Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Defender 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System 4K2T8B8

Overall rating 4.1 stars
4.1 from 20 reviews
Defender
Specifications
Network Connectivity
Ethernet
Number Of Channels
8
Maximum Operating Temperature
122 degrees fahrenheit
Storage Type
DVR
Night Vision
Yes
Recording Resolution
1280 x 720, 1920 x 1080, 1024 x 768, 3840 x 2160, 2560 x 1440
Camera Power Source
Plug-in
Specifications
Network Connectivity:
Ethernet
Number Of Channels:
8
Maximum Operating Temperature:
122 degrees fahrenheit
Storage Type:
DVR
Night Vision:
Yes
Recording Resolution:
1280 x 720, 1920 x 1080, 1024 x 768, 3840 x 2160, 2560 x 1440
Camera Power Source:
Plug-in
The Defender company offers users to check out 4K2T8B8. The features of 4K2T8B8, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 4K2T8B8 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Defender 4K2T8B8. Buy (Defender 4K2T8B8 or 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System) with benefits.

Defender 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System 4K2T8B8 Overview

DEFENDER 4K Security Camera System Review  - A Good LOREX or SWANN Alternative ?

DEFENDER 4K Security Camera System Review - A Good LOREX or SWANN Alternative ?

Defender Wired 1 T DVR security system with 4K cameras blogger unboxing and review

Defender Wired 1 T DVR security system with 4K cameras blogger unboxing and review

Night Owl - Extreme HD 8-Channel, 8-Camera Wired 1TB DVR Surveillance System

Night Owl - Extreme HD 8-Channel, 8-Camera Wired 1TB DVR Surveillance System

Defender 4-Channel HD 1080p 1TB Security System review from an average guy

Defender 4-Channel HD 1080p 1TB Security System review from an average guy

Swann 4K NVR Security Camera System Review - Unboxing, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

Swann 4K NVR Security Camera System Review - Unboxing, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

Reviews

4.1/5
Overall rating 4.1 stars
20 reviews
5
6
4
11
3
2
2
0
1
1
Overall rating 4 stars
July 22, 2019

Comment:

I’ve owned several cloud base alarm cameras. I’ve been wanting to get myself a hard drive alarm set to avoid paying those monthly fees and just have it stored and delete what I don’t want. The alarm set contained a DVR, 4 (4k) cameras, video cables, mouse, power supplies, mounting screws and paperwork. You can record continuously from 4 channels with it’s 1TB hard drive. I decided to put my hard drive in the attic and install a long HDMI cable to my regular office. I have two monitors so I can switch between my computer and the alarm system cameras without going to the attic.

The picture quality is great! The 4k features really stand out. The viewing angle on the cameras are up to 79°. You can download the “Defender” app to get access to the live stream. I haven’t looked up other options besides the basic.

I really wanted a wired alarm set due to the battery life. I hated un-mounting the cameras, charging, and mounting back. The advantage of these cameras is that they record all the time each camera is always on and does not drain the battery while using motion sensing, IR illumination. You’ll have to use a hard wire to connect to the internet. One thing I dislike about the system.

Overall, I am pleased with the system. I haven’t owned many wired alarm sets mostly wireless I can only reviewed based on my one experience. I would recommend it. The price seems high considering there are other options but the 4k works well, it stores 1tb, and you can access from anywhere using the app. I would recommend.

Overall rating 4 stars
July 23, 2019

Comment:

I have so many cameras already but most are wireless and none are part of a comprehensive security system. So it was time to finally get a security system and not just have individual cameras. The Defender 4K security system is an old school throwback to when everything was wired and everything went to a central hub. Knowing this going in makes a huge difference in regards to whether or not you will find the system to be what you want. But even if it is not what you want per se it is likely what you need. Because once it’s all said and done, at the end of the day, it’s a really good security system. Wired is definitely not very much fun to setup but once it is actually set up it is going to always be superior to wireless.

Setting up the system took me about half a day, the majority of that consisted of running the lengthy cables. The cables provided are fairly long but depending upon where you are planning to mount you may need to get some longer cable runs and thankfully the manufacturer makes that easy because one of the first things you unpack is how to do that. Getting the box up and running takes a while but is not very difficult, so long as you don’t get too curious and start changing options that you don’t know what they do (my advice, do not do this heh). You are going to need to be fairly computer savvy and I’d highly advise setting up a static IP in your router when you get this up and running. And if you don’t know how to do that then it’s likely you should probably not consider yourself “computer savvy”.

Once everything is up and running the cameras are very clear and record everything. You have a 1Tb drive to record everything and for most people this is going to be enough but it appears that it would not be that difficult to replace the drive with another regular sized hard drive, of which in this day and age can be had for fairly cheap since SSDs are now becoming the standard. A grade blue Western Digital is custom made for these security systems and would be a drive I’d highly recommend.

Now in my case I connected the box to a 65″ 4K tv so that means the video really shines and I’d recommend you do the same, if you can. If not a standard monitor would work as well but the 4K monitors can be quite expensive today so I figure many people will likely be connecting this to their television screen so a quick flip of the HDMI input can allow you to see all the cameras protecting your home.

All in all this system is not easy to setup. Know that going in and you’ll probably be much happier. In many cases I’d recommend you hire a professional if you can to install everything, especially would recommend that if you are not computer savvy. Once it’s setup it’s a beauty to behold and I’d highly recommend this system. It is not going to replace all my wireless cameras that I have, I still use those, but it’s a wonderful core addition to all of them. The fact that I can flip over while watching my big screen tv and see what is going on is the biggest asset. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Overall rating 4 stars
July 31, 2019

Comment:

The Defender – 4K Security System 4-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 1TB DVR Surveillance System – Black/White provide High Quality/High Definition video monitoring for security and peace of mind. The system include 4 HD cameras, 1TB DVR, and all the necessary accessories to secure your home or business. Add-on cameras expand your viewing coverage as needed.

I found this system to be a bit frustrating as setup took a bit longer than the advertised 20 minutes. Due to size of my home, the wired connections were cumbersome compared to my previous wireless security camera system. Once setup, the quality and accessibility makes up for the set up frustrations. An abundance of DVR storage ensures there will never be a lost moment when you need it to secure your property. The save storage makes the stored video accessible for reporting suspicious activities or crimes to authorities. The quality of the video content seems good and clear unlike other systems. The smartphone app makes viewing and monitoring a breeze.

PROS
– HD video and recording
– Large DVR hard drive
– Weather resistant/proof cameras are usable in most places or weather

CONS
– The wired setup is frustrating depending on where you setup your system. I prefer the convenience and setup of wireless systems, although it is a trade off for quality verse convenience.

Overall rating 3 stars
August 7, 2019

Comment:

I’ll preface this review by mentioning that I have several surveillance systems that I use, both at work and at home. I have both wired and wireless cameras in my house and my wired system was installed when the house was built. I work for a very large organization that has wired DVR camera systems at nearly all of its satellite locations, so I have a lot of experience looking at different surveillance setups.

The Defender 4K system has a fantastic DVR. The box is small, quiet, and functions without any problems. It makes the DVR I have wired into my home security system look and sound clunky (not to mention I have to have a separate hard drive for that one). The Defender 4K system also allows the user to view live and stored feeds using the mobile app on a cell, which is very cool.

Setup was time-consuming, but with a wired kit that will happen. I did run into an issue during hook-up, and that is the wires that connect the cameras to the DVR were much too short for my home. I have a 3800 square foot two-story home, so around 2000 square feet upstairs where I planned on placing the cameras. I was going to place one at each corner of the house (the kit comes with 4), but when I strung out the wire in preparation for placing it under carpets or in walls, I came up well short of the needed length. The gist of it all is, if you need to place these four cameras more than 50′ or so from the DVR, the cables are not long enough.

Since it wouldn’t work where I wanted it to, I instead placed the entire system in one of the shops I oversee. I had to buy an ethernet power plug kit to make sure that I could connect the internet to the DVR, and then set everything up. Set up was a breeze. I placed two cameras outside the building, and two inside. I used the app to connect to the DVR and left the unit in place monitoring the shop (it’s about 1200 square feet). The motion detection works great. I get an alert on the phone, I open the app, and I can see what triggered the motion. The bummer is, viewing the cameras through my android phone is rather laggy. I have a T1 connection at the shop, and I am on wifi where I am at, so I don’t think it is my internet speed. I don’t have the same challenge with the other camera systems I can access with my phone, either. It is a struggle to watch live on the phone because the picture freezes for a moment and then comes back but skips a second or two. Another issue is that when I access the cameras using the DVR and try to zoom with them, the video just gets blurred. For 4K I thought it might have been better at zooming. Additionally, I had a motion alert and tried to see what was going on with one of the outside cameras in the late afternoon and saw someone running past the front of the building. There was no detail to them, however; they were just a blur. I could see someone, but would never have been able to identify them. My workgroup and I did quite a few different tests using the zoom function and we were rather disappointed that other systems we have are much more detailed, while only being 1080p.

A couple of other things: As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve got a lot of cameras that I access. Most of these cameras are not affected by rain because they have covers and protrusions that keep rain from getting on the lenses. The Defender 4K set up does not have the extended lips and covers around the cameras to keep them from getting dirty in a rainstorm. I had to clean the lenses twice already. It gets windy in Vegas, dust blows, it rains, the Defender cameras get dirty, and when the sun hits them in the afternoon I can’t see anything. I have had to clean the two outdoor ones twice in the last week.

Pros:
Fantastic DVR
Relatively easy setup
Smartphone access

Cons:
Cabling too short
Zoom feature is too blurry
Fast movement has no detail
Get dirty easily (if mounted outdoors)

In conclusion: Please don’t think that I don’t like the Defender system. That’s not the case at all! I think it definitely has its place for the right consumer. I would recommend this system to someone who needs to cover a small(ish) area. The DVR is the best part of this kit, compared to other units I’ve had an used. For me, its a 3-star rating in total. Poor zoom detail, poor fast movement detail, laggy video while using the mobile app and a propensity for the outdoor cameras to get dirty lenses knocks a couple of stars off.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 7, 2019

Comment:

My partner and I did the installation.
Contrary to my initial thought, no electrician required!

Decided on a wired security system for reasons peculiar to my circumstance:

Mounted high and discreet and in light of wifi coverage interruptions as of late, wired has been a more stable choice for my security application.

Moreover, research indicates concerns about the impact of home EMFs (electro magnetic fields) and EMFs, in general, on metabolic efficiencies in humans and their animal companions. 

In addition to my blue blocking efforts for sleep, I know others who are super sensitive to EMFs.

So, factor your level of sensitivity when making a choice between wired or wireless.

You may or may not have reached saturation with your home network’s level of electronics.
But, consider leaving room for the impact of 5G and forthcoming global ‘street level to satellite’ coverage.

Close to indestructible packaging of the Defender 4k unit.

Manual says to save all packaging in the event return is required.
30 day return policy but 1 year warranty with option for 1 year extension.

Easy start guide affords step by step visuals with tech assist online and by phone.

Install the app for surveillance via smartphone or 4k monitor.

While exploring FAQs at defender-ask.com, kept getting the ErrorMsg: “Argument can not be null”. Will report glitch; but, so far, manual sufficed without need to call Tech during set up.

Though you can choose continuous coverage or motion detection only, I made sure to limb bushy arbor vitae to prevent unnecessary motion detection during windy conditions. Figure voluminous system alerts in addition to processing the usual texts and emails would drive me batty.

System is worth every penny now that security is off grid enough to cut the subscription monitoring cord.

Overall rating 3 stars
August 11, 2019

Comment:

This camera system seems to be under-developed to be honest. I was excited about upgrading my camera system. I have a cheaper lower quality system I got from Amazon about two years ago and it runs fine, but the quality isn’t there. Details such as faces were more of blurs than anything, but it served its purpose fairly well, especially for the price.

This system is a misleading, it has 4 cameras and 4 channels, but only one of them is 4k (channel 1). You have 3 camera quality modes to pick from on channel 1, 8MP, 5MP, and 1080P. 8P being 4k. The other 3 channels are 5MP and 1080P. During the setup process I replaced the cameras I had with the new ones and setup the receiver. I was not very impressed with the outdoor cameras. The picture was pretty grainy and channel 1 had a lot of red line interference (red line moving in the picture and red spots throughout), even after messing with the settings.

Apparently I had messed up the camera on Channel 1 by trying different settings to fix the red lines and image and it wouldn’t show anything nor would it let me change the picture quality image on the receiver. I had to swap the camera out with another to get it working again, and the first camera started to finally work after a few tries on another channel. Ok, so maybe this is the best quality I can get outdoors? Indoors I didn’t notice much graininess and the picture seemed fine, but I felt 4k camera system was overkill for indoors. So I attempted to zoom in on the camera 1 to see how well this 4k was, and it was as blurry as my previous camera system. I attempted to zoom during live feed and during video playback. I couldn’t read the house numbers on the house across the street nor could I really focus or recognize the little girls face who was playing in the front yard. I would think I could at least pick up a license plate number from a still vehicle right in front of my house but I highly doubt that is possible.

So now I tried to use their cables they included, maybe they were higher quality and so I ran a separate line and camera out the front door and the same quality was there. I attempted a factory reset, looked for a firmware update, and reached out to support to see if there were some setting changes that needed to be made. There is no firmware update available, support has seemed eager to help but I haven’t got anywhere with them. I submitted a ticket last Saturday, they responded Monday. I responded back the same day with screen shots and responses to their email. I didn’t hear back until Thursday from what appears to be escalated support and was told I would get a response within 48 hours, its Friday and I’m hoping to hear back from before Monday.

Overall, the camera system appears to work, but the quality just isn’t what I was expecting. I can still view things fine with the system and maybe a good purchase if you don’t need the extra quality. Maybe I got a bad unit, but I do think its over-priced for a 4-channel 4k camera system that only has one 4k channel, even if the quality was there.

I am still waiting to hear back from their support to try and walk through the issue and will update my reviews accordingly.

Overall rating 4 stars
August 16, 2019

Comment:

This is my first time using a Defender brand product and I can say wow, I will definitely look into using more of their products. While these cameras are wired, they are super easy to setup and use with the mobile app for remote viewing of your cameras.

The picture quality is great and better than others I have seen. They are 4K rated, 8MP cameras and produce a great image as expected. Since the cameras are IP67 rated, they should also be able to withstand the weather elements (time will tell though).

Out of the box the cameras come with everything you need to setup (DVR with 1TB hard drive, cameras, cables for cameras) except for a VGA cable to connect the DVR to a monitor. I only wish there were longer cables for setting up the cameras as well. Extensions are available but to purchase separately. This is still better than having to replace batteries every few months as compared to battery powered cameras!

Overall these cameras are great 4K rated cameras and ones you would want for clear video surveillance. The setup is also easy and I always recommend wired security cameras vs wireless. Keep in mind, this is a 4 camera surveillance system and cannot be upgraded beyond 4 cameras.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 20, 2019

Comment:

Pros: Wired connection, nice image quality, always recording capability, IP67 weather resistance rating, 1 TB DVR storage, mobile device access, night vision.

Cons: Wired connection, only channel 1 supports 4k resolution, tricky setup if not tech savvy.

I’ve installed quite a few wired security systems as well as wireless and generally prefer wired connections and here’s why – wireless systems either need to be recharged, have batteries swapped, or it needs to be connected to an independent power outlet. The wireless convenience becomes not so convenient. I really like that traditional wired security cameras have power and video on the same wire which eliminates the hassle of dealing with the wireless camera issues. The other issue I don’t care for is recording is triggered by motion detection only, at least with the systems I tried. An ideal hybrid situation would be a wireless door/doorbell camera + wired everywhere else setup, which is what I plan to eventually expand to, but in the meantime, I’m sticking with a simple 4 camera wired system.

Setup can be tedious and daunting especially in the networking part. Planning the wire run does take extra time, but is well worth it (see above for wireless woes). I do like the granular control when it comes to quality settings and trigger (record) parameters. I also like the ability to set cameras to be always on or to be motion activated.

There is mobile access for both Android and iOS platforms which is a nice option to check the feed on the go, but prefer monitoring on a PC.

You can’t go wrong with this entry level system for basic home security camera needs as long as you don’t plan on adding more cameras. Be prepared to spend more if you want something with more video channels.

Overall rating 4 stars
August 21, 2019

Comment:

The Good – First let me say, the video quality is great. No issues with that at all. It seems pretty consistent and doesn’t seem to lag. The set up instructions are good and all of the components seem to be good quality.

The Bad – My house is 2K square feet and I had to place the camera’s very strategically because each camera only comes with 60′ of cable so running into the attic and down or into the basement and back up was an issue. You also have to plug the DVR base into a router which is pretty common but still you have to plan for it. Extra wire isn’t too expensive but it’s an added cost.

Overall good quality system!

Overall rating 1 stars
February 7, 2020

Comment:

**UPDATE We returned the system. It was taking several hours to get replies to emails. I received an email telling me I would get another email “shortly” with instructions for returning the camera. I asked if they were shipping out a replacement camera. Four hours later, no response nor had I received the follow up email about returning the defective camera. I called. I got a message that all agents were busy. No option to hold. Called again and got an agent. I told them I wasn’t that happy about being down a camera for a couple of weeks for a new system that only was installed for three weeks. They offered to let me buy another camera and refund that when the other camera was received. I did not care for those options when I just paid $500 a month ago. We took everything down and returned the entire system.We bought this product from Amazon a month ago. It was shipped by Defender direct to us. Only three weeks after installation, one of the cameras started flickering. The next morning it was black. Our only option from Amazon is to uninstall the entire system and send it back. I contacted Defender directly. They told me they needed proof of purchase which I thought was odd since they shipped it to me but according to customer service, they don’t have access to the records. They will replace a camera but I have to ship this one back first, which sounds as if I will be without a camera for a few weeks. Deciding whether to return a camera or the entire system. The good things is that the system does show a good picture. The system is easy to work and set up. Not impressed with a camera going out in three weeks though. Motion does detect all movement, such as a flag waving or trees blowing.

Description
Enhance surveillance across multiple areas at once with this Defender 4K eight-camera security system. The 4K resolution provides crystal-clear images for reviewing footage in detail, while the 2TB of local storage offers ample space for saving videos. This Defender 4K eight-camera security system has a durable housing for standing up to harsh weather.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Network Connectivity Ethernet
Number Of Channels 8
Maximum Operating Temperature 122 degrees fahrenheit
Storage Type DVR
Night Vision Yes
Recording Resolution 1280 x 720, 1920 x 1080, 1024 x 768, 3840 x 2160, 2560 x 1440
Camera Power Source Plug-in
Minimum Operating Temperature -22 degrees fahrenheit
Field Of View 79 degrees
Number Of Cameras Included 8
General
Product Name 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System
Color Category Black
Model Number 4K2T8B8
Brand Defender
Color Black
Power
Camera Connectivity Wired
Camera Power Source Plug-in
Camera
Number of IR LEDs 24
Camera Infrared Distance 98 feet
Pan-Tilt-Zoom Functionality Yes
Night Vision Yes
Minimum Required Illumination 0.003 lux
Camera Mount Type Other
Frame Rate 18 frames per second
Image Sensor Type CMOS
Camera(s) Included Yes
Field Of View 79 degrees
High-Definition Yes
Night Vision Distance 98 feet
Number Of Cameras Included 8
Features
Remote Monitoring Capabilities Yes
Auto-On Detection Motion
Network Connectivity Ethernet
Storage
Storage Type DVR
DVR Storage Capacity 2000 gigabytes
Internal Storage Capacity Upgradeable Upto 8000 gigabytes
Performance
Water-Resistant Housing Yes
Maximum Operating Temperature 122 degrees fahrenheit
Minimum Operating Temperature -22 degrees fahrenheit
Recording and Playback
Recording Resolution 1280 x 720, 1920 x 1080, 1024 x 768, 3840 x 2160, 2560 x 1440
Number Of Channels 8
Video Compression Type H.264
Mobile Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS
Recording Modes Motion detection
Compatibility
Smartphone Compatible Yes
Camera Compatibility Defender cameras
Included
Additional Accessories Included 8 cameras, 3 power adapters, DVR, mouse, 8 mounting brackets
DVR Included Yes
Cable(s) Included Yes
Output
DVR Output(s) HDMI, VGA, RCA audio, USB 2.0
Dimension
Camera Width 6.3 inches
Camera Height 2.8 inches
Camera Depth 6.3 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 year
Other
UPC 061783270677
The Defender company offers users to check out 4K2T8B8. The features of 4K2T8B8, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 4K2T8B8 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Defender 4K2T8B8. Buy (Defender 4K2T8B8 or 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System) with benefits.
My review Defender 4K Security System 8-Channel, 8-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 2160p 2TB DVR Surveillance System 4K2T8B8

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới