Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Sony Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera DSCRX100M5

Overall rating 4.6 stars
4.6 from 20 reviews
Sony
Specifications
Wi-Fi Enabled
Yes
Effective Megapixels
20.1 megapixels
Video Resolution
3840 x 2160
Image Sensor Type
BSI CMOS
Color Category
Black
Product Name
Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera
Model Number
DSCRX100M5/B
Specifications
Wi-Fi Enabled:
Yes
Effective Megapixels:
20.1 megapixels
Video Resolution:
3840 x 2160
Image Sensor Type:
BSI CMOS
Color Category:
Black
Product Name:
Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera
Model Number:
DSCRX100M5/B
The Sony company offers users to check out DSCRX100M5. The features of DSCRX100M5, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left DSCRX100M5 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sony DSCRX100M5. Buy (Sony DSCRX100M5 or Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera) with benefits.

Sony Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera DSCRX100M5 Overview

Sony RX100 VI review: overpriced?

Sony RX100 VI review: overpriced?

SONY RX100 V :: WOW!

SONY RX100 V :: WOW!

Sony RX100 VII review - the BEST pocket camera, at a price

Sony RX100 VII review - the BEST pocket camera, at a price

Sony RX100 V - Review and Sample Photos

Sony RX100 V - Review and Sample Photos

Is the Sony RX100V Worth Buying in 2019?!

Is the Sony RX100V Worth Buying in 2019?!

Reviews

4.6/5
Overall rating 4.6 stars
20 reviews
5
11
4
4
3
1
2
0
1
4
Overall rating 4 stars
September 11, 2018

Comment:

I’ve had numerous cameras over the years such as Nikon, and now Olympus. I got ride of my Nikon kit for the Olympus EM-d5II because of its size, excellent optics and stabilization. The Sony is for my pocket. I’m very pleased with it with some concerns. You can exhaust a battery just by playing around in its extensive menus. A couple of short videos and some stills and you’re changing batteries again. If you don’t carry pack at least two spares you’ll regret it. The EVF opens in two steps – up and out. I find the pull out section is too easily pushed back into the EVF and has to be pulled out againand again to focus. The positive aspects of this camera are too many to mention. If only Sony could put a slightly longer lens (100mm 35mm equiv) on the 5A it would be the perfect carry around camera for me.

Overall rating 4 stars
September 21, 2018

Comment:

Bought this camera for a trip in NY,it take really good pics but when you start to record videos the first 3 minutes the câmera already turned off with a message “battery exhausted”,so I don’t recommend for long videos.

Overall rating 1 stars
October 12, 2018

Comment:

From the very first day, the camera takes a few pics and then an error msg comes “switch of power and on again” The msg repeats even after doing that. After a few days, the camera works and again after taking few pics, this error repeats. I received my camera in Jan. 2018 and had to leave USA for a long time and hence could not return it so far.Apart from that, I must say that whatever pics I got were very good.Ergonomics are very bad. I always feel that I might drop the camera anytime. If the camera works reliably and the user can compromise on ergonomics, it is probably the best travel camera.

Overall rating 3 stars
December 5, 2018

Comment:

VIDEO REVIEW TO COME SOONFor photographers this is a feature packed compact camera with an enormous 1″ sensor for super crisp images paired with a decent 1.8 aperture lens for nice bokeh. It has all of the manual control of an SLR for times when a larger camera is not practical to bring along and even has a handy view finder when the sun might be too bright for the rear screen. It can output raw images with Sony’s ARW format at about 20 megabytes each at full resolution. I really like its 960 fps shooting mode that can do some awesome slow motion captures.If this camera was out 10 years ago it would have dominated the marketplace for enthusiasts and consumers alike. But for general consumers a flagship smartphone is better. I just can’t recommend this $900 camera to consumers when they may already have a smartphone in their pocket that can deliver a better experience.1. Image quality: Yes that 1″ sensor makes a huge difference vs. a smartphone. But smartphones are now running powerful image processing in real time to output quality images without the need for much post production editing. The large images from this camera are cold and require editing to achieve the same tones you’ll get for little effort out of a smartphone. Photographers will no doubt disagree with this statement but I think for many consumers the output of this camera won’t look all that great compared to their smartphones until some tweaking is done.2. Abysmal battery life: The tiny battery in the camera will visibly drain before your eyes. It’s even worse when shooting video. You probably won’t get more than 15-20 minutes of life for that.3. 4k video cuts off after only 5 minutes of shooting: They packed a lot of electronics into this thing and as such it heats up quickly when shooting videos. 4k video looks beautiful especially when the lens is set at a 1.8 aperture but it will overheat and shutdown video recording at the 5 minute mark. And this was indoors at room temperature. Shooting outside on a hot day will no doubt result in an even shorter record time. And then you’ll need to wait for it to cool down to do it again.4. Too many tweaks and settings to get the full feature set: The camera’s confusing interface will make sense for photographers but general consumers are going to get lost and likely will change things that will make the experience even worse.So if you’re not looking to make photography a hobby this is not the camera for you. Upgrade to the latest flagship phone to get the pictures you’re looking for. If you are looking to get into photography this is also not the camera for you (an entry level SLR is a better buy). But if you are a photographer looking to supplement your larger cameras this is a great camera.My reason for the low star rating here is that manufacturers need to make these cameras smarter if they want this market segment to survive. When my iPhone can shoot 60fps video at 4k for as long as my battery and storage will allow and deliver better still images without editing it’s hard to justify the value proposition here.

Overall rating 1 stars
December 27, 2018

Comment:

I bought this and it was very pricey.. So of cause I expected a new Camera!! The boxed didn’t have a seal or tape on it and I think it is a used Camera.. like is said it doesn’t look like a new Camera

Overall rating 5 stars
April 7, 2019

Comment:

If you’re looking for a small digital camera that can shoot in RAW format as well for professional look photos it works great, and you don’t need to carry around a ton of different lenses as you would with a DSLR.

Overall rating 5 stars
July 8, 2019

Comment:

So far my experience with the Sony RX100VA has been excellent, it was a difficult decision between the RX100VI and the RX100VA, but I chose the VA due to the faster lens even though the extra zoom would come in handy occasionally. The autofocus system on this camera is excellent and eye tracking is near instantaneous, it takes excellent images and they turn out even better when shooting RAW and post-processing in Adobe Lightroom. I would definitely recommend some form of case and an extra battery if you like to go out and shoot a lot as the camera does feel fragile (though well built) and the battery does leave something to be desired.My one note to potential buyers is to take note of my experience with Amazon on this purchase, the box arrived and appeared new, but inside was a Sony RX100, the original. Clearly, I was sold an open box item that someone had replaced the RX100VA with an RX100 in hopes it wouldn’t be noticed and returned it to Amazon where they promptly listed the item as new, not as a used/open box item with a discount. Amazon accepted my return and provided a full refund, however, I missed out on being able to use the camera for a weekend event I ordered rush shipping to use it for and I now shop elsewhere for all expensive electronic equipment since I cannot trust that was I buy on Amazon is actually a new unopened product.

Overall rating 1 stars
July 29, 2019

Comment:

Update 7/30/19: So I went to Costco and bought a new memory card. The card is rated at the same speed as the one I bought from Amazon. Same slow write speed so I know that the camera is defective, not the memory card. This Sony disappointment is being returned to Amazon.Original Review: I did a lot of research before buying this camera and had high hopes. I am buying a small pocketable camera to replace my big, cumbersome Canon 30D. My main requirement was that it would take better pictures than my iPhone XS Max. If it doesn’t, then there would be no point in having the camera since I always have my phone with me.The Good:Build quality seems solid.Form factor is amazing. This thing is tiny and can slip into most pockets.Great specifications compared to other point and shoot cameras.The Bad:The buttons are tiny. I have no problem with it but if you have large fingers, this could be a problem.No touchscreen so navigating the extensive menu is not that convenient.The Ugly: I don’t know if I have a lemon or what, but this camera is not anything like what’s been described in all the reviews. I will be returning it for a refund or a replacement.Autofocus is slow and not accurate. A bunch of my pics are blurry. My iPhone has better autofocus!Write speed is the slowest I’ve ever seen of any digital camera that I’ve owned dating back over 20 years. It is slow despite that fact that I’m using a SanDisk card that is rated for 170 MB/s. It takes about two or three seconds to write each image. This is simply not acceptable. The slowness made me lose some potentially great shots. will troubleshoot to see if the card is defective but for now, given the other troubles I’m having with the camera, I’m presuming it’s the camera.Auto setting is simply disappointing. I haven’t dug into the manual settings yet, but I am judging the camera based on auto function since the camera will be used by multiple members of my family, some of whom wouldn’t know how to use manual functions. On auto, the camera is not very smart. I was taking a pic of my daughter with a relative bright background. My iPhone did a wonderful job allowing the pic to display my daughter’s face clearly (although a bit dark) and the background clearly. With the Sony, my daughter’s face was seen as clearly as with the iPhone but the background was completely white so I could not make out any details in the background.Hope this review helps. I’m hoping that I just got a lemon and that a replacement would fix all of the above described problems.

Overall rating 1 stars
August 28, 2019

Comment:

If you are purchasing this version (V) and not the VA…latest version…you should know that you will either receive a used/refurbished product or a grey market version of the RX 100-V. Problem is with the grey market versions is that you cannot update the firmware as Sony does not recognize these as US Warranty products. A/K/A…You’re screwed. Stay away from any vendors selling cameras from NJersey. You’re much safer oderring from B&H Photo. Shame on Amazon for not identifying this problem. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.TY

Overall rating 5 stars
January 31, 2020

Comment:

This is a great camera, I’m surprised how well it handles even though it’s 2020, the 4k videos look amazing.

Description
Shoot up to 24 frames per second so you never miss the action with this Sony RX100 camera, featuring an automatic point-and-shoot setup for easy photography. The 20.1-inch megapixel camera takes professional images in high or low light. With 4K video capabilities, this Sony RX100 camera does dual duty for photography and videography.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Wi-Fi Enabled Yes
Effective Megapixels 20.1 megapixels
Video Resolution 3840 x 2160
Image Sensor Type BSI CMOS
General
Color Category Black
Product Name Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera
Model Number DSCRX100M5/B
Brand Sony
Dimension
Product Width 1.625 inches
Product Weight 0.6 pounds
Product Height 2.375 inches
Product Depth 4 inches
Compatibility
Remote Compatible Yes
Memory Card Compatibility Memory Stick Duo
Display
Screen Size 2.95 inches
Screen Resolution 1,228,800 dots
Display Form Factor Folding
Display Type TFT-LCD
Touch Screen No
Viewfinder Electronic
Varying Angle Screen Yes
Connectivity
Integrated GPS No
PictBridge Enabled No
Output(s) HDMI
NFC Enabled Yes
Included
Batteries Included Yes
AC Adapter Included Yes
Performance
Self-Timer Delay 10 seconds
Water Resistant No
Records Audio Yes
Camera Full Frame Sensor No
Shutter Speeds 24
Self Timer Yes
Power
Battery Model NP-BX1
Removable Battery Yes
AC Adapter Compatible Yes
Rechargeable Battery Yes
Feature
Integrated Flash Yes
HDR Mode Yes
Flash Modes Automatic
Digital Camera Type Point and Shoot Cameras
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts Not available
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor Not available
Imaging
Brightness Control Yes
Burst Mode Yes
Total Megapixels 21 megapixels
Image File Format(s) DCF 2.0
Imaging Sensor Vertical Size 8.89 millimeters
Imaging Sensor Horizontal Size 13.21 millimeters
Face Detection Yes
Digital Zoom 11x
Optical Zoom 2.9x
Image Resolution (Display) 3840 x 2160
AV
HD Movie Mode Focus Automatic
Exposure Control
Autofocus Yes
Shooting Modes AUTO(Intelligent Auto/Superior Auto); Program Auto; Aperture Priority; Shutter Speed Priority; Manual Exposure; MR(Memory Recall); 1,2,3,M1,M2,M3,M4; Movie Mode; HFR Mode; Panorama; Scene Selection
White Balance Modes Auto; Daylight; Shade; Cloudy; Incandescent; Fluor.: Warm White; Cool White; Day White; Daylight; Flash; C.Temp./Filter; Custom
Scene Modes Portrait; Sports; Action; Macro; Landscape; Sunset; Night Scene; Handheld; Twilight; Night Portrait; Anti Motion; Blur; Pet Mode; Gourmet; Fireworks; High Sensitivity
Smile Mode Yes
Panorama Mode Yes
Other
UPC 027242903371
The Sony company offers users to check out DSCRX100M5. The features of DSCRX100M5, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left DSCRX100M5 reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sony DSCRX100M5. Buy (Sony DSCRX100M5 or Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera) with benefits.
My review Sony Cyber-shot RX100 V 21.0-Megapixel Digital Camera DSCRX100M5

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới