Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

Sony E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras SEL1655G

Overall rating 3.3 stars
3.3 from 10 reviews
Sony
Specifications
Lens Type
Standard Zoom
Maximum Aperture
2.8 f/
Minimum Focal Length
16 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility
Sony E-Mount
Maximum Focal Length
55 millimeters
Model Number
SEL1655G
Additional Accessories Included
Lens hood (ALC-SH161), lens front cap (ALC-F67S), lens rear cap (ALC-R1EM), Soft case
Specifications
Lens Type:
Standard Zoom
Maximum Aperture:
2.8 f/
Minimum Focal Length:
16 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility:
Sony E-Mount
Maximum Focal Length:
55 millimeters
Model Number:
SEL1655G
Additional Accessories Included:
Lens hood (ALC-SH161), lens front cap (ALC-F67S), lens rear cap (ALC-R1EM), Soft case
The Sony company offers users to check out SEL1655G. The features of SEL1655G, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left SEL1655G reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sony SEL1655G. Buy (Sony SEL1655G or E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras) with benefits.

Sony E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras SEL1655G Overview

Sony E 16-55mm f/2.8 'G' lens review with samples

Sony E 16-55mm f/2.8 'G' lens review with samples

Sony 16-55 F2.8 G Lens: FINALLY.

Sony 16-55 F2.8 G Lens: FINALLY.

Sony E 16-55mm f2 8 review: BEST premium zoom for Sony APSC

Sony E 16-55mm f2 8 review: BEST premium zoom for Sony APSC

Sony 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 OSS PZ lens review with samples

Sony 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 OSS PZ lens review with samples

Sony 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 OSS E-Mount Lens Review

Sony 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 OSS E-Mount Lens Review

Reviews

3.3/5
Overall rating 3.3 stars
10 reviews
5
5
4
2
3
0
2
2
1
1
Overall rating 2 stars
October 19, 2019

Comment:

Crazy price.. And no OSS…??Tamron/Sigma/Samyung/ anybody… Fix this and take our money… And we are many.

Overall rating 5 stars
October 21, 2019

Comment:

I ended up buying this through a local retailer since they had a sooner ship time, but man have I been loving this lens. The fixed aperture is great with the standard zoom and haven’t noticed much distortion when moving these to post. The price is high, but compare it to similar zooms and you won’t find many with this focal length and aperature. Sure it doesn’t have OSS but I haven’t had an issue on my A6500, maybe it’s because I use IBIS or I have steady enough hands at a decent shutter speed.The price is high, especially since this is made for an APSC camera, but considering it has autofocus tech similar to G-Master lenses. I’m just happy there was a refresh to the lineup with semi-pro lenses.This isn’t supposed to be an in depth review, but more of a recommendation if this price point is okay with you.And by all means, show me a Sigma, Samyang or Tamron that has a standard zoom as well as a f2.8 aperture. Thanks.

Overall rating 4 stars
November 4, 2019

Comment:

I am doing many pictures of paintings and art objects in museums. For that you need to take pictures at rather wide angles, at low light (no flash allowed), get high resolution and no distortion of any kind. Up to now, I was using two prime lenses of good quality, one Sigma 16 mm and one Sony 1.8/35. The sigma lens shows quite large distortion, but it is well corrected by the camera.The problem is that I needed to change the lens from time to time, with the risk to drop them or damage the sensor of the camera. The use of a quality zoom lens 16-55 was very appealing. I got this new Sony lens and I have tested it in many different conditions. The quality of the image is fantastic even in poor lighting, you see it from the first shot with very crisp images. When you zoom the image on the computer monitor you could see all the details at high resolution. Even after cropping by a large factor, you could print quite nice pictures.At 16mm, there is some distortion. mainly volume distortion. A planar painting will appear partly folded. For a lens of this price, Sony should have issued an update of the camera firmware so the correction could be made directly by the camera. I could make the correction with a proper software, but …I hope Sony will release such an update ASAP.If the price had been significantly less and a firmware available, this lens will really deserve 5 *. Personally, I don’t regret this investment because of the quality of the product and the fact I need to take only one lens with me>

Overall rating 4 stars
November 18, 2019

Comment:

I’ve been using a Sony a6300 for several years with prime lenses (16mm and 30mm) from Sigma as well as the Sony SELP16-50 kit lens. From the beginning, I’ve been on the lookout for a quality zoom that’s sharper and brighter and more durable than the kit lens. In the meantime, I’ve been relying on the primes for both street and portrait photography. The new Sony 16-55G with its constant f/2.8 is on paper exactly what I needed, although it comes at a stomach churning price. I’ve been using it daily now for about three weeks and am overall quite satisfied. The Sony 16-55G is really solid and easy to use. The focusing is so fast you don’t notice it. The images are sharp even at f/2.8, although it’s not quite as sharp as my Sigma prime lenses, nor is the bokeh at f/2.8 as nice as what the Sigmas can do at f/1.4. The Sony 16-55G lens is relatively light given all the glass, but it still makes my a6300 camera front heavy. It feels really rugged compared to the little kit lens, which is easily damaged. (I’ve broken the zoom mechanism on two kit lenses in the past couple years from banging them against something.) Of course, you can buy almost 10 kit lenses for the price of this new Sony 16-55G. And the steep price of the Sony 16-55G might leave you second guessing. Do you really want to invest well over $1,000 in a lens for an APSC camera? I feel like I had no choice but to bite the bullet, but I’m still grappling with that question.

Overall rating 5 stars
November 24, 2019

Comment:

This lens is gold, expensive, but well worth it!

Overall rating 2 stars
December 10, 2019

Comment:

Great Lens, price dropped $100, only way to get current price is to send it back and reorder.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 21, 2019

Comment:

Sure it’s missing image stabilization, so the price tag will make you skeptical, It did to me too. It’s f2.8 across the full length of the zoom. The lens produces incredibly clear and sharp images. I use a A6300 (no IBIS). I have shot from both hand held and mounted on tripod, same wonderful clear, crisp sharp results with excellent color, both indoor and out.

Overall rating 5 stars
December 31, 2019

Comment:

I picked up this lens because I wanted a fast, general purpose zoom that was sharp for my APS-C Sony camera. I had owned the 16-50 3.5-5.6 kit lens since purchasing the a6300 2 years ago and wasn’t happy with its performance in photography. This lens performs far greater than the kit lens that I replaced it with. I have even tested this G lens at 30mm vs the Sigma 30mm 1.4 prime lens, and I have come to the conclusion that they are similar enough in sharpness that I cannot really tell the difference. I have used the lens for recording basketball and wrestling at my local high school as well as taking pictures of the players in action (see attached photos). The autofocus performed amazingly. It is way faster than any of the lenses that I own. The lens performs amazingly in every scenario I put it in. It has made the experience with my camera leaps and bounds better. It has a high price tag, but that is simply what you have to dish out to get the experience it gives. If one can budget for this lens, and is happy with what an APS-C sensor gives them, I say with great confidence, get it!

Overall rating 5 stars
February 15, 2020

Comment:

I bought this lens in order to have a true pro level normal zoom for my a6000, hoping for the equivalent of my 24-70mm 2.8 on my A7II. I use my a600 for general purposes and save the A7II for more “serious” work due to the larger size and weight.

OVERALL
Overall this lens is quite good- It’s very sharp, it focuses fast, and the size and weight are quite manageable on the a6000 body; however, the lack of image stabilization makes it challenging to use in some situations, although one could argue both that it’s intended for use on the newer a6500 & a6600 bodies (both have in-body stabilization) and that the lack of image stabilization forces you to adopt good habits, such as practicing steady camera holding and proper breathing techniques. The 2.8 maximum aperture allows for good bokeh as well as enhanced low-light functionality, although you do need to increase ISO in order to minimize image blur in many situations.

THE GOOD
Pro-level standard midrange zoom for the Sony a6xxx/a5xxx bodies. Excellent sharpness and bright colors across all focal lengths. Manageable size and weight compared to the 24-70mm F2.8 G Master for the Sony full-frame lines. Lens feels well-built and is marketed as being weather sealed.

THE BAD
Very pricey! For the same amount of money (or less) you can buy primes, such as the excellent Sigma 16 and 30mm 1.4 lenses which are just as sharp and much faster, with money left over for a basic zoom lens. You could even buy a full-frame A7II with a 28-70mm zoom lens for the same price. It’s a great lens if you are invested in the Sony APS-C line, but if you are just starting out you might be better off going in a different direction.
No G Master designation. It’s a G designation, but this lens would have been perfect as the first G Master for the Sony APS-C line. The specifications seem to indicate that this lens could be a G Master but Sony chose to go with the G designation instead.

THE UGLY
The lack of image stabilization makes this lens difficult to use in many situations if you have an older a6xxx body. It seems to be aimed at the newer a6500/a6600 bodies, which makes sense as those cameras are aimed at the more experienced photographer than the other Sony APS-C bodies. If you don’t have one of those stabilized bodies you may find that this lens is not as useful as expected, although one can argue that that it forces you to adopt some better habits, such as proper holding techniques. Stabilization would have made the lens heavier and possibly more expensive, although several lower quality zoom lenses have this feature at much lower price points (such as the 18-105 F4 and the kit 16-50mm lenses). The lack of stabilization makes this lens even more difficult to use on the a5xxx bodies since they have no EVF and so you have to hold the camera at arm’s length, which makes it even harder to hold the camera steady.

Overall rating 1 stars
February 18, 2020

Comment:

I opened this lens and it would not go onto the mount. I tried 3 times using the pressure I normally use with my other lens. I then tried my old lens, no problem. Tried again with a little more pressure thinking it was just tight since new. Would only turn 1/2 the normal distance and not lock in. I took it off and looking more closely noted the black part inside the metal mount ring was elevated where my other lenses are not. This was not allowing it to turn in and lock. I called Sony and they told my to send it in for repair and then I would have to wait for it to be returned. I do not want a repaired lens at this price right out of the box. They were totally unhelpful. I also have concern if this could have caused damage to my camera body trying to get it turned on. Luckily I bought it at best buy and they are great! I returned it and they are sending me another by tomorrow. They also discussed how to check the camera body for damage and were very helpful. Love my A6500 but after this poor customer service by them and terrible quality control on an expensive lens bad feeling about sony and future purchases of their products. They don’t care. Best Buy on the other hand was great, helpful, and understood my concerns of possible damage to my camera.

Description
Sony E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens Capture a wide range of subjects for stunning portraits and everyday shots with this Sony E 16-55mm f/2.8 G lens. The Nano AR coating is flare and ghost-resistant for high-resolution crisp contrast, while the nine-blade circular aperture adds a more natural bokeh effect to your photos. This Sony E 16-55mm f/2.8 G lens features a compact and lightweight design for easy carrying.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Lens Type Standard Zoom
Maximum Aperture 2.8 f/
Minimum Focal Length 16 millimeters
Lens Mount Compatibility Sony E-Mount
Maximum Focal Length 55 millimeters
General
Model Number SEL1655G
Additional Accessories Included Lens hood (ALC-SH161), lens front cap (ALC-F67S), lens rear cap (ALC-R1EM), Soft case
Product Name E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras
Brand Sony
Color Category Black
Dimension
Product Weight 1.09 pounds
Additional Dimension
Product Diameter 2.88 inches
Product Length with Lens Closed 4 inches
Compatibility
Lens Series Sony G
Camera Model Family Sony NEX-7, Sony NEX-3N, Sony NEX-6, Sony NEX-5T/5R/5N, Sony a5000, Sony NEX-F3, Sony a5100, Sony a6000, Sony a3000, Sony a6100, Sony a6400, Sony a6600
Brand Compatibility Sony
Performance
Filter Diameter 67 millimeters
Feature
Special Features XD Linear motor, Sony Nano AR coating, dust and moisture-resistant
Minimum Focus Distance 33.2 inches
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 1 Year
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 1 Year
Imaging
Auto/Manual Focus Automatic/manual
Zoom Type Manual
Exposure Control
Constant Aperture Yes
Focal Length 35mm Film Equivalent 24-82.5mm
Minimum Aperture 22 f/
Other
UPC 027242916081
The Sony company offers users to check out SEL1655G. The features of SEL1655G, in addition to their interesting design solution, make us pleased with their performance and functionality. Best solution for both house and office. Many customers already appreciated and left SEL1655G reviews available on our service. Price comparison, that is also offered by our service, helps profitably purchase Sony SEL1655G. Buy (Sony SEL1655G or E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras) with benefits.
My review Sony E 16-55mm F2.8 G Standard Zoom Lens for Sony E-mount Cameras SEL1655G

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới