Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Lorex 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System LHV51081T4KB

Overall rating 4.7 stars
4.7 from 8 reviews
Lorex
Specifications
Camera Resolution
3840 x 2160
Indoor Or Outdoor Use
Indoor, Outdoor
Camera Power Source
Plug-in
Number Of Channels
8
Maximum Operating Temperature
140 degrees fahrenheit
Field Of View
87 degrees
Network Connectivity
Ethernet
Specifications
Camera Resolution:
3840 x 2160
Indoor Or Outdoor Use:
Indoor, Outdoor
Camera Power Source:
Plug-in
Number Of Channels:
8
Maximum Operating Temperature:
140 degrees fahrenheit
Field Of View:
87 degrees
Network Connectivity:
Ethernet
The Lorex company offers users to check out LHV51081T4KB. The features of LHV51081T4KB, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left LHV51081T4KB reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Lorex LHV51081T4KB. Buy (Lorex LHV51081T4KB or 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System) with benefits.

Lorex 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System LHV51081T4KB Overview

Lorex Night vision (Round 2)  5mp super hd security camera system

Lorex Night vision (Round 2) 5mp super hd security camera system

LOREX 4K 8MP Ultra HD POE Wired Network Security System from COSTCO -Better than Black Friday Deals!

LOREX 4K 8MP Ultra HD POE Wired Network Security System from COSTCO -Better than Black Friday Deals!

Lorex 4K Ultra HD IP NVR System - Unboxing, Quick Setup and the Lorex App

Lorex 4K Ultra HD IP NVR System - Unboxing, Quick Setup and the Lorex App

4K Home Security Camera Review - Lorex System

4K Home Security Camera Review - Lorex System

Lorex Technology 4k Security Camera System w/ Night Vision

Lorex Technology 4k Security Camera System w/ Night Vision

Reviews

4.7/5
Overall rating 4.7 stars
8 reviews
5
3
4
3
3
0
2
1
1
1
Overall rating 5 stars
April 18, 2018

Comment:

It has a great picture and can easily see what’s being recorded

Overall rating 4 stars
May 11, 2018

Comment:

I bought this Lorex 4K security system new from Amazon May 2018. The exact model number on the bottom of the unit is LHV5108-D. The cameras are LBV8531B 4K UHD Network Bullet Cameras with 135′ Night Vision (notice COLOR is not included in the Night Vision description). I’m a video photographer and digital movie editor over 20 years and have some real world experience with security cameras and installing burglar alarms in vehicles and buildings. I also code website interfaces.First, the good.Amazon delivered it the next day, and sent me a return label the next morning after that. The reason for my return was because the option to turn off the IR (infrared) Night Vision LEDs was not in the software (more on this below). I then upgraded my purchase to a Lorex 6-camera (Ethernet POE camera) 4K NVR system at $799.I got right through to Lorex-Flir technical phone support 1-888-425-6739 eight times now and each tech support agent I spoke with (except for one agent) was good to excellent in answering my detailed questions and helping me setup my system:IMPORTANT: This LHV5100 system uses BNC cabling (DVR to camera), NOT ethernet POE cables (DVR to Camera) used on Lorex’s other systems. The advantage to a POE ethernet Vs. BNC system is huge if you consider Cat5/Cat6 ethernet cabling can extend hundreds of feet beyond the 60-foot BNC cables included. And with a POE camera, you will not need a separate 12v power power supply plugged into your camera like the BNC configuration requires (the POE ethernet cable supplies power to the camera without the need for a the separate power supply, a wall wart).You can install and power up a POE ethernet camera anywhere you string a Cat 5/6 ethernet cable (up to around 250-300 feet). This BNC LHV 5100 series REQUIRES you to plugin the supplied 12v power adapter to an outlet a few feet from the camera to power it — so its BNC hardware really limits placement of a BNC camera (it has to be very close to a power outlet).Also, the more expensive Lorex DVR systems include “COLOR Night Vision” — I would check those features out before buying this unit because for a few $100 more, I got two additional Lorex POE cameras, double hard drive space, plus some additional features.HOW DO YOU TURN OFF THE LEDs (Night Vision) on this Lorex-Flir DVR security system — YOU CAN’T — the night vision LEDs will always be on in low light scenes. (EDITED): I may have gotten bad info from Lorex support because I returned this unit and upgraded to a NVR system and eventually found out how to force the camera to turn off its IR LEDs and record only ambient light).HAVING LEDs ON IN LOW LIGHTING MEANS YOU CANNOT PLACE THE CAMERA BEHIND GLASS because the infrared light will reflect off the glass and back into the lens. This is the MAIN REASON I chose this Lorex DVR security surveillance system — to disable the LEDs permanently until I turned them back on.My extensive pre-purchase research indicated you can turn off night vision in Lorex DVR software. How? By going to Home/Main Menu> Gear icon> Camera Settings and selecting Color Night Vision option. That was supposed to force the camera to view in color and thereby turn off the LEDs and IR (infrared illumination).HOWEVER, the Color Night Vision setting I saw in tutorials and reviews is missing from the DVR software (see my photo) — the bottom line is in low light, the LEDs will turn on and your scene will be illuminated in strong IR light (great if that’s what you want). But not so good if you want to pace the camera behind glass or with objects in the foreground.HOW DO YOU ERASE EVENT RECORDINGS?: You “Format” the Hard Drive! The Lorex agent explained it’s NOT a traditional hard drive formatting procedure where the HDD/SSD is wiped clean and you have to reinstall the system and reconfigure your user.He said Lorex “Format” feature ONLY erases all your recordings, it leaves the system software and user settings in place. Again — you cannot delete individual clips, events, recordings — you have to delete them all through the DVR’s Format option.This system does Motion Alerts based on pixel movements. For me, that is much preferred over PIR sensors (passive infrared sensor that measures infrared IR light radiating from objects in its field of view) because it’s proven much more reliable. Sure software based on pixel motion gets more false alerts, like leaves and rain and changes in light, insects … but I missed a lot of incidents using PIR style cameras.Because this HDD is so large, I changed my approach to recording in CONTINUOS mode with motion alerts – now I don’t miss anything and the motion alerts are highlighted in yellow in the timeline.Because these Lorex cameras are hardwired to the network and power source, they start recording a few seconds before the alert and continue a few seconds after the motion stops (these are editable times, more or less). I tried using a WiFi, PIR, battery-operated, cloud camera system, but I missed many incidents because the camera started recording late. And the infrared feature was highly unreliable in low light scenes even seven feet away.THIS BNC LORAX 5100 IS WHAT IT IS — I am knocking 1 star off for its crude TIME LINE editing interface (it is a real pain to use).As an experienced video editor, I will add using the Lorex-Flir Time Line interface is a real-life lesson in patience and frustration trying to use the clunky Lorex playback software.If I could click an insertion point in the Timeline and drag the playhead forward or back to scrub my clip at the speed I move the playhead, this would be a five-star review. Once you try to use the Timeline to review your clips, you will get my point.

Overall rating 2 stars
August 6, 2018

Comment:

I purchased LWF1080B-64: 1080p Outdoor Wireless Camera System, 4 Rechargeable Wire Free Battery Powered Black Cameras, 80ft Night Vision, 1TB Hard drive.The setup was indeed easy – the cameras and base system are all pre-synced and the “quick install” settings were simple. It also is easily usable through the app on both android and iphones.Concerns:The recorder needs to be plugged directly into your router, and also needs a wire connection to the receiver antennas. Both of these have short cables, so at most, youre receiver antennas will need to be within eight feet of where your home router is currently located. The directions to “mount the receiver outside” for longer range will therefore likely be difficult or impossible. I found that the wireless indoor transmission range was very limited – our cable modem and router are not central to the home and so the cameras only reliably transmit through 1/3 of the house and cannot reach all desired locations.Placing and configuring the cameras to avoid any foliage or anything that could show inadvertent motion is very important. Even the tiny movements of a boxwood’s evergreen needles was enough to set off the camera continuously.Also a concern, the recordings start about four seconds AFTER the first motion is detected when testing. If movement is quick, it can easily pass through the field of view and be gone before a recording begins and in some cases not trigger a recording at all. (My dog can run out the door and out of frame without triggering the recording. When I walk him on the leash, it only starts the recording when I’m mid-way through the frame.)With the need to carefully scope to avoid any foliage or inadvertent motions and then also the need to have enough of a visible approach to ensure that the camera is triggered, it is a difficult thing to balance. It may be worth investing in wired cameras with a power supply that can support always-on functionality, and/or with more advanced recognition capabilities beyond just motion detection.

Overall rating 5 stars
October 15, 2018

Comment:

Lorex LHV51081T4KB is the best camera system. I shopped for several months before deciding on this one. I carefully unpacked each piece, taking my time, thinking that I was in for a very difficult set up that could fail. As it turned out it was a “plug & Play”. Very easy to set up. I bought four 120 foot cables because I was not sure if the 60 foot cables would reach. I also bought a monitor so I could set it all up inside and test everything before outside mounting. I set it up in my basement and connected it to my router with the Cat 5 supplied cable. Then I connected it to my laptop by Wi-Fi. I needed assistance with the set up. Lorex Online support is second to none. Very helpful. Very pleased with the purchase.

Overall rating 1 stars
January 10, 2019

Comment:

I cannot recommend buying this system for several reasons. The main reason is the tech support is very bad. As a side note I am a tech, and am quite familiar with many brands of surveillance systems. I have setup systems such as QSEE, Nightowl, Hikvision, Arecont, Lorex, etc. That includes systems that are analog or digital, DVR, NVR.First of all the system came with a bad camera. That is fairly normal. I have purchased many systems that had bad cameras right out of the box. Night Owl is well known for having bad cameras. Lorex is no different. However this is where the problem lies, it is very difficult to get a bad camera replaced with Lorex. One has to jump through hoops to get a bad camera replaced. First you have to go through many troubleshooting steps to prove camera is defective. Then I had to send at least 10 emails to get camera replaced. Lorex wanted camera serial number, model of system, serial number of system, Device ID, place purchased, Date purchased, and copy of receipt. When I sent them all this info they would reply that they needed more info. As an example, I would send them the receipt in an email, then they would respond back that they needed the receipt. It was like they were not actually reading the emails I sent them. It took three weeks to get camera replaced. I tried calling them many times. I would wait on hold for more than an hour every time I called. The techs are polite, however it is unacceptable to have to wait for more than an hour to talk to someone. Some of the techs are quite knowledgeable, most are not. Many of the techs only knew basic things about the system. That is not the techs fault they need to be trained for all their products and not just go by a script. This system is a newer model and they did not know much about it. I had a problem with the frame rate of the cameras and it took weeks to solve. The technicians tried to help they just didn’t have the knowledge. They would ask their supervisor for help and they would email me the next day.This was the problem, the cameras are rated at 4K @15fps live & @7fps recording, 4MP@30fps live & @15fps recording. When viewing video it is 15 FPS but when played back video it is very choppy 7 FPS. I could not set the cameras above 7 FPS no matter what I tried. 7FPS is very choppy 15FPS is much smoother. The specs of system says it can record 15 FPS at 4MP. The Lorex techs emailed me for weeks trying to help. They sent me many different firmware’s to try, none of them worked to fix the problem. They even messed up at one point by sending me firmware for the wrong DVR. When I would email them that the latest thing they asked me to try didn’t work, they would email me the next day. This took weeks. Also I kept calling them every day, however I would hang-up after waiting on hold for more than an hour. After weeks of this I finally was able to get through on the phone to a knowledgeable tech. I explained the situation to him. I told him he needed to try to replicate the problem on the exact same system I had. He said he would try that. A few days later he called back with a way to increase the frame rate. The fix is you go into a special hidden menu and change a hidden setting within the camera. The setting actually modifies the camera not the DVR. It worked, however it crops about 15 percent of viewable area on all four sides of camera. That is a bummer because now your camera view is much smaller. The frame rate is now smooth but has less viewable area. Getting camera to 15 FPS took three weeks for tech support to solve. I think the settings are hidden because when you set camera to 15 FPS it crops the video. These settings are so hidden it took one of their better techs to figure out why it wouldn’t go to 15 FPS. The DVR is loud, that is because the fan is too small and spins too fast. This is a common problem with many DVR’s and NVR’s. Manufactures are trying to save 50 cents on a fan in order to cut costs. One may ask why I didn’t return system instead of going through this hassle. When I first got system and discovered that frame maxed out at 7FPS I went and bought another system. I figured I would return the other one. The second system I bought at Costco. I figured it would be a different batch. The second system from Costco had the exact same problem. The cameras would not go above 7 FPS, even though the specs said it will go to 15 FPS at 4MP. I now figured at this point that the problem was either the specs were wrong or that Lorex was shipping out bad systems. I would have returned both systems but I had already ran the Siamese power cables through my attic. Of course I was not going to pull out the cables nor was I going to purchase new cables to put back in the box for the return. As a side note, my house already had been wired with Siamese cables from a previous Night Owl system. However this Lorex system did not work well with the older cables, I got lines on the video. So I had to replace my older cables except for one with the Lorex cables. I would have bought a surveillance system that had a NVR and not a DVR except I have an older style D1 camera by my front door that is connected with coax. To replace that coax with Cat 6 would almost be impossible because of a firewall. The camera was prewired when the house was built. A Surveillance system that has a NVR is usually better than a system with a DVR. Normally NVR systems cost more money but have higher frame rates. They connect with cat 5 or 6 and not coax. I wish I could have went with a NVR system but I didn’t have a choice. As for this Lorex system, the picture quality is quite decent in the day. At night the picture quality is ok except for one problem. When looking at something that has motion such as a car or a person walking, you get ghosting in video. As an example when someone walks by you see blurring and an after image trailing the walking person. If you have a lot of light the problem is not as bad. What I do like about the system is the hidden menu, you can change many, many settings such as the type of backlighting BLC, WDC, HLC, etc. You can change the trigger points of when the cameras go into nighttime mode on a camera by camera basis. These hidden settings are great if you are very familiar with security systems. Every home or business has different needs and lighting conditions. So the expert menu settings can adapt to your user environment. Most entry level systems do not have such settings. I understand why these settings are hidden, if you don’t know what you’re doing you can mess things up. I have to rate this system at one star. I would like to rate the system at a 3 or 4 stars, but I cannot. Returning a bad camera to Lorex is a pain. Also waiting for more than an hour for tech support every time you call is a pain. The company Lorex needs to hire more techs. It is unacceptable to have to wait that long. This could be a good product, but Lorex support ruins it. I don’t believe it to be the techs fault. They are polite and try to help you. However they are so understaffed it takes days or weeks to get a problem solved.I recommend not buying this system for most people. I only recommend this system to somebody who would never need tech support. Or someone who doesn’t mind waiting for hours on the phone. I would have never needed support if it wasn’t for the bad camera, and wanting to increase the frame rate.

Overall rating 4 stars
February 4, 2019

Comment:

Gave 4 stars for the wrong product description don’t know about performance. Never set up. Returned. Good company Adorama approved return within minutes. Came well shipped , not damaged at all.

Overall rating 4 stars
April 4, 2019

Comment:

Easy to install best security camera at your home.

Overall rating 5 stars
September 13, 2019

Comment:

good product and I recommend it without a doubt and very effective to have the house very safe Thank you

Description
Keep an eye on what matters most at home with this eight-channel Lorex security system. It films footage in crisp 4K for seeing clear, detailed images, and its innovative night vision technology provides a visible picture in dark environments. This Lorex security system comes with a 1TB hard drive for long-term video storage.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Camera Resolution 3840 x 2160
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor, Outdoor
Camera Power Source Plug-in
Number Of Channels 8
Maximum Operating Temperature 140 degrees fahrenheit
Field Of View 87 degrees
Network Connectivity Ethernet
Night Vision Yes
Minimum Operating Temperature 22 degrees fahrenheit
Number Of Cameras Included 4
Storage Type DVR
General
Product Name 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System
Color Category Multi
Model Number LHV51081T4KB
Brand Lorex
Power
Camera Power Source Plug-in
Camera Connectivity Wired
Camera
Camera(s) Included Yes
High-Definition Yes
Night Vision Distance 135 feet
Number Of Cameras Supported 8
Optical Zoom No
Field Of View 87 degrees
Night Vision Yes
Camera Mount Type Wall mount
Day/Night Mode Yes
Number Of Cameras Included 4
Camera Resolution 3840 x 2160
Features
Network Connectivity Ethernet
Mobile Notifications Yes
Auto-On Detection Motion
Remote Monitoring Capabilities Yes
Storage
Memory Card Slot No
Storage Type DVR
DVR Storage Capacity 1000 gigabytes
Performance
Minimum Operating Temperature 22 degrees fahrenheit
Maximum Operating Temperature 140 degrees fahrenheit
Indoor Or Outdoor Use Indoor, Outdoor
Recording and Playback
Number Of Channels 8
Recording Modes Motion detection
DVR Operation Mode Pentaplex
Simultaneous Operation Pentaplex
Mobile Operating System Compatibility Apple iOS, Android
Compatibility
Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS, Mac, Windows
Smartphone Compatible Yes
Camera Compatibility Wired video cameras with BNC connectors
Included
DVR Included Yes
Cable(s) Included Yes
Additional Accessories Included USB Mouse, remote control, 4 mounting kits
Remote Control Included Yes
Monitor Included No
Output
DVR Output(s) HDMI, RCA audio, USB, VGA
Dimension
Camera Width 2.7 inches
Camera Height 2.7 inches
DVR Width 10 inches
Camera Depth 6.2 inches
DVR Depth 2.2 inches
DVR Height 12.8 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 Year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 Year
Other
UPC 695529016504
The Lorex company offers users to check out LHV51081T4KB. The features of LHV51081T4KB, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left LHV51081T4KB reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Lorex LHV51081T4KB. Buy (Lorex LHV51081T4KB or 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System) with benefits.
My review Lorex 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 4K 1TB DVR Security System LHV51081T4KB

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới