Brand
Brand
Brand
Brand

WD My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN

Overall rating 4.7 stars
4.7 from 30 reviews
WD
Specifications
Hard Drive Capacity
4000 gigabytes
Storage Drive Type
HDD
Color Category
Blue
Color
Blue
Brand
WD
Model Number
WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN
Product Name
My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption
Specifications
Hard Drive Capacity:
4000 gigabytes
Storage Drive Type:
HDD
Color Category:
Blue
Color:
Blue
Brand:
WD
Model Number:
WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN
Product Name:
My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption

WD My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN Overview

WD My Passport Ultra USB-C External Drive - Tested & Reviewed

WD My Passport Ultra USB-C External Drive - Tested & Reviewed

Western Digital's Latest My Passport Drives @Pepcom 2019 Sept

Western Digital's Latest My Passport Drives @Pepcom 2019 Sept

REVIEW WD 1TB Black My Passport  Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0

REVIEW WD 1TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0

WD My Passport 4 TB Portable Hard Drive [Hands on Review and Test]

WD My Passport 4 TB Portable Hard Drive [Hands on Review and Test]

Unboxing and Review of WD My Passport 2TB USB 3.0 New Version External Hard Disk

Unboxing and Review of WD My Passport 2TB USB 3.0 New Version External Hard Disk

Reviews

4.7/5
Overall rating 4.7 stars
30 reviews
5
15
4
3
3
3
2
1
1
8
Overall rating 5 stars
January 31, 2020

Comment:

Brought for myself to store large excess files. It is actually made for Windows but after installing mac compatible software, it is working like champ. I am loving it so far.

Overall rating 5 stars
February 1, 2020

Comment:

Full discloser, it’s been several years since I researched external hard drives. When I found this product I had to ask an employee if it truly is this much storage in such a small transportable case. Once at home I was able to easily set it up with a couple partitions with time machine also set up so our MacBook Air. We now had 16x more storage space (4T) for photos, videos, backups, etc.

Overall rating 3 stars
February 20, 2020

Comment:

I recently purchased three of these drives. The first two were manufactured in Malaysia, and have been trouble-free. The third was manufactured in Thailand, and was very slow compared to the first two and also had a common problem which is that it doesn’t respond to the normal “safely eject” procedures. It insists that it is “in use” and can only be safely removed by fully shutting down the computer it’s being used on, which is not what would be hoped for from a portable HDD. In addition, it was MUCH slower than the drives made in Malaysia, writing at speeds less than half the rate of the drives I received that were produced in Malaysia. So, I returned the drive from Thailand and it was replaced, unfortunately, with another drive also produced in Thailand and also VERY SLOW and impossible to safely eject without shutting down the computer or “uninstalling” the drive. Technical support has not been very helpful. When simple questions are asked via e-mail, in response to their messages to follow up on my “case,” they just keep telling me to call rather than answering the questions. Again, very simple, very direct questions that should not require a phone call and all the bureaucratic waste of time that goes with that. When I DID speak with technical support, they sent me a bunch of tests to run and refused to stay on the line while I ran them. They were impatient and did not seem concerned to actually resolve my issue. I was initially pleased with the fact that they followed up by e-mail, but now that I realize they refuse to answer any tech questions via e-mail, even though technically they reached out to me to see if my issue was resolved, I am definitely not impressed with their “technical support.” I have always purchased WD hdds for my portable storage needs, with one exception that I regretted. I have now purchased 7 WD hdds. I’m a loyal customer. But I am finding that they clearly have some q/a issues, and they do not seem eager to address them, which is discouraging as I feel I have given them every opportunity to do so. I am now uncertain as to whether to try yet another exchange or just to hang onto this substandard third drive or return it for a refund. So frustrating. So much wasted time. I do like the look of the drives and the fact that they’re so small as compared to the last generation that I purchased. I’m very happy with the two that were manufactured in Malaysia. But WD should not be selling defective drives, and they should do more to take responsibility when they do. For the drive I returned for replacement, had I gone through WD warranty service, I would have had to pay to mail it to them, even though it was defective straight out of the box, and I would have had to wait possibly weeks for a replacement. That is definitely not what I’d hope for from customer service from such a well-respected brand. I’d like to add that I’m using the drive in Win7, so it is not a problem specific to Win10, as another user surmised. It’s a problem with the drives themselves. How do I know? Because I’m using three identical drives on the same laptop and the two made in Malaysia eject just fine, but the two made in Thailand do not eject at all. I’ve also tried both of the problematic drives on a different laptop, and the problems persist, so my laptop is not the problem.Update: With 150 gigabytes of data already on the drive, I started transferring another file onto the new HDD, and it is transferring at a rate below 8 mbps. Unbelievably slow. Something is definitely wrong with these drives.

Overall rating 4 stars
March 8, 2020

Comment:

I have owned multiple Western Digital storage devices in the past. In fact, they’re still working, but they’re getting older, so I bought two new Western Digital storage devices because I need a reliable back-up. I have no problem with the hardware. The hardware is excellent. I have had no problems with my back-ups and I have not lost data. However, the software that comes with the new Western Digital storage devices simply would not work for me. I’m running some older computers with Windows 8 and Windows 10, but I don’t think the operating system is the problem. The first problem I had was that the new WD software tried to update the old WD software that was already installed on my computer, but the update was a fail, so I had to completely uninstall all of the WD software and start from scratch. However, the new WD software still didn’t work. For one thing, apparently you have to be online to use the software at all, even just to set your password. I went online and tried again, and it still didn’t work. Reasons unknown. I ended up just reformatting both of the new drives and installing a third-party encryption software, and I am making my back-ups manually. Which is fine, because my backups are fairly small. But I am irked because I bought the WD drives because they are supposed to have built-in password protection, and I am irritated that I had to do an additional step. However, if the new ones are as reliable as the old ones, then I will still be happy. I have been using them several months with zero problems, so I think they are reliable.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 18, 2020

Comment:

Fast reliable quit, going to purchase another one. Use this drive for music

Overall rating 5 stars
March 18, 2020

Comment:

I Love this Hard Drive! It has fast transfer rates and it’s so easy to use, Just plug it into your 3.0 USB slot and you’re ready to go to make backups.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 19, 2020

Comment:

Works great USB C is very fast when transferring files buy it buy it buy it

Overall rating 5 stars
March 20, 2020

Comment:

I bought the USB C external drive so it is fast.

Fantastic storage capability for the price.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 20, 2020

Comment:

Out of the box, this item was properly formatted and offered with a suite of applications to enhance and maintain its reliability.

Overall rating 5 stars
March 21, 2020

Comment:

Got this product for my children. And they love it. Easy to install. Took me less than four minutes

Description
Move essential data across devices efficiently with this Western Digital My Passport Ultra drive. It uses USB 3.0 technology for quick read and write speeds, and the USB-C connector offers effortless plug-in options while boosting transfer rates. The 4TB capacity of this Western Digital My Passport Ultra drive is suitable for massive media storage.
Details
Details
Key Specs
Hard Drive Capacity 4000 gigabytes
Storage Drive Type HDD
General
Color Category Blue
Color Blue
Brand WD
Model Number WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN
Product Name My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption
Capacity
Hard Drive Capacity 4000 gigabytes
Performance
Storage Drive Type HDD
Compatibility
Interface(s) USB 3.0
Minimum System Requirements Microsoft Windows 7 / 8.1 / 10
External Hard Drive Type Portable
Internal Or External External
Feature
Usage Everyday computing
Security Features Password Protection
Data Encryption Yes
Encryption Algorithm 256-bit AES
Memory
Memory Card Type None
Power
Power Source USB port
Dimension
Product Weight 8.1 ounces
Product Height 0.8 inches
Product Width 3.2 inches
Included
Included Software WD Security, WD Drive Utilities, WD Backup, WD Discovery
Number Of Drives Included 1
Warranty
Manufacturer's Warranty - Labor 3 years
Manufacturer's Warranty - Parts 3 years
Other
UPC 718037864051
My review WD My Passport Ultra 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive with Hardware Encryption WDBFTM0040BBL-WESN

Overall rating
Click to rate Terribly Passable Normally Good Excellent

By submitting a review,I accept ScanReview's' Terms of Use Policy.

Recent Reviews

Simular products
Other Categories on Scanreview
Nền tảng binomo mới