Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

SimpliSafe Pro Video Doorbell - Wired SS3-DOORBELL

Overall rating 4.2 stars
4.2 from 20 reviews
SimpliSafe
Specifications
Brand
SimpliSafe
Color
White
Color Finish
White
Product Name
Pro Video Doorbell - Wired
Color Category
White
Model Number
SS3-DOORBELL
Night Vision Capable
Yes
Specifications
Brand:
SimpliSafe
Color:
White
Color Finish:
White
Product Name:
Pro Video Doorbell - Wired
Color Category:
White
Model Number:
SS3-DOORBELL
Night Vision Capable:
Yes
The SimpliSafe company offers users to check out SS3-DOORBELL. The features of SS3-DOORBELL, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left SS3-DOORBELL reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase SimpliSafe SS3-DOORBELL. Buy (SimpliSafe SS3-DOORBELL or Pro Video Doorbell - Wired) with benefits.

SimpliSafe Pro Video Doorbell - Wired SS3-DOORBELL Overview

SimpliSafe's Video Doorbell Pro: A great picture, but it won't work with your smarthome

SimpliSafe's Video Doorbell Pro: A great picture, but it won't work with your smarthome

Simplisafe Video Doorbell Pro Review - Unboxing, Features, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

Simplisafe Video Doorbell Pro Review - Unboxing, Features, Setup, Settings, Installation, Footage

SimpliSafe Video Doorbell Pro Review

SimpliSafe Video Doorbell Pro Review

Simplisafe Video Doorbell Pro vs Ring Pro - Comparison of Features, Video and Audio Quality

Simplisafe Video Doorbell Pro vs Ring Pro - Comparison of Features, Video and Audio Quality

SimpliSafe Doorbell Review: With & Without a SimpliSafe Alarm  (Resolution Compare to Nest Hello)

SimpliSafe Doorbell Review: With & Without a SimpliSafe Alarm (Resolution Compare to Nest Hello)

Reviews

4.2/5
Overall rating 4.2 stars
20 reviews
5
7
4
6
3
5
2
2
1
0
Overall rating 4 stars
November 24, 2018

Comment:

One the most useful gadget I own, very helpful and amazing images.
High resolution images, microphone helps interact with visitors, especially for deliveries. Motion sensor and notifications are good to monitor the front and back of house(need two). It is a wide angle camera which complements my security system. The app is simple and easy to use. Only drawback I find is that it does not give you the option to record to your pc or phone. It does give you the option to record to the cloud, for a price of course.
Installation is a breeze and easy to pair with your router/WiFi. The deign is beautiful and modern better the other choices out there.
I use it check on my kids when they arrive from school.

Overall rating 4 stars
November 25, 2018

Comment:

Installation was very easy, and only took a few minutes. The hardest part was how brittle my wiring was, so I had to pull it from the wall a bit and cut/strip a little. Other than that, it’s just attach the base, connect the wires, and slide on the doorbell. There’s a “security screw” that prevents easy removal.

Once installed, I noticed a hum coming from the existing indoor chime. This worried me a little, but I thought maybe the doorbell was drawing extra current from the transformer causing it to hum. Since it stopped later in the day, I’m assuming it had fully charged it’s internal battery and was then drawing less current. Also, initially, it would only do a single “ding” for the bell, instead of the normal “ding-dong”. But that went away as well and it now does the normal front door bell “ding-dong”.

It only supports the 2.4Ghz WiFi band, but seemed to have a little difficulty connecting directly to my router. I already had a WiFi range extender that I didn’t use very much, so that is now positioned right by the exterior door so that it has the strongest possible signal and it connected to that with ease.

The device itself is a good size, obviously bigger than a standard button, but not so large that it looks out of place on the door moulding. The video quality is very good and has a nice, wide range of view. At night, it automatically switches to a night vision mode, which is black & white only, but has a good picture quality.

At the medium level, the motion detection sometimes picks up cars on the street, but for me, the low setting isn’t sensitive enough. Sometimes it randomly loses the WiFi signal but that seems to be fairly intermittent.

Notifications are virtually instantaneous, both from motion sensing and when the button is pressed. You can talk to whomever is at the door with a slight lag (nothing unexpected). As you walk up to the door, the button lights up (indicating that motion was detected) which seems to welcome people to the door. You can also disable motion or button pressed notifications within the app if you want. I initially had some issues with notifications displaying at all on my phone. I had installed the app on my phone, installed the doorbell, used my phone to do all of the configuration, and then installed the app on my wife’s phone and signed in to my account. Her phone immediately displayed the notifications, but mine did not. Only after I went to the settings for the device in the app and toggled the notifications off, saved settings, back on, and saved settings did mine start working. The app is clearly geared towards their security products since when I go in, it prompts me to enter the base station id to activate it. I don’t have any other SimpliSafe products, so this is annoying, but not game changing.

My biggest complaint is the total lack of any sort of free features with the app, except a live view. No snapshots of who’s at the door, no storage of any videos at all. In fact, it doesn’t even record anything at all unless you pay their $5/month subscription fee. It would be nice to include some limited free storage option, 1 day or something, and then the premium storage option for users who need that.
Without the videos, it’s really not nearly as useful as it could be. However, if you’ve already got other SimpliSafe security products and already pay the fee for those, then this is a great add on.

Overall rating 5 stars
November 26, 2018

Comment:

If you like 1080p video with a 160-degree field of view, this is a good option. I get plenty of viewing space of my front porch. SimpliSafe’s doorbell cam won’t provide face recognition, sad face. It does have high dynamic range imaging adjust to extremely bright times like direct sunlight or wicked reflections. Heads up, no battery of its own, it’s for wired doorbells. Check your voltage before installation or hire someone.
You can automatically record video when sensors go off. It also has two-way audio equipped with noise and echo cancellation that minimizes background noise. However, I’ve noticed when I am talking I may hear a dump truck or dog barking depending on how close the sound is the doorbell, same if the visitor is talking to me. I don’t pay for storage so if I get a notification, my phone usually close by for me to check to see what’s going on. I strongly suggest not to have any plants or trees within close view or your camera will go off all day. Annoying! The design looks ok, nothing special. I have the white one but now I think it was a bad idea because it wont stay white forever. Overall, I’m happy!!

Overall rating 3 stars
November 28, 2018

Comment:

Overall, this is a good choice if you’re already in the Simplisafe ecosystem and using their other alarm products. This is basically a “me-too” product that is an uncanny clone of the Nest Hello, although with a slightly lower build quality. Features compare nicely with the competing Nest Hello and Ring Doorbell options, and the UI/UX on the phone app is okay; not really better than the competition, but not worse either. At MSRP, this is probably a better value vs. Ring and Nest’s MSRP, but like those products, you’ll need to subscribe to the monthly service to get the most out of this. But if you’re already subscribing to the simplisafe alarm monitoring, the doorbell is a free add-on, so it’s a great choice if you’re already in their ecosystem.
The biggest negative is there’s currently no Google home or Alexa integration available, although I would assume there will be at some point in the future.

The hidden secret in all these doorbell and wifi security cameras is the “cool down” period, during which successive motion triggers and/or doorbell pushes will not result in a notification to your phone, and this simplisafe doorbell is no different. I noticed around a 5 minute cooldown between motion trigger notifications, although all activity during the cooldown period was still recorded and available for review. Also, although Simplisafe mentions that they have two different motion sensors to better detect the difference between people, pets and cars, I didn’t notice any significant difference in the amount or types of motion notifications vs. the Nest Hello and Ring Doorbell 2 I’ve used previously.

Build quality is not as good as the Nest Hello, but about equal with the Ring Doorbell 1/2. The housing is plastic and seems well sealed. Simplisafe includes mounting “wedges” but does not include the drill bit that comes with the Nest and Ring products.

If you’re already a subscriber to Simplisafe’s alarm service, then this is a good option, otherwise, I’d consider Nest Hello a better choice features-wise, and the Ring a better choice for value.

Overall rating 2 stars
November 28, 2018

Comment:

I was excited to try this Simplisafe product because it’s described as a ‘standalone’ product, and I wanted to compare it to other cameras I’ve tested.

My initial impression of the doorbell was very favorable; it has a very simplistic, yet stylish appearance, so it’s not going to appear as some larger than necessary, ‘out of place’ camera sitting next to your door. Installation was pretty straight forward. My installation took a bit longer because I have an older house and I wound up extending the wiring because I didn’t want to take the chance of the existing wiring breaking while I was hooking everything up. I also wound up not using the screws that came with the product since both of the Phillips heads started to strip out with a simple low speed power driver. I decided to use the 40 yr old screws since they are evidently made of stronger metal. Once the doorbell was installed and the power was back on, I installed the app on my phone and activated the camera using the OCR code from the app. The app appears well designed and it’s fairly intuitive. The live feed from the camera is very good, and even at night, the camera can easily capture images from 10+ft from the door with good clarity and a wide field of view. I tested motion detection, and the blue light around the button lit up each time when I got within about 6ft or so of the door. However here’s where I began to question the product’s ‘standalone’ claims. Although I had push notifications turned on in the app, I received none. I could see all of the events in the ‘Timeline’ screen of the app, but I got no real-time notifications. I called Simplisafe customer support and was initially told that the the push notifications should work without a monthly monitoring or recording package. The girl I spoke with was supposed to call back, but after two days I called back and talked to someone else who told me that I had to have a paid monitoring package to get instant notifications. I was repeatedly told that I could still view the live feed from the camera, but I couldn’t make this person understand that that was only useful if I was at the house and heard the doorbell, or if I kept the ‘Timeline’ up on the app and watched it 24/7. I’ve tested several other products that allow push notifications/texts without a monthly fee, so I decided to call back and talk to someone else. Once again I was told I needed to have a monitoring package to get real-time feedback. To me, this is disappointing on several levels. First, this IS a standalone product, but it’s basically useless unless you give Simplisafe some amount of money each month. If you’re going to do that, why wouldn’t you have their whole system? Second, the app is actually able to see the motion/doorbell notifications in the Timeline, so why not at least allow those events to be real-time alerts thru the app?

Overall, I was disappointed with this product. It looks great and functions as it should, with great video and motion detection, but all of the functionality is basically useless without a monitoring package, which I won’t have unless I wind up getting an entire Simplisafe system. I would not recommend this product as a standalone doorbell camera.

Overall rating 2 stars
November 28, 2018

Comment:

I’m going to make this one kinda short as I’ve found that this video doorbell is good, but not one really worth your cash. The SimpliSafe-Pro Smart WiFi Video Doorbell is cool, but not up to the usual SimpliSafe standards, in my opinion. I like that it’s relatively easy to install ( if you’ve got an active doorbell already. It’s basically a face swap…Basically. The problem doesn’t lie in the installation, whoever. But in it’s performance. Normally, I would add a link to a full online review to the end of these, but honestly, this needs a video to do it justice. Not really a problem , but again, I didn’t do a video, because of the unreliability of the video playback on the app. This thing is supposed to deter criminals( which I’m sure it’ll do at 1st, but after seeing it in action, I found that the delay between interactions are far too long. And to be honest, if I had a package on my porch, it would be long gone before I uttered a word. I’m not saying that it’s useless. not at all, but what I am saying is, I wouldn’t trust this unit to keep my belongings safe. Simpli put… there are better products out there. The app is just too slow for me to safely recommend this to home owners.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 1, 2018

Comment:

Great way to monitor your front door when home or not home. Two-way voice is also great, though you have to remember to press the button to talk and release to listen. Both can’t talk at same time. Super easy to setup. No base station needed. Just use existing wiring and chime. And remember to turn off breaker when installing to be safe. Camera is secured to outside baseplate with a screw.

Once installed, pressing button on doorbell works as before, assuming you’ve remembered to turn the breaker back on. You install the SimpliSafe app on your phone and go in to connect to a camera. You don’t need to enter the serial # for base station. To connect camera to WiFi, you select network and enter password on mobile device. This will then display a QR Code. You place camera in front of camera and it will then connect. If sunny outside, be sure to block the glare so it can clearly see the code. Once connected, you can watch the camera feed live from the phone. If you want the video saved so you can watched later, there is a $5/month charge.

Waiting to see how much we need to train our visitors…. So far, working great. At most, 30 minutes to setup. Hardest part was finding which breaker was the doorbell…

Overall rating 3 stars
December 3, 2018

Comment:

I have been in the market for a good doorbell camera and decided to try out SimpliSafe Video doorbell since I already have their security system for my house. I was impressed at the ease of install and range of the camera however the 3 second delay along with continual disconnects are a problem.

Pros-
Ease of Install
Camera Radius
Camera Quality
Speaker Quality
Mic Quality

Cons-
Only works on 2.4 GHz WiFi
Video / Audio Delays
Night Vision Quality
WiFi Disconnections as there is no “Always On” setting

***Major issue was discovered that after 5 minutes of idle / non usage it completely shuts off; Meaning that the “live video feed” stops. Only way to turn device back on is through the app, motion sensor, or hitting the button for doorbell. ***

:: Install / Setup ::
The install was very easy and the brackets fits perfectly for the mounting onto the wall. It was a snug fit without any movement and includes a secure pin to prevent anyone from running off with it. Once connected, you install the app that was very easy to install / sign up and link to WiFi Network.

:: Video Camera ::
The picture quality is 1080p and looks great at all levels of light (except dark). The range of the camera was very impressive and able to view my entire walkway. I was concerned at first since the position of my doorbell is facing the other wall and not out to the street. However with the wide angle of the lenses it was not an issue and looks great. Unfortunately the night vision mode is not as impressive with difficulty at making out faces. Video quality is also affected at night however looks great during the day.

::Application::
The application itself provides a lot of settings you can modify for the video door camera. However there is no “Always On” which in turns once it turns off it disconnects from WiFi. The application is easy to navigate through to quickly get to your camera for “live feed” and “Mic”. The only concerns is the 3 second delay for video and mic that can be irritating at times. You are limited to only “Live Feed” or “Mic” when not having a subscription. If you wish to view the video records you will need to have a monthly sub.

Overall I am impressed with the video quality however falls short with the Audio/Video delays and night vision. I understand they are a subscription service so will not doc them a star for the video recording. I am removing one star for not having an “Always On” feature and the Audio/Video delays. I do not see the value of paying for a subscription if the Simplisafe Video Doorbell turns itself off and looses it connection to WiFi without a persons intervention.

Overall rating 3 stars
January 31, 2019

Comment:

I think this is, in general, a good product. Installation was easy, connecting to WiFi was easy and using the App was easy.

My issue is with the consistency. I live on a street with an elementary school so I expect a lot of notifications. My issue is when I get notifications of cars driving by my house all day long, delivering crystal clear video, yet someone rings my doorbell and I get an error message that says camera disconnected. Literally the only time I would need the camera it doesn’t work. The doorbell did alert to the delivery person walking to the door, and unfortunately I received a message that said “ no video.”

The reason I chose SimpliSafe over other brands is I was planning on purchasing other home security products.

I have disconnected the doorbell twice in the 2 months I’ve had it but that fix is intermittent at best.

Overall rating 3 stars
April 3, 2019

Comment:

We’ve had Simplisafe security system for years. ( unmonitored ) Since the SS camera came out and finally offered a $5 month recording option without home monitoring, we got it. Very simple to install and love that it’s not as wide as most. GREAT picture (worth 1 star) and more narrow than some of the others (star #2) and there is no “cool down period” like COMPETITORS have (star #3) so you can get motion detections one right after the other….BUT that’s also part of the problem. There are no zones to set and the recording screen is pretty basic (pic attached) and even on LOW it records EVERY bus, delivery & garbage truck and large SUV’s (alert after alert even set on LOW) but NOT people (set on HIGH) – I’ve had 7 deliveries since the camera was installed and only 1 was recorded. ONE. How is that possible? Have no idea who or when others got delivered – as there were NO alerts or recordings. Oddly no motion alerts by their truck at the time of those deliveries I am thinking it’s the slower vehicles not getting detected – but that still baffles me. So now I am amused at their marketing about “advanced heat sensors for people” thinking my delivery people must actually be cold zombies! …I digress….. As others have reported, tech support has you go through the (uninstall, reinstall etc.) and sent a new one. Same issues with replacement. Since it’s a beautiful picture, and sound/doorbell alert works…. I can only attribute it to poor software design or bad hardware. Debating returning it completely, but since it’s already installed, we may just keep it for the occasional convenience of seeing someone that actually RINGS THE BELL, and then cancel the monthly recording option since I don’t care to spend $ to watch 30 recordings a day to watch the school bus and trucks drive by each day.

Description
Give your home round-the-clock protection with this SimpliSafe Video Doorbell Pro. The 1080p HD camera captures sharp, clear video of anyone standing on your doorstep whether it's dark out or light out. The 162-degree field of view on this camera lets you zoom in and pan out to get a closer look at visitors.
Details
Details
General
Brand SimpliSafe
Color White
Color Finish White
Product Name Pro Video Doorbell - Wired
Color Category White
Model Number SS3-DOORBELL
Camera
Night Vision Capable Yes
Motion Detection Yes
Video Resolution 1920 x 1080
Connectivity
Network Connectivity Wi-Fi
App Compatible Yes
Camera Connectivity Wired
Mobile Notifications Yes
Chime Yes
Compatibility
Operating System Compatibility Android, Apple iOS
Features
Remote Monitoring Capabilities Yes
Two-Way Talk Yes
Power
Power Source Electric
Dimension
Product Depth 4.48 inches
Product Weight 0.7 pounds
Product Width 2.91 inches
Product Height 6.65 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 3 Years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 3 Years
Other
UPC 815017029698
The SimpliSafe company offers users to check out SS3-DOORBELL. The features of SS3-DOORBELL, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left SS3-DOORBELL reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase SimpliSafe SS3-DOORBELL. Buy (SimpliSafe SS3-DOORBELL or Pro Video Doorbell - Wired) with benefits.
My review SimpliSafe Pro Video Doorbell - Wired SS3-DOORBELL

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới