t even possible to do the calibration. I thought that maybe it was a location issue, so I ordered the GPS unit. The GPS unit didn’t work properly with the star sense handset. Thought it was 2012 and put my Long & Lat way off. So I pulled off the star sense handset and put on my original one and the GPS unit worked perfectly. Obviously something very wrong with the star sense unit. Outside of the return window, so guess I’ll have to contact Celestron to see what they say… so far the forums haven’t helped at all. Very disappointed.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 27, 2018

Comment:

How did I live without it??? It’s so easy now to align my scope! 🙂 ok but first I need to say that my first try didn’t work, the software needed to be updated on the hand control. I had to call celestron and they guided me through the installation. First a lady told me to return it, but I had done my research and I knew it was probably an update that was causing the problem. Later I called back and a gentlemen walked me though the steps, I had to download a zipfile to download a program (does not work on a mac) needs to be a windows computer. After I downloaded the software I had to download the driver for the cable, if not the program wont recognize the device. The link for the driver was also provided by celestron. Once I did that, it updated and now it works amazing! So if you are thinking about making your like easy just spend the money because it’s worth it, and yes it’s a hassle that you need to do an update but I would do it all over again, because I hate the 3 star alignment haha. Wishing you dark skies! 🙂

Overall rating 5 stars
March 25, 2019

Comment:

I struggled with the classic star alignment of my Celestron SCT. The dinky plastic finder didn’t help and on a long night (if I got the alignment working) I was either substituting a star or starting over from bumping the tripod. I called it a night many times before I was ready to. I had success upgrading a non-computerized Newtonian with a Telrad and a finderscope but for a few dollars more this became a possibility. It literally takes 90 seconds to auto-align, before I could have spent 45 minutes and not be happy. I read the instructions before starting, and had to run through the initial setup twice because I pressed Back when I meant to press Enter. I had no problems installing, the handset is upgraded. Very pleased.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 1, 2019

Comment:

Like another reviewer asked, “what’s the problem, people?” I had absolutely no problem getting the StarSense to align my Celestron 6SE perfectly and quickly. That’s not 100% true, my first attempt at aligning returned a “failure” error. That’s when I noticed I was way too close to my house (which was basically blocking the entire western horizon) and it was also still pretty bright out so there were few stars visible. I waited about 30 minutes and also moved my telescope about 20 feet away from the house. The second attempt at aligning worked perfectly. Not sure how some others are having so many problems, but I’m not one of them.One especially important tip I’ll offer is to be careful during the initial setup. You only get *one* opportunity to set up the correct city/state location. If you mess that up, your unit will be set to the default location of Torrance, California, and the unit won’t ask you again. You can change that in the (Menu) manually, but I think that’s the cause of a significant amount of problems people have with this unit. If your SS thinks you’re in California, but you’re actually in Maine (or even Idaho, it doesn’t take much geographic change), you’re going to get all sorts of wonky behavior.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 10, 2019

Comment:

The Celestron StarSense works as advertised and it’s wonderful! After performing a 1-time calibration that took about 15 minutes, my Celestron telescope now auto-aligns in just a few minutes after turning it on thanks to the integration of the StarSense module. I can then use either my telescope hand controller or app running on my android device to slew to anything that’s visible. FYI: The one-time calibration process involves calibrating the scope first with a low-powered eyepiece followed by a “fine calibration” with a higher-powered eyepiece. I’ve notice that even after completing the fine calibration, the scope can still be slightly off-center (but not always) when trying to align to an object with a high-powered eyepiece. Even so, this is negligable and I’m still amazed at how fast and accurate the StarSense module is. The amount of time this saves you from aligning your scope make this well worth the money. 5 stars!

Overall rating 4 stars
July 17, 2019

Comment:

TBD on final but learned the hard way and wanted to share. The item is nice and easy to attach. My scope is new Celestron 8 inch Nextstar. Called tech support in CA and after a long hold left number for call back. That was at 3pm. They called at 6PM and tried to guide me and my MacBook air through the process. My OSX operating system Mojave was too new…so I had to run on an older version computer (daughter’s OSX El Capitan. You need a PL 2303 Driver for MAC found on Proflific.com You also need to install the current version of JAVA then restart computer. Then the diagrams are incorrect for the current product. Once you download CFM Celestron Updater from their website you hold the bottom left button of the hand controller and “7” to get to the download acceptance as in the directions. The star sense and hand controller will both be recognized with a usb to micro usb quality cable…I had 7 they all worked. Firmware for both downloaded and installed. I tried to view moon, saturn and jupiter as all were in view but it slewed all over and failed several times. Ended up manually looking at them and pretty awesome just had to follow. May upgrade to 5 star soon once skies clear again to try! Just sharing the tech said most are boxed up and sit on shelves and firmware typically out of date as mine was and lots of bugs fixed. Hope it works for you as there are many blogs out there that are dated and not relevant. Good luck! must be updated first will not work out of the box. Thanks.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 28, 2019

Comment:

I’m giving 5 stars because I think this products benefits outweigh it’s faults.My impressions will be ongoing as it arrived in the mail yesterday, and I used it last night. So my perpective is from that of a newb. I ordered it from Amazon together with the Celestron Wifi adapter for my Celestron CPC 1100 scope (also from Amazon).My biggest worries was that it would need a firmware upgrade and that it wouldn’t talk well with the scope or the Wifi adapter or phone planetarium software. All those worries were unfounded, as it worked very well without any firmware upgrades.It was very easy to set up if you follow the controller prompts which also matched the how-to video that Celestron put out. At first it slewed for about 5 minutes without locking on anything before I realized that the cap was still on the lens (duh!) so don’t forget to take the cap off.Once the cap was off, it found about 100 stars in every calibration in my moderately light polluted skies and minimal view of the sky (maybe could see about 50% of the sky because of houses and trees). But it handled it cleanly. Would the alignment have been better if I had better views? Possibly, as the final alignment was not dead accurate, with the targets being slightly off center. The images were still present in my 13 degree eyepiece though, and a tap of the directional button put it in the center.Combined with the Wifi Adapter, this felt like next-level astronomy in the 21st century. Very cool! In about an hour, I was able to observe about 25 deep sky objects, and it was a blast. No regrets, and i think this will help me use my scope more, which is a good thing.I appreciate this too, because I don’t have the best back, and this device saves me from the awkward contortions of looking through a straight finder scope that came with the CPC 1100. That alone makes this worth it.The bad? I had to calibrate it to a star three times, which felt like it wasted a lot of time. This was because I did it first with the hand controller, then with the Celestron SkyPortal app, then with Sky Safari 6 Pro. It would have been nice if it just remembered the settings, but hey, maybe I won’t have to do it ever again. And since it wasn’t perfectly aligned, I have to wonder if I did something wrong or if it just isn’t 100% accurate.Recommended.

Overall rating 1 stars
September 9, 2019

Comment:

Wow, not sure where to start but here goes…The bad:1. The manual. Not sure how long its been since the manual was updated, but the steps outlined in it don’t match what you’re seeing on the hand held controller.2. The hand held controller. The back light on my originally included controller was bright and easy to see. The one that came with the StarSense was impossible to see, even after adjusting the brightness and contrast around.3. Communication issues. The StarSense would fail to recognize my scope 90% of the time. I actually found myself having to power cycle everything several times just to get it to communicate with my NexStar 8se. Keep in mind that it takes 20-30 seconds to boot and it wont let you know that it failed to communicate until after 30 seconds has lapsed. It would take me the better part of 10 minutes just to get everything up and running.4. Alignment. I tried 5 or 6 times to get this thing to align. Scope would slew around to its preprogrammed positions, then after it was unable to align, it would just sit there. No message on the screen, no indication that it failed, nada.Needless to say, I yanked this thing off my scope and returned it the next day.

Overall rating 4 stars
November 6, 2019

Comment:

It’s one of those tech gadgets that’s hard to resist. Designed for most modern computerized Celestron mounts, it attached readily to my older black tube C8, using Celestron’s new larger finderscope bracket, with screw holes spaced at 1″ to 1.5″ apart. An additional bracket fitting common to Orion dovetail style finder brackets is also provided. I’m thinking it should then work on my 5″ refractor. Of course, that will entail a new collimation procedure. Once you get it up and running, the misery of twisting your neck while kneeling in mud and weeds to get a manual alignment will thankfully end. The downside of the SS is the frustration of a poorly written user manual, especially the section describing the collimation steps, which are essential for alignment of the SS camera with your particular telescope’s optical axis. Read the manual’s instructions about 5 times, then it may make sense. Another issue, discovered just last night, is the inability of the camera to find sufficient stars under a moonlit sky. The first quarter moon was bright enough to stymie the SS plate solving routine…until several hours later when the moon had drifted behind a tree. So, if you are patient and can get the SS running, and restrict use to dark skies, the SS will be an expensive but pleasant tool for quick alignment.

Description
This Celestron StarSense AutoAlign 94005 device utilizes an on-board camera and internal database of celestial objects to automatically align your Celestron computerized telescope, so you can begin observing within minutes.
Details
Details
General
Model Number 94005
Product Name StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes
Color Black
Brand Celestron
Color Category Black
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 2 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 2 years
Other
Product Width 7 inches
UPC 050234940054
Product Height 7 inches
Product Length 7 inches
Product Weight 1.5 pounds
The Celestron company offers users to check out 94005. The features of 94005, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 94005 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Celestron 94005. Buy (Celestron 94005 or StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes) with benefits.
My review Celestron StarSense AutoAlign for Most Celestron Computerized Telescopes 94005

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới