Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Lockly Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt PGD 728W MB

Overall rating 4.6 stars
4.6 from 20 reviews
Lockly
Specifications
Voice Assistant Built-in
No
Power Source
Battery-powered
Lock Type
Deadbolt
Works With
Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Network Connectivity
Bluetooth, Wireless G
Lock/Unlock Mechanism
Biometric, Key, Bluetooth
Model Number
PGD 728W MB
Specifications
Voice Assistant Built-in:
No
Power Source:
Battery-powered
Lock Type:
Deadbolt
Works With:
Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Network Connectivity:
Bluetooth, Wireless G
Lock/Unlock Mechanism:
Biometric, Key, Bluetooth
Model Number:
PGD 728W MB
The Lockly company offers users to check out PGD 728W MB. The features of PGD 728W MB, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left PGD 728W MB reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Lockly PGD 728W MB. Buy (Lockly PGD 728W MB or Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt) with benefits.

Lockly Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt PGD 728W MB Overview

LOCKLY Secure Plus Review & How To Install - World’s Most Advance Smart Lock

LOCKLY Secure Plus Review & How To Install - World’s Most Advance Smart Lock

Lockly Secure Pro Smart Lock works with Google Assistant and Alexa

Lockly Secure Pro Smart Lock works with Google Assistant and Alexa

Lockly Secure Pro Review: 5 easy ways to access a smart lock

Lockly Secure Pro Review: 5 easy ways to access a smart lock

Lockly Smart Lock Plus Review | Deadbolt Fingerprint Access | Smart Home 2019

Lockly Smart Lock Plus Review | Deadbolt Fingerprint Access | Smart Home 2019

Lockly Smart Lock | Lockly Secure Pro Full Review | DIY Installation & Tips ✅

Lockly Smart Lock | Lockly Secure Pro Full Review | DIY Installation & Tips ✅

Reviews

4.6/5
Overall rating 4.6 stars
20 reviews
5
15
4
5
3
0
2
0
1
0
Overall rating 4 stars
May 17, 2019

Comment:

The Lockly Secure Pro is one of the latest and greatest smart locks on the market. This version is the deadbolt version, there is another that can be the latch for your home if your door doesn’t have a deadbolt and you don’t feel like drilling holes (or the door isn’t compatible with a deadbolt). This lock does it all – local Bluetooth connectivity and control, control over the web via the included micro hub, pass code with a unique security feature, and most convenient of all, fingerprint. If all else fails it also has a key. All of these features come with a hefty price tag to match.

Opening the box reveals a well organized set of manuals and parts. Critically, there is a card that contains the initial access code for the lock. DO NOT LOSE IT. If the lock is reset this is the only way to register and start programming it again. The quick start manual is a kind of a joke…it basically says get the app, and oh yeah do the little job called installation. The installation is the lengthy part and you might as well just start there. I had an existing deadbolt that I removed to install this lock – fortunately the drill holes were all compatible. Unfortunately my old lock had a decorative surround that this lock did not cover….so a repaint of the entire door was required as the old deadbolt was put on and painted around. A few hours later and it was time to install this thing. The installation was pretty straightforward and went along with the directions just fine, with one exception. At the point where the control box (the part with the batteries on the inside of the door) is being screwed to the mounting plate, the directions call for the data cable to be hooked through a little cable management hook on the back of the box. If you do this, it will come out at nearly a 90 degree angle and is too thick to get the box to mount flush to the plate. The plate should have a channel for the data cable to help with this. I ended up instead not using the hook and tucked the cable down the left side of the box where there is some space. Doing that let me mount the control box flush to the plate.

The lock itself is nicely finished and classy looking, the outside is heavy and metal, while the inside control box is painted plastic to match. The outside lock is pretty large with the screen, it definitely lets someone know that your house is equipped with some smarts. Combined with a smart doorbell you have a powerful combination of features that can increase security and convenience depending on the situation.

Not including the door repaint, it took about an hour to install the lock and get ready to set it up. First, install the app on a phone and set up an account. The account setup asks for minimal information, and nothing on your location, which is important as you may not want your address to be linked to your account if it is hacked. Along these lines, I would have liked an option to enforce two factor authentication via Email code for every new device that tries to log in to your account. As it stands there is just an email verification, but not an ability to keep someone from hacking your account and using the app on their own device. Use a strong password. By default, the app also doesn’t require authentication to the app when opening the app if the phone is unlocked, so depending on your level of paranoia you may want to enable that feature too.

After getting an account set up, it’s time to initialize the lock and start having fun! Put in 3 of the 4 (included) AAs, and while putting in the 4th hold down the program button while putting in the 4th. The lock will beep and do a quick self test to figure out which way it is installed in your door. After that, follow the directions in the app to add the lock via local Bluetooth. Once the lock is set up you can then set up the included WiFi bridge (which looks like an Apple phone charger with a tail sticking up, pretty tiny and discreet) and the included door sensor if you so desire. The bridge is an extra part that some locks don’t come with…what it does in this case though is allow for much better battery life than other locks. By using AC power to power the more power hungry WiFi connection, this lock can use low energy Bluetooth only, preserving the battery.

While the lock does allow for adding passcodes and fingerprints using only the lock, program button, and the front keypad, it is much easier to add those using the app. One quirk is that the app has two modes which can be seen in the upper left of the app. If there is a cloud, the app is connected to the lock through the hub and over the internet. If there is a Bluetooth symbol, the app is connected to the lock directly via the local Bluetooth connection. Many of the settings and adding new passcodes, fingerprints, etc can only be done in local mode. Tapping on the symbol will change the mode. Connecting and switching modes will likely lead you to realize another quirk about this lock… it beeps. A lot. Every time a connection is made (or the mode switched) it beeps twice. When commands are sent, more beeps. The beeps kind of start to drive you crazy when setting up the lock and changing settings. I wish there was a way to limit the beeps.

Unlocking the lock can be accomplished via the app, or locally. The keypad is one of the key innovations here – 4 circles containing the numbers in your passcodes and other numbers are presented. This allows you to enter the code and even if someone watched you they wouldn’t be able to tell what you code is. Just tap the circles that contain the numbers and it will open. It’s ingenious but might be hard for some people to understand. Fortunately this lock also supports fingerprint unlocking. Train the lock much like fingerprint ID on a smartphone, and unlocking is just a matter of setting your finger on the sensor. The lock claims that it can’t be fooled by a lifted print, and hopefully that is the case. As a last resort, the lock can also use a physical key. It also has contacts on the bottom where a 9V battery can be used to power up the lock in an emergency if the main AAs have failed. To lock the lock, use the app, the mechanical deadbolt, the key, or just tap the screen when the lock is unlocked and it will lock.

Overall, I am pleased with this smart lock. It seems to work well and the fingerprint unlock is incredibly convenient. At this price it should be perfect, and a couple things keep it from a completely perfect rating – the cable routing and thickness issue, combined with the incessant beeping when using the app, are both drawbacks that keep it from perfect. I would still recommend the lock for anyone looking for a top of the line smart lock that can use just about any method to control, even just a finger.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 19, 2019

Comment:

Lockly – Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt is a fantastic lock with smart home integration capabilities. It has a great look and installation was a snap. I have young children, and being able to use a fingerprint to unlock the house versus carrying around a key or remembering a passcode is a fantastic feature. This unit allows you to save up to 99 fingerprints, which is way more than you will ever need. The finger print reader works great. The pass code option is also brilliant. Each time you attempt to enter a pass code, the digits rotate through four three digit circles making it much more secure from someone trying to look at previous imprints. To make it even more secure, you can opt to have the digits rotate after each press, however that option will disable some other functionality such as creating offline access codes. Personally, I think the shuffling of digits for each access attempt is sufficient. Another cool feature I have never seen before, which can be helpful as a last resort if your lock battery happens to run out. Yiu can touch a 9v battery on the bottom of the unit to enable you to enter your passcode or use the fingerprint option to unlock your door. There is also a key option that is hidden behind a rotating key door. So these are your options on the deadbolt lock itself. But there are additional ways of entry with the Lockly mobile app, which is also compatible with Alexa. For additional security, for those time you know you don’t want passcode or fingerprint access, from inside the house you can set the deadbolt on on and off with a switch. If I had to name any flaws, only two things come to mind. There is an audio option in the app settings, however when turning it off, the unit still beeps when unlocking the unit with passcode and fingerprint. The other issue is that even though the fingerprint reader works great, I would say that holds true to an adult size or older kids fingers. With smaller fingers such as with my 8 yr old, the reader can be hit or miss. Overall, I think Lockly has done a great job with features and design of this deadbolt and would highly recommend.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 20, 2019

Comment:

Wow this is a really cool dead bolt.
That’s what I will start. It have a beautiful asthetic appeal to begin with. Very easy to use very quiet. Opens the door quickly.
I have tried the finger print, wireless app and remote open and close. I can say without fail it is fast and smooth. I set up the door dead bolt pretty quickly. I am pretty mechanically inclined and was able to breeze through the install. But with that being anyone who cna follow the detailed and acurate installation guide can put this lock on within an hour or so. Everything is included to get it installed. Even if you are installing this on a new door with no holes they in led the template for installation. How cool is that.
To top it off you have the ability to use it on different door type and the lock is adjustable for both types. I highly recommend giving this lockly a chance outside of the normal industry names.

Overall rating 4 stars
May 21, 2019

Comment:

This lock offers an all in one solution to manage access and a unique design. I appreciate its security features, but I do wish it had better integration with other smart home products. Everyone loves the finger print reader and my wife likes the automatically expiring temporary codes, but it can’t currently trigger actions like my old Zwave based lock.

Pros:
– Electronic key management is great. Guest codes expire after a set limit, share electronic keys in the application, one-time use codes, and generate offline codes for guest when data access is unavailable. One minor complaint is that it doesn’t allow restricting entry based on time of day.
– Fingerprint reader works great – it is much faster than a regular key or entering a code. My kids can unlock it without remembering a code or carrying around a physical key (which they would lose or forget).
– Comes with a hub to link the lock to the internet and a door sensor. You don’t need anything else to make it work – just download the app.
– Interior off switch for when you don’t want anyone without a physical key to have access.
– The manual lock is based on a Schlage cylinder, which I prefer over some other brands and should make cutting keys / rekeying easier.
– Auto lock timer. I don’t use this, but it could be helpful and the app lets you disable / adjust the time easily.
– The random code entry makes it impossible to guess your code from worn buttons or prints on a static touch screen.
– Getting lock status and unlocking / locking with Alexa was easy (remember to look for the Lockly skill).

Comments:
– Overall the quality of the hardware is good, but the back of the lock is plastic (not metal) and the latch is silver (doesn’t match the bronze).
-Door sensor is hard to mount on doors with thick casings. I used extra double side tape, but it doesn’t look professional.
– Lock / Unlock status is not pushed, you have to poll the lock via the app(no unlock/lock notifications). You do get push notifications from the door sensor (open/close) and tech support says that they are working on this feature for the lock. This also means that you can’t currently trigger actions/routines in Alexa from Lockly.
– The lock beeps when you access it remotely – even with audio off in the app (might be a bug).
– The finger print reader is on the right side of the lock. This might be an issue if you don’t have enough space between the lock and the trim.
– Install instructions are good, but the app can be a little tricky. Some functions only work on Bluetooth, but you have to switch to remote access to edit the door sensor push settings. I did find tech support very responsive and friendly.
-The product was well packaged and came with extra screws / double sided tape, but the bag labels were backwards. If the screw is too short, you probably have ‘G’ and need ‘E’ instead. Set the parts out and match them to the diagram before you get the lock in the door and figure out you have the wrong screw.

I would recommend this lock. It has some hard to beat features and is a great option for someone who just wants a smart lock and doesn’t want to by a separate hub. If you have a lot of other smart devices linked by an existing hub or want to trigger actions in Alexa, you will have to weigh the pros and cons. This is a quality product and I believe it will continue to get better with updates.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 22, 2019

Comment:

Overall, I’m very happy with this lock. As a first-time smart door lock user, I’m very impressed with the quality of the hardware, as well as the app integration. The whole system is intuitively designed. And the app’s interface is simple but useful. I don’t think I would be as impressed with this lock if it didn’t have Wi-Fi access. Fortunately, this version of the lock (the Pro version) can connect to the internet so the lock can be monitored and controlled away from home. Having the ability to remotely monitor the lock and door’s open/close status really completes the lock’s overall package.

In terms of the actual locking and unlocking of the physical lock, the design couldn’t be simpler. I found using the secure fingerprint sensor as the easiest and most convenient way to unlock my door. The lock also has a touchscreen display for entering “key” codes, which is just as easy to use. And its ability to scramble the keypad on the display (PIN Genie technology) really adds an extra level of security to the lock. Speaking of security, the lock provides multiple options for providing access, including a physical key. There are ways to provide online, as well as offline access. Online access allows the recipient of a keycode to use the Lockly app to open and close the door lock. Offline access doesn’t require the recipient to use the app, or a phone for that matter. The company really did try to think of the many ways the lock can serve the needs of different users (home, office, renting out, etc.). One feature that is missing as of right now is the ability for the lock to automatically unlock itself as you approach the door. This auto-unlock feature would be useful if you’re approaching the door with your hands full. However, this may be a feature added in the future. While reading from Lockly’s help and support section, I found a posting from Lockly that stated they are working on this feature, but they do not want to release it until it is fully vetted and secure.

The rest of my review is mainly geared towards a few tips and tricks I discovered while installing the lock. Overall the install is relatively easy if you are replacing a current lock or deadbolt. Lockly does provide very detailed and intuitive instructions on how to install the new lock. They even provide a link to a video if needed. My install took about a half-an-hour. I would have been done with the installation at that point, but I decided to remove my old strike plate and install the new one that came with the lock. I also used longer and more secure screws for the strike plate (3-inch #8 wood screws). I describe this further below. But first here are a few tips:

When securing the bolt portion to the outside box, it’s very important to align the box and lock properly. To do so, you can use the provided 3M sticky tape to stabilize both sides of the box. Please note that the tape is rather strong, which is a plus and a negative. It’s a plus because the box will stay in place quite nicely while both sides are being attached to the door. It’s a negative because if the box (both sides) aren’t aligned properly, the bolt won’t slide in and out smoothly. A small amount of force (pulling) is required to unstick the tape from the door in order to reposition the box. The nice part about the 3M tape is that the stickiness remained even after having to reposition the box a couple of times.

Also, when tightening the bolt to the door with the provided long screws, it’s important to tighten both bolts evenly (see red arrows in pic). By tightening them evenly, the bolt will slide more freely when locking and unlocking. This is important because if there’s an obstruction with the bolt, the box’s locking motor will not work properly. This is not unique to this lock; any door lock will encounter problems if it’s installed unevenly.
And finally, as mentioned above, I choose to install the larger door strike plate that came with the new lock. The strike plate is the metal plate/box/hole that the deadbolt slides into. I could have left my current strike plate in place, but I decided to chisel out a larger square, as well increase the size of the hole with a drill bit (see pic). This is where I also installed the longer more secure screws to increase the strength and security of strike plate. Four 3-inch #8 wood screws coast $1.50 at my local hardware store.

Overall, the lock has been working well with no issues. Again, I recommend getting the version with the Wi-Fi access which includes the door sensors. It’s nice being able to check the app while I’m away to see if my door is closed and locked. I also want to mention that the Wi-Fi version also integrates with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa. I was able to easily setup the lock via the Google Home app to communicate with my Google smart speaker. I can give voice commands to check the status of my door, as well as ask Google to lock and unlock the door. Please note, unlocking by voice requires an additional pin that you select at setup for added security.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this lock.

Overall rating 4 stars
May 24, 2019

Comment:

I have used another brand smart lock on my home for about a year so I was curious to see how the Lockly Secure Plus deadbolt edition would compare. Unboxing revealed the Lockly which immediately seemed substantial and well constructed. This is the Venetian bronze edition and it looks nice. I would point out that the exterior parts are all metal while the interior parts are mostly plastic. I found this disappointing. Within the box are the hardware and installation and setup manuals. I quickly found myself somewhat intimidated as I started looking through the manuals. I somehow expected this to be complicated. As I was about to begin installation I noticed that the outside of the manual suggests installing the Bilt app for step by step instructions. I setup Bilt and searched for my Lockly model. Bilt started the process by telling you that installation and setup will take 1 hour and 45 minutes for one person and that it will take 60 installation steps. Again I got a bit anxious. Bilt told me the tools I would need. Really all you need is a philips head and flat head screwdriver. If you want to you can opt to use some extra securing screws which would require a drill. I really wanted to see if I liked the Lockly before I committed to screwing into my door.

As I jumped in and started installation Bilt walked me through each step with ease. What I expected to be a complicated installation suddenly seemed quite easy. In what seemed like no time I had the Lockly hardware installed. Bilt then continues to walk you through the setup of connecting it to your phone via WiFi, and Bluetooth. Here you also are prompted to setup an account and an access code for the pin pad. Included with the Lockly is the Secure Link WiFi Hub which permits you to access the Lockly via WiFi. Keep in mind that they suggest you plug this in within 10 feet of the Lockly. I next setup the fingerprint reader. This step was a bit complicated but love the idea and ease of use.

As I start using the Lockly I quickly appreciate the options by which you can operate the deadbolt. Unlocking your door couldn’t be easier by using either your phone, the pin pad, your fingerprint, or of course a key. Love it. The pin pad is pretty high tech in that it includes their Pin Genie solution to move the pin pad numbers around so an intruder is not able to decipher your pin pad by smudges or wear left on the pin pad. This is a great security feature.

As I continue using the Lockly I do start to notice some flaws. First off while the Lockly opens my door easily using my phone it doesn’t lock the door in my case because the deadbolt on my door doesn’t align to the hole due to weather stripping on my door. You know how you have to apply pressure while closing a door to compress the weather strip while locking the door. It seems these smart lock developers fail to address this issue. My prior smart lock failed here as well. Next I note that there is no Apple HomeKit integration. Very disappointing. The Lockly website does state that HomeKit support is coming. Hopefully sooner than later. No IFTTT support here either. I’m additionally baffled by the fact that the Lockly includes a door sensor that you need to install in order to get notifications whether your door has been opened or closed but it doesn’t notify you if it’s been locked or unlocked. Huh? Why doesn’t the Lockly itself provide this functionality? You can check a log in the settings to see this but you don’t get a notification. Bizarre.

Ultimately I found myself conflicted by the Lockly. My compliments to Lockly for offering the Bilt installation option. It’s step by step instructions made setup far easier than expected. The build quality, design, and unlocking options are quite nice but I find the clumsy and flawed notification options disappointing. I would recommend the Lockly just be aware of its limitations.

Overall rating 5 stars
May 28, 2019

Comment:

The Lockly Secure Pro Deadbolt Edition is the latest smartlock from Lockly. It boasts 5 ways to unlock your door while being more secure than its competitors. This lock is actually more of bundle of their current Secure model paired with their Wi-Fi Hub. The Secure Pro brings this bundle together – and saves you about $30 in the process. I swapped my 1st gen Kevo out for the Lockly to see how I would like it, and after a few weeks I will not be going back to the Kevo. The Lockly is here to stay.

Design

From the looks department the Secure Pro certainly looks and feels premium. My Secure Pro Deadbolt has the Venetian Bronze finish, which looks fantastic. The lock comes with 2, Type 97 6 pin keys – slightly more secure than standard 5 pin keys. The front keypad display blends nicely with the outer housing and has a nice fit/finish. The display itself is plenty bright and clear enough to see even in bright daylight. It is certainly responsive enough for my tastes. The display is resistive (like your smartphone), so you might have to pull off your gloves in the winter time if you are punching in a code. The code display has 4 circles, each with 3 numbers, displaying 0-9. This means 2 numbers will be repeated in the pattern, and the pattern shifts/jumbles after each code entry. This makes you lock secure because no one can reasonable peak over your shoulder to figure out what numbers you pressed. This means nothing though if your keycode is easy to guess – I’m talking to you 1234 or 1111 etc. code users.

The fingerprint sensor is located on the right side of the lock. The lock can store up to 99 prints. I scanned all of my fingers, since I never know which hand or finger will be free. I was very excited about the fingerprint reader because I have small kids. Remembering a code or carrying a key is difficult to impossible to rely on right now. Unfortunately I couldn’t get good scans on their fingers to get them registered with the lock. In the manual it states that the fingerprint reader is designed for users age 12 and up due to the size of their fingers and how much your print changes as a little kid. Not a big deal, but I am kind of bummed on this one.

The outer body of the Secure Pro is hefty and feels very well built. The lock comes with 2 options to mount – using double sided tape or drilling another hole in your door and adding a support anchor. I went with the tape for now, and unless I have issues that’s what I’m going to stick with. The finish really is quite nice and matches well with the Kwikset knob I bought to go with it. The interior portion of the lock is a fairly benign looking box. It has the same finish as the exterior, but this portion of the lock is made of plastic making the texture feel different. The knob to lock/unlock turns easily, and there is a switch to disable the front keypad if you don’t want that option available.

The lock connects with Bluetooth directly to your device or over a cloud connect when paired with the Wi-Fi hub. Unfortunately for me I was unable to connect my phone to the lock via BT. I have an LG V20 running Android 8.0. My phone has no problem connecting to other BT devices, just the lock. I was able to connect to the lock with an old ASUS Android tablet I had, and soon I had the lock setup how I wanted. Once it was connected to the Wi-Fi hub I could connect my phone via the cloud to the lock. The BT issue could be app related or some oddball hardware interaction. Either way, not a dealbreaker since I have the cloud connection, and I will replace my phone in the near future. I couldn’t connect my phone to my Kevo either (not a supported device), so it’s not an unfamiliar issue to me.

Features

There are a couple of features that I haven’t already mentioned. First of all is the auto locking feature. By default, the deadbolt locks itself 30 seconds after unlocking. In the app this can be adjusted up to 5 min or off. I set mine to 5 min, but I usually lock up right as I’m leaving. The lock the door from the outside, just tap at or swipe across the screen.

Through the app you are presented with a whole list of settings and status messages. If you install the door location sensor the app can tell you if the door is open/closed and locked/unlocked. Without the position sensor you would only know the status of the lock.

The Secure Pro comes with a few extra features over its non-Pro brother. This is mainly due to the inclusion of the Wi-Fi hub. The hub allows remote monitoring and control of the lock from anywhere. Like the position sensor mentioned above, you can access this data through the cloud app. With the hub you can also use Google Assistant or Alexa to ask about the status of the lock or control it. If you disable auto locking, the voice control can be really useful if you are off in your house and need to lock/unlock.

Even with all of the access redundancies, you can still find yourself left outside if the unit’s battery dies. As long as you can grab a 9V battery you can touch it to the contacts on the underside of the lock body to jump start it and get you inside with your choice of access. I will probably not need this since I would always have the keys, but would be useful for renters or guests who don’t have the keys available. This may not be a widely used feature, but it shows their design team was really trying to cover all of their bases.

Interactions

As far as day to day use goes, I almost exclusively use the fingerprint reader to unlock. The reader is very responsive, and I have only had issues when my hands are wet or dirty. Once they are dry/clean then it unlocks right away. It’s almost as sensitive as the reader on the back of my phone. I use the code when my kids are there so they can eventually learn it. I have unlocked over the internet 1 time, which was super useful in that instance. I could have given out the code or generated a guest code, but unlocking it myself was easier since I was already getting into the app. I have unlocked/locked the door using my google assistant. My house isn’t really big enough to use this, but I can see this being quite useful in a large house. To unlock, I have to provide a pin code to my Google before it will send the command. That keeps someone from shouting outside your house to tell a Google Home device to unlock the door.

Thoughts

The first thing I found odd about the Lockly Deadbolt was the use of the Type 97 keys. I initially thought they looked bigger than usual (I was right – 6 pin vs 5 pin). When I went to get a new front doorknob to match the Secure Pro’s finish, I was unable to buy a knob or handle that used Type 97 keys. The only ones that did were commercial style handles that are in no way meant for residential front doors or large (and pricey) handle/pull sets that can’t be used with my door or the Secure Pro. I am now resigned to carrying 2 keys on my keychain, whereas before I had 1 key for my whole house. This is truly a first world problem, but nonetheless still an annoyance.

Installation was pretty easy for me. I just got done replacing all of the knobs inside my house, and I’ve replaced and fiddled with deadbolts plenty of times. With that being said, follow the instructions. I knew pretty well was I was doing an I still followed along just in case. There are a couple of areas where you will be glad you did – torque bar position and battery installation procedure.

Once you sync a BT phone or device to the lock, you have to use the connected device to handle all of the fingerprints, passcodes, etc. Prior to syncing you could enter passcodes and fingerprints using the touchscreen and the program button on the inside portion of the lock. I would suggest pairing a device just to get the most benefit out of your lock, but you can certainly use it with a paired device.

Using the position sensor was tricky for me. My door sits further in the pocket and I have trim running around the threshold. This presented a problem for me since the sensors couldn’t really line up due to the door depth issue. I decided to use the leftover double sided tape to build up the door mounted sensor to match the stationary sensor mounted to the trim. Not the most elegant solution, but it works for now. I will make something better in the future.

When I contacted Lockly support about my phone issue, they were awesome. They really put in a lot of effort helping me troubleshoot, and even went as far as sending out another lock to rule out a hardware issue with that first lock. Customer service can make or break a new product, especially in the IoT world, and here Lockly did a superb job for me.

Overview

The Lockly Secure Pro is a truly great smartlock. It has 5 ways of allowing you access to your home all while keeping them secure. Even with my phone issues, I am very happy with the lock. It’s a robust design that seems to be built for long term use. The breadth of features is excellent, and really has something for everyone. The use cases for this lock are numerous from personal use, to rentals, to large family households, and so on.

Overall rating 5 stars
June 4, 2019

Comment:

I received a latch edition to review and while it didn’t fit my front door perfectly, I enjoyed it so much I had to have one for my front entry door so I purchased the Satin Nickel Deadbolt edition.

Some key distinctions between Lockly Secure versions, they are all compatible with the new Wi-Fi Hub, but the Secure is the base model with keypad and physical key. Plus adds fingerprint scanner. Pro has fingerprint and also adds the Wi-Fi hub. While its great Lockly made the Wi-Fi hub backward compatible with all 3 units, if buying new the Pro edition is the way to go without a doubt.

So Lockly Secure locks with the Wi-Fi hub can control your lock at least 5 different ways, all of which are important but the two methods that are real game changers are the finger print reader and the remote/smart home controls enabled with the Wi-Fi hub. The fingerprint reader is the best method of entry for day-to-day usage but the remote access and lock/unlock is great in a pinch or emergency for guests, visitors and family members.

Overall I think the deadbolt unit is the easier model to use and works great with existing hardware, but it does have some flaws detailed below:

1) If you leave your door ajar, after 30 seconds with auto-lock the bolt will extend even if the door isn’t closed, meaning you need to manually close the bolt to close the door. It would be nice if the Wi-Fi door sensor prevented this from happening.

2) The inside door housing is not satin nickel it is plastic, unlike the latch edition. It doesn’t feel cheap, but its not as premium as the latch edition.

3) Hardware is not universal. The deadbolt fit better than the latch edition which left holes everywhere, but its not going to be perfect for everyone. Make sure to check your hardware. The deadbolt fits perfect with my Schlage hardware.

4) Fingerprint reader is a problem for left in-swinging doors since it is close to the jamb.

5) Fingerprint reader is not as forgiving as iPhone touch ID. I had to register my index finger twice to get some shifted imprints to register.

Still, my wife and I love this device and its easily one of our most appreciated tech home upgrades!!! The only real limitations are which door you want to protect with Lockly and whether or not it fits the existing holes in your door.

Installation was simple, about 15 minutes using the manual rather than Bilt app and another 10 minutes to enable everything in the Lockly app. I only needed Phillips head screwdriver but a flathead may be useful as well to remove existing hardware.

While it is expensive, the functionality and convenience it enables is well worth the increment in price.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 2, 2019

Comment:

It amazed me with how easy it was to install out of the box. I really only used a Phillips head screwdriver and a pocket knife to install this. I thought it would take much more time to physically install plus setup via the app but again I was mistaken. The app was easy to use for setup and I was impressed. The finish of this is also one of my favorite things about this smart deadbolt. I feel like this is probably one of the most secure smart home devices. The fingerprint reader is useful for a quick entry, the included keys are also there for saving you when your batteries die out. I feel this device is a sleek and stylish way to keep up in this high tech society.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 5, 2019

Comment:

The product was packaged well and the physical install instructions and stickers helped you understand everything that was happening. As with any first versions of software, I ran into software glitches during activation that required a factory reset. but it was not bad enough to call up Lockly and complain. I am not a huge fan of the beeping coming from lock component, which serves an initial purpose but is annoying when doing normal functions. Finger print registration took a bit to get going, but works fine afterwards. I liked how you can use the app to program everything and you have a wifi or blue tooth option. I love the override feature that allow you to use it like a dumb lock for any reason. I feel the product will continue to improve as it was clear they made a lot of nice considerations in the design. Perhaps they could redesign the software to remove the small glitches and automate some tasks at the factory without compromise to the security features. I’ve installed other smart locks and this one is slightly better and more advanced.

Description
Keep out uninvited guests with this Lockly Secure Pro deadbolt edition Wi-Fi smart lock. Featuring a digital keypad and a fingerprint sensor, this smart lock lets you access your home with a personal code or fingerprint. This Lockly Secure Pro deadbolt edition Wi-Fi smart lock improves home security by ensuring the deadbolt is always engaged.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Voice Assistant Built-in No
Power Source Battery-powered
Lock Type Deadbolt
Works With Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Network Connectivity Bluetooth, Wireless G
Lock/Unlock Mechanism Biometric, Key, Bluetooth
General
Model Number PGD 728W MB
Color Matte Black
Color Category Black
Product Name Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt
Brand Lockly
Compatibility
Works With Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
Voice Assistant Built-in No
Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS
Features
Remote Monitoring Capabilities Yes
Low-Battery Indicator Yes
Auto Unlock Yes
Power
Battery Size AA
Included
Additional Accessories Included Secure Link Wi-Fi hub
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor Lifetime limited
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts Lifetime limited
Other
UPC 850003895239
The Lockly company offers users to check out PGD 728W MB. The features of PGD 728W MB, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left PGD 728W MB reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Lockly PGD 728W MB. Buy (Lockly PGD 728W MB or Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt) with benefits.
My review Lockly Secure Pro Bluetooth Deadbolt PGD 728W MB

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới