Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras 583-101

Overall rating 4.7 stars
4.7 from 20 reviews
Sigma
Specifications
Lens Type
Standard Zoom
Lens Mount Compatibility
Canon EF
Minimum Focal Length
17 millimeters
Maximum Aperture
2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length
50 millimeters
Brand
Sigma
Color Category
Black
Specifications
Lens Type:
Standard Zoom
Lens Mount Compatibility:
Canon EF
Minimum Focal Length:
17 millimeters
Maximum Aperture:
2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length:
50 millimeters
Brand:
Sigma
Color Category:
Black
The Sigma company offers users to check out 583-101. The features of 583-101, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 583-101 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sigma 583-101. Buy (Sigma 583-101 or 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras) with benefits.

Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras 583-101 Overview

Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 OS HSM lens review (with samples)

Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 OS HSM lens review (with samples)

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM - Review and Samples - Advantages and Disadvantages

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM - Review and Samples - Advantages and Disadvantages

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM lens for vlogging and photos.

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM lens for vlogging and photos.

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM Hands-on Review

Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM Hands-on Review

Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 review and sample images

Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 review and sample images

Reviews

4.7/5
Overall rating 4.7 stars
20 reviews
5
10
4
5
3
1
2
1
1
3
Overall rating 5 stars
December 21, 2018

Comment:

This lens is great and half the price of a cannon one

Overall rating 2 stars
January 12, 2019

Comment:

I bought this lens and waited a few weeks for it to come in. I returned it about an hour after I picked it up. Like others, I was surprised and disappointed that it rattles when shaken. I had hoped this problem had been corrected. I don’t think it would interfere with taking videos or photos, but to me it’s an indication that something is just not right. I took a few low light photos and the lens worked quite well, although it was a bit slow to autofocus. I took some video and the quality was also very good, but again, it is slow to focus in autofocus mode. But the noise it makes as it is hunting to focus is very unacceptable. Before ordering the lens I called Sigma and asked if this noisy autofocus problem had been resolved. The answer was that it had never been a problem and that it is no noisier than any other lens. I sure had my doubts based on many reviews that I read, but I went ahead and bought it anyway, a bit of a gamble as just about everyone charges a restocking fee (the lowest I found was ten percent at Best Buy). I was reassured that it is no noisier than my Canon zoom lens. This answer is not even close to accurate. The grinding and clicking noises are very loud and completely unacceptable. I considered keeping the lens just for photography rather than for videography, but that just won’t work for me. If it works for you, I would say give this lens a try. I deducted two stars because of the noise and another star because of the absolute false information I was given when I called Sigma. That is just awful customer service. I was either intentionally lied to, or this person had no clue what he was talking about. Either way, it’s very bad customer service. This autofocus noise PROBLEM persists. It may not matter if you are taking videos of a loud sports event. Otherwise, I would strongly advise using another lens for videography unless for some reason that I don’t understand, you don’t care about the quality of the sound you get in your movies.

Overall rating 5 stars
January 19, 2019

Comment:

So far I am very very happy with this lens. I purchased the lens last week Jan 2019. I was concerned about the focus issues some have reported.Auto Focus:I have ZERO focus issues at the long or short end of this lens (Whoo Hoo!)…Tested with focal chart, Tripod, and halogen shop lights for light source. I tested on both my new EOS LS2 and 77D (Christmas 2018). There is a “slight” front focus at minimum distance to target, at 17mm, and I do mean “s l i g h t”. Maybe a 1/64th? So slight, I cant tell if its the lens or me shaking the tripod (AKA my technique).Sigma Dock NOT compatible yet:This lens is NOT compatible with the Sigma Lens Dock (at least not yet), which I bought at the same time as this lens. So, if you have focus issues with your copy, I guess you will have to return the lens to Amazon for refund, of send in to Sigma. Fortunately, my copy is working great with both of my new cameras. Based on this, I will probably be ordering more Sigma lenses in the future so, I will just hang on to the dock. And hopefully the dock will support this lens in the future.The 2.8 Aperture is a huge difference over the canon 18-55 kit lens for background blur (you know, the “B” word).Manual Focus:Works great for me and I actually prefer the shorter focus ring travel distance of this lens when manually focusing.Colors look very good on my canon bodies and the lens is as sharp or sharper that the canon at 2.8/17mm than the canon is at 4.0/18mm and improves from there. I don’t know if it is from the glass quality, the coatings, or the physical larger size of the glass in the Sigma, but it is awesomeness!Motor is louder that the canon STM lens, obviously…But I shoot photos and not video, so this is a non-issue for me.Zoom Ring Lock: Has this at the 17mm position…I like this, though the lens does not seem to walk when held vertically. But I would rather have it than not.Auto focus works good in live view or through the optical view finders.Image stabilization does work, but the canon system may be a slight bit better here….again, not huge for me since the Sigma OS does work very well on my copy. I will have to do some real world testing to wring this feature out.Build quality is very good for this price point…I am very pleased.Comes with nice carrying pouch….Nice touch!Comes with Lens hood! Canon does not, and that irritates me…I would rather they included it, and upped the price.CONS maybe?: Focus ring, as others have noted, is always coupled to the motor when AF switch is engaged. You have to keep your hand off of it when Auto Focusing…and if you force it or turn it with the AF switch one, Sigma says you could damage your lens. So don’t do that. LOL I just simply modified my had position and on I went….no big deal to me.Longevity: We will have to wait and see.Summary:I am very pleased, and if this lens holds up, it will definitely be replacing my 18-55 Kit lens, EF 40mm 2.8 pancake, and my EF-S 24 2.8 pancake, as a single everyday/walk-around/portrait lens. Still keeping the EF 50mm 1.8 though. LOL

Overall rating 4 stars
February 21, 2019

Comment:

This is a good alternative to a proper Canon lens. it’ just as sharp and about half the price.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 1, 2019

Comment:

This lens captures as good of photos as the name brand but a lot cheaper.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 24, 2019

Comment:

I’m not a professional photographer by any means but I do know a bit about shooting. The low light performance being a fixed 2.8 aperture is great. It can get a pretty nice bokeh effect with the right settings. I bought the lens used and saved a few dollars. Couldn’t be happier. I took some pictures for a family members wedding yesterday with it and was able to really test it out. Honestly it was the only lens I needed. The crispness of the pics straight from the camera were bounds better than my older kit lens. I have an older Nikon D5100 and have to rely on the autofocus on the lens itself rather than the camera body, and I find it is far faster and more accurate than my kit lens. It’s quite a bit bigger and heavier, it makes the kit lens look like a toy in comparison. Wonderful step out of the kit lens realm. I can’t recommend it enough.

Overall rating 3 stars
July 1, 2019

Comment:

I bought this lens when buying a new Nikon D5600 after shooting with an old Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 on an older Nikon DLSR for many years. I chose this lens over buying a new Tamron 17-50mm because I was interested in the faster hyper-sonic focus motor, the optical image stabilization, and just wanted to try something new and different. In the end it’s a decent, sharp lens, but I wish I had bought the Tamron instead.This lens’s weight and dimensions make it only look a bit larger and a bit heavier than the Tamron 17-50mm on paper, but the reality is it feels much bulkier and heavier. This is especially true on lighter DSLRs like the D5600. The focus ring turns as it autofocuses and is coupled to the focus mechanism so if you touch it by accident during auto-focus (which is very easy to do given it’s placement and proportions), the lens produces a high pitched whining sound. I’d imagine that if you held the focus ring from moving during auto-focus for more than a moment it could do some damage. This fact makes its mass feel less like solid construction since you need to be extra mindful of how you handle it. It takes rather large 77mm diameter filters and it’s tulip shaped hood feels like it adds even more volume to the lens when put on backwards for storage than other lenses that I have which came with hoods.The OS (optical image stabilization), doesn’t practically provide as many stops of stabilization as the specs claim. In a few quick tests it seemed to give me 2 stops of help, but certainly didn’t stop me from motion blurring images at 1/15th and below. It also continues to run for a minute or so after shooting or focusing, so if you shoot, then you’re holding the camera, after a minute or two you’ll hear and feel a little knock in the lens as the optical stabilization goes to sleep. I haven’t used this for extended periods or compared with other lenses so I can’t say what its effect on battery life is. It can of course be turned off though. All in all, it’s not as great of a feature as I had hoped it would be.The lens’s images are pretty sharp and have good color and contrast. It can certainly produce good looking still images. The focusing is pretty quick but not silent, the lens makes ticking sounds which are readily picked up by the internal microphone if shooting video. The ticking might also be audible at a low level on a hotshoe mounted mic under some circumstances.I read in various reviews before buying that there were quality variations between copies of this lens and that some have reported a bit of a back focusing issue. I can’t say I notice it when shooting normal subjects in a room or outdoors, but when I focus on close and small subjects, especially when wide open with a shallow depth of field, the actual plane of focus seems a little off from the focus point I used (despite the camera’s AF system thinking it was in focus.)The extra weight, bulk, breakable feeling of the focus ring mechanism as AF works, modest gains from optical stabilization, and slight back-focusing issue altogether make me wish I hadn’t bought this lens and had gotten another Tamron 17-50 f2.8 which I know to deliver beautiful images and a slightly more comfortable weight and size. I’m not enthused to go out shooting with this lens so I will probably get rid of it soon and get something else.

Overall rating 5 stars
August 21, 2019

Comment:

One of the best lens I have purchased. Very easy to use and good quality photos

Overall rating 5 stars
August 26, 2019

Comment:

Don’t bother getting a kit lens with your camera if you can get one of these. The f2.8 over the full zoom range gives you much better low light, portrait, and fast-motion options for creative shooting. I will take this lens and a 70-200 f2.8 out as a kit and have no issues shooting anything I come across on a normal day. For APS-C cameras, this covers approximately the same range as the classic 24-70 f2.8 on a full frame, but way cheaper.One think you should be aware of if you’re a beginner shooter and don’t have an external flash (or you just don’t carry one) is that when you do need to add a fill-flash, the end of this lens is so large that you will always have a small dark circle at the very bottom of the frame, even with the petal lens hood taken off. Fortunately the large aperture prevents you from needing flash in a lot of situations you’d normally need it. I still carry the 50 f1.8 around in my kit just in case, but I find I use it about half as much as I did when I only had the 18-135 variable aperture super-kit lens.Reccomended for: Hobbyists or students who need an everyday zoom lens to drop on a body and forget.Not reccomended for: Wildlife shooting (way too wide) or anyone who expects to eventually get a full-frame body (this is APS-C only).

Overall rating 5 stars
September 21, 2019

Comment:

First off, Google “sigma authorized dealers” and make sure to buy this from an authorized Amazon seller or you might not get Sigma’s 3 year US warranty (which was a huge selling point for me). On that note, I was debating for awhile between this and the Canon “EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM”. Initially I bought this and was happy with it. Played with it a little and really like the shots & performance, though I wished the auto-focus was a little better in low-light. However, I noticed that the lens had an artifact in it so I returned it.Afterwards, I bought the before-mentioned Canon lens because I heard it had a better auto-focus and I liked the idea of having a full-time manual focus too (which would make focusing in low light easier when auto-focus fails). However, I ended up being disappointed with how heavy the lens was vs. any of the benefits of the Canon lens. I did not think the low-light focus was much better.I missed the Sigma & bought another one… this one had no issues. I’ve been very happy with it and it’s now my go-to lens. I only switch it out if I need a bigger zoom. I don’t even use my 1.8 anymore because, with image-stabilization, I can get mostly the same shots with this. I highly recommend this lens. Again, just make sure to get one with the full 3 year warranty, because the number one complaint I see is when there’s a defect with the lens. If you get one with the warranty, Sigma will take care of you.Oh, and be careful not to touch the focus ring on the front of the lens when it’s auto-focusing! The one thing I don’t like about this lens is that I have to be careful about that, but you get used to it.

Description
This Sigma 583-101 17-50mm f/2.8 zoom lens features optical stabilization to help reduce blur caused by camera shake. The HSM (hypersonic motor) provides fast, quiet autofocus.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Lens Type Standard Zoom
Lens Mount Compatibility Canon EF
Minimum Focal Length 17 millimeters
Maximum Aperture 2.8 f/
Maximum Focal Length 50 millimeters
General
Brand Sigma
Color Category Black
Color Black
Model Number 583-101
Product Name 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras
Dimension
Product Weight 1.2456 pounds
Additional Dimension
Product Diameter 3.3 inches
Product Length with Lens Closed 7 inches
Compatibility
Camera Model Family Canon 1DX, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 5DS/5DS R, Canon 60D, Canon 6D, Canon 70D, Canon 7D Mark II, Canon SL1, Canon T2i, Canon T3, Canon T3i, Canon T4i, Canon T5, Canon T5i, Canon T6i, Canon T6s
Brand Compatibility Canon
Performance
Water Resistant No
Filter Diameter 77 millimeters
Feature
Minimum Focus Distance 11 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 4 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 4 years
Imaging
Auto/Manual Focus Automatic
Field Of View 72.4 degrees
In-Lens Image Stabilization Yes
Exposure Control
Minimum Aperture 2.8 f/
Other
UPC 085126583545
Tripod/Monopod Mountable No
The Sigma company offers users to check out 583-101. The features of 583-101, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left 583-101 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sigma 583-101. Buy (Sigma 583-101 or 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras) with benefits.
My review Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Zoom Lens for Select Canon DSLR Cameras 583-101

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới